You are here

Evers nominates eight public elementary schools for Blue Ribbon award

Thursday, January 14, 2016


Tom McCarthy, DPI Communications Director, (608) 266-3559

MADISON — State Superintendent Tony Evers nominated eight public elementary schools for the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program, which recognizes overall academic excellence or progress in improving student achievement.

The nominees are:

  • Addison Elementary School in Hartford, Slinger School District;
  • Halmstad Elementary School, Chippewa Falls Area Unified School District;
  • Marengo Valley Elementary School, Ashland School District;
  • Muskego Elementary School, Muskego-Norway School District;
  • Oconto Falls Elementary School, Oconto Falls Public School District;
  • Swallow Elementary School in Hartland, Swallow School District;
  • Wilson Elementary School, Beaver Dam Unified School District; and
  • Woodland Elementary School, Barron Area School District.

“These elementary schools are working every day to provide their students with a safe learning environment where young people can build a foundation for future academic and life success,” Evers said. “I wish these nominees well in the next phase of the Blue Ribbon School process.”

Schools nominated to the program must complete the Blue Ribbon Schools application and undergo the national review process. Awards, presented to “Exemplary High Performing” and “Exemplary Achievement Gap Closing” schools, are typically announced in early September.

The Blue Ribbon Schools Program has recognized more than 8,000 of America’s schools since it began in 1982. To be considered for the program, schools must be among the top schools in the state for overall achievement on statewide assessments or closing achievement gaps between student groups.

Official Release