You are here

2022 Herb Kohl Educational Foundation Award Recipients Announced

Tuesday, April 12, 2022

Last week, the Herb Kohl Educational Foundation’s selection committee announced the recipients of the organization’s annual awards. The awards recognize Wisconsin students, teachers, and principals for their academic excellence and leadership.

Awards of $6,000 are being made to 100 teachers and 17 principals, and 174 graduating high school students will receive a $10,000 scholarship through the organization. Lists of award recipients are available by category here on the Herb Kohl Educational Foundation’s website.

The award program was established by Herb Kohl, philanthropist, and businessman. Since 1990, the foundation has awarded more than $28.3 million to Wisconsin educators, principals, students, and schools.

“Education is the key to the future of Wisconsin and our nation,” Kohl said in a news release. “I am very proud of the accomplishments of these students, teachers, and principals and look forward to the great contributions they will make in the future.”

  • Student Excellence Scholarship recipients have demonstrated excellence in the academic arena and high motivation to achieve, have displayed a broad range of activity and leadership outside the academic setting, and have shown strong promise for succeeding in college and beyond.
  • Teacher Fellowship recipients are educators who have been chosen for their superior ability to inspire a love of learning in their students, their ability to motivate others, and their leadership and service within and outside the classroom.
  • Principal Leadership Award recipients are school principals who are being recognized for setting high standards for instruction, achievement and character, and creating a climate to best serve students, families, staff and community.

Excellence Scholarship, Fellowship and Leadership Award recipients are selected by a statewide committee composed of civic leaders, and representatives of education-related associations and the program’s co-sponsors: The Wisconsin Newspaper Association Foundation, the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction, regional Cooperative Educational Service Agencies (CESA), the Association of Wisconsin School Administrators, and the Wisconsin Homeschooling Parents Association. Initiative Scholarship recipients, chosen by their schools, have overcome significant obstacles or adversity, have demonstrated exceptional initiative in the classroom, and have shown strong promise for succeeding in college and beyond, but have not yet received other academic-based scholarships.

For more information on the program, visit the DPI’s website here.