You are here

Wisconsin among 13 states participating in #GoOpen initiative

Kettle Moraine and Sun Prairie Area are #GoOpen Launch Districts
Friday, February 26, 2016


Tom McCarthy, DPI Communications Director, (608) 266-3559

MADISON — Wisconsin joined 12 other states today in launching a statewide #GoOpen initiative. The inaugural cohort of #GoOpen states have all committed to supporting educators, schools, and districts’ transition to the use of high-quality, openly licensed educational resources.

States like Wisconsin are being recognized by the U.S. Department of Education at the #GoOpen Exchange. There, state and local leaders will meet with education technology providers and nonprofit organizations to collaborate on ways to share knowledge and experiences that may be beneficial to others.

Since the announcement of #GoOpen in October of 2015, school districts from more than 16 states have worked with #GoOpen Ambassador Districts to create new tools and provide professional learning opportunities. Two Wisconsin school districts, Kettle Moraine and Sun Prairie Area, worked with Ambassador Districts to become #GoOpen Launch Districts. Aside from working to develop resources, those districts agreed to convene a team to develop a strategy for the implementation of open educational resources, replace at least one textbook with openly licensed educational materials in the next year, and document their implementation process.

Openly licensed educational resources, like those used and developed through #GoOpen work, allow educators to utilize relevant, high-quality content in their classrooms. Those resources can then be shared, free of cost, across schools, districts, and states and selected by classroom teachers based on the needs of their students.

To be recognized by the #GoOpen initiative, states must make a commitment to a statewide technology strategy that includes the use of openly licensed resources, develop and maintain a statewide repository for openly licensed resources, and participate in a community of practice with other #GoOpen states and districts to share learning and professional development resources. More information on Wisconsin’s #GoOpen commitment can be found at

In addition to Wisconsin, participating #GoOpen Launch States are Arizona, Indiana, Georgia, Maryland, Michigan, North Carolina, Oregon, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, Utah, Vermont, and Virginia. For more details on #GoOpen commitments made by states, school districts, and technology partners, visit

Official Release