You are here

Children's Literature Conference at UW-Oshkosh

Monday, October 8, 2018

The University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh Department of Literacy and Language will host a Children’s Literature Conference on Nov. 3. The conference is designed for K-12 educators and librarians to learn from four acclaimed authors of children’s and young adult books.

Barbara Joosse, Eric Litwin, Matt de la Peña, and Sharon Draper will provide keynotes throughout the day, providing each author more than an hour to share their expertise. Several opportunities for the authors to sign books are also built into the day.

Joosse is a Wisconsin author who has written almost 50 children’s books. Her book, Lovabye Dragon, was recently adapted for musical theater and performed at the First Stage Children’s Theater in Milwaukee.

Litwin is known for his dynamic musical performances and the children’s book character, Pete the Cat. He has earned several awards for his books, including a Theodor Seuss Geisel Honor Award. He weaves musical experiences into early literacy learning with dances and songs that accompany his books.

De la Peña is a New York Times best-selling author of several young adult and children’s books. One of his children’s books, Last Stop on Market Street, won the 2016 Newbery Medal and several other honors.

Draper, a lifelong teacher, has written more than thirty young adult and children’s books and won myriad awards and accolades, including five Coretta Scott King literary awards. She has traveled the world sharing her expertise in teaching and educational issues.

For more information about the conference, including how to register, visit the UW-Oshkosh Children’s Literature Conference page.