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	Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

SCHOOL BUS ACCIDENT REPORT

s. 121.53(6) 

PI-3110 (Rev.12-11)
	INSTRUCTIONS: Complete both sides and return to appropriate school board.

	Section 121.53(6) of the Wisconsin Statutes reads as follows: “Within 10 days after its occurrence, every accident involving a motor vehicle providing transportation under this subchapter shall be reported to the appropriate school board. 

	
	GENERAL INFORMATION
	

	School
	School District
	School Code

	Bus Owner
	Address of Owner, Street, City, State, Zip

	Chassis Make
	Model Year
	Body Make
	Student Capacity

	
	DRIVER INFORMATION
	

	Name of Driver
	Sex

( Male
( Female
	Age
	Years of Experience as Bus Driver

	Has your driver had the recommended training in first aid?

( Yes
( No
	When did driver last attend a state-sponsored bus driver training session?

	
	ACCIDENT DESCRIPTION
	

	Date of Accident
	Time
( AM


( PM
	Location of Accident

	Weather Conditions
	Type of Road and General Conditions

	Speed of Bus


MPH
	Speed of Other Vehicle(s)
	Was a Citation Issued?

( No
( Yes   If yes, to whom?

	If no citation was issued, who, in your opinion was responsible for the accident and why?

	If driver was not legally responsible, could she/he have prevented the accident by driving defensively? Explain.

	Describe the cause and results of the accident in detail. Itemize injuries and property damage on reverse. 

	Were there students in the bus at the time of the accident?

( No—If no, skip next two questions

( Yes—If yes, complete all questions
	How did students exit? Check all that apply. 

( Front Door
( Rear Door
( Windows
( Didn’t Exit
( Other __________________________________________________

	Had the riders been instructed and drilled in bus evacuation/emergency exits?

( Yes
( No
	Was a fire extinguisher used?

( Yes
( No
	Was a first aid kit used?

( Yes
( No

	
	INJURIES/FATALITIES
	

	Names of Students Injured
	Nature of Injuries

	
	

	
	

	
	

	
	

	
	

	
	

	
	

	Names of Other People Injured
	Nature of Injuries

	
	

	
	

	
	

	
	PROPERTY DAMAGE
	

	Describe Damage to School Bus
	Estimated Repair Cost

$

	Describe Damage to Property of Others
	Estimated Repair Cost

$

	
	RECOMMENDATIONS
	


As a result of this accident, what suggestions do you have to offer for the improvement of the following:

Bus Safety Regulations or Laws

School Bus Standards

Bus Driver Training

	
	CERTIFICATION
	


If an accident results in injury to or death of any person or total property damage to an apparent extent of $200 or more, a report must also be filed with the local or state enforcement officer [Wisconsin Statute 346.70(1)] and the Department of Transportation [Wisconsin Statute 346.70(2)].

I CERTIFY that this accident has been reported to the local or state enforcement officer and to the Department of Transportation, if required by law.

	Name of Persons Completing Form
	Position

	Signature 

(
	Date Signed Mo./Day/Yr.


