You are here

Two Wisconsin Students Selected to Participate in the United States Senate Youth Program

Tuesday, January 21, 2020

Emily Flood and Isabel Klemmer will travel to Washinton, D.C. to represent Wisconsin for the 58th annual United States Senate Youth Program (USSYP) Washington Week in March, alongside Sen. Ron Johnson and Sen. Tammy Baldwin.

According to the USSYP press release, Flood and Klemmer were selected from among the state’s top student leaders to be part of the 104 national student delegation who will also each receive a $10,000 college scholarship for undergraduate study.

Emily Flood, a senior at Sun Prairie High School in Sun Prairie, serves as the president of the senior class and vice president of the student council. She has worked on voter registration drives and is a student representative on her local board of education, where she serves on several school board committees. She is an Advanced Placement Scholar with Distinction, involved in Girl Scouts, and is part of her high school’s forensics team. Emily has long held a dream to be president of the United States and plans to attend college and major in political science.

Isabel Klemmer, a senior at Homestead High School, in Mequon, serves as the vice president of her school's National Honor Society. She is captain of the policy debate team, placed third at the National Catholic Forensic League Grand Nationals, third at the Wisconsin State Debate Tournament, and received the Academic All American Award from the National Speech and Debate Association. This fall, she was the only high school student accepted to an internship at Ballotpedia. She is an organizing fellow with the Democratic Party of Wisconsin and holds a management position on a state assembly campaign. Isabel plans to major in international relations.

Alternates for the program Henning Hanson, who attends Onalaska High School and Megan Jacobs, who attends Greendale High School.

Delegates and alternates are selected by the state departments of education nationwide and the District of Columbia and Department of Defense Education Activity, after nomination by teachers and principals. This year’s Wisconsin delegates and alternates were designated by State Superintendent of Public Instruction Carolyn Stanford Taylor.