You are here

LEA Plan Draft

Wednesday, November 15, 2017

Dear District Administrators,

I am writing to let you know we now have a draft document available for you to use as you begin thinking about the LEA plan as required under the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA). This draft contains the questions you will be required to answer, along with a list of assurances and a checklist for you to use for the required consultations under the law. As you review this draft, you will see that some of the information is already collected in other sources, primarily WISEgrants. For these items, no additional narrative will be required. Even though this is a draft, we are not anticipating the questions to change as we have taken them directly from the law. This plan is required to be submitted one time under the law in order to receive federal funds under ESSA. It is distinct from the annual application for funds.

Your plan will be due to the Department of Public Instruction (DPI) sometime in late spring, but we wanted to provide you this information as early as possible. The formatting and submission of the plan will occur in WISEgrants, so it will not be laid out in the same fashion as presented to you in this draft document. We will do our best to make the plan as dynamic as possible to allow for information to be taken from the plan and applied to other information required to be submitted to us in WISEgrants, such as the annual application for funds under ESSA and school improvement planning under IDEA, so you do not have to rewrite information previously submitted to the DPI.

We will be providing additional guidance to you in the coming weeks and months and will finalize the LEA plan after Wisconsin’s state plan has been approved by the U.S. Department of Education.

In the interim, if you have any questions, please contact Jennifer Kammerud, Policy Initiatives Advisor, at jennifer.kammerud@dpi.wi.gov or, for more specific questions, one of the following ESSA leads:

Title I, Part A Jonas Zuckerman jonas.zuckerman@dpi.wi.gov

Title I, Part C Shelly Babler shelly.babler@dpi.wi.gov

Title I, Part D Rachel Bergstrom rachel.bergstrom@dpi.wi.gov

Title II Katie Rainey katharine.rainey@dpi.wi.gov

Title III Audrey Lesondak audrey.lesondak@dpi.wi.gov

Title IV, Part A Rebecca Collins rebecca.collins@dpi.wi.gov

McKinney Vento Susan Piazza susan.piazza@dpi.wi.gov