You are here

Work Group History

Role of the Innovation Work Group

The department partnered with educational leaders from across Wisconsin to develop the Innovation District application and process. In March 2017, State Superintendent Tony Evers convened the group and charged them with defining a clear, streamlined process to create Innovation Districts. Through an Innovation District application, districts could request exemptions from state law or administrative rules needed to implement innovative practices or reduce barriers to student learning, with the goal of improving outcomes for all kids.

Members of this group included a cross-section of leaders from districts of varying size around the state, including:

● Jon Bales, Executive Director, WASDA
● Kevin Bruggink, District Superintendent, Oostburg School District
● Jim Erickson, District Administrator, Webster School District
● Mark Hansen, District Superintendent, Elmbrook School District
● Nancy Hendrickson, District Administrator, Highland School District
● Gregg Goers, Teacher, Neenah High School, Neenah School District
● Michelle Langenfeld, District Superintendent, Green Bay Area Public School District
● Ted Neitzke, Agency Administrator, CESA 6
● Randy Nelson, District Superintendent, LaCrosse School District
● Sue Savaglio-Jarvis, District Superintendent, Kenosha Unified School District