You are here

Capitol ceremony to celebrate Wisconsin Schools of Recognition

Thursday, March 10, 2016


Tom McCarthy, DPI Communications Director, (608) 266-3559

MADISON — Teams of educators from 169 schools throughout the state will gather in Madison on Monday for the Wisconsin Title I Schools of Recognition program and awards ceremony.

The day will include informational sessions in the morning on: Transitioning to the Every Student Succeeds Act, the Promoting Excellence for All eCourse, and Promoting Excellence for All: Family and Community Engagement. The morning activities also will include presentation of the Wisconsin Distinguished Public School Graduate Award to Mark Samels, executive producer of the Public Television history series, American Experience.

During the noon awards ceremony in the State Capitol Rotunda, the Easterners Honors Choir from Appleton East High School, under the direction of Dan Van Sickle, will perform. Jeanan Yasiri Moe, director of strategic communications at the Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation, will direct the presentation of awards. Each school will receive a plaque and 12 schools that have earned School of Recognition awards for five consecutive years will receive a special flag to mark their achievement.

All award-winning schools receive federal Title I funding to provide services to large numbers or high percentages of economically disadvantaged children. A list of all schools receiving the 2015‑16 awards is in the official news release.

WHAT:     2015-16 Wisconsin School of Recognition Ceremony

WHEN:     Noon to 1 p.m., Monday, March 14, 2016

WHERE:  State Capitol Rotunda

Official Release