You are here

Annual State of Education Address Thursday

Evers to recognize Friends of Education and Teachers of the Year at Capitol event
Tuesday, September 18, 2018


Tom McCarthy, DPI Communications Director, (608) 266-3559

MADISON — State Superintendent Tony Evers will present his annual State of Education Address at noon Thursday, Sept. 20, in the State Capitol in Madison.

""Cindy Zahrte, district administrator for the Tomah Area School District, will give the welcome for the State of Education program and serve as master of ceremonies. The Wisconsin Hills Middle School Orchestra from the Elmbrook School District will play “Appalachian Celebration” to open the event. The orchestra is under the direction of Shelly M. Weber. John Kain, a senior at St. Mary’s Springs High School in Fond du Lac and Wisconsin’s 2018 Badger Boys State Superintendent of Schools, will lead the Pledge of Allegiance. Reegan Olson, a senior at Madison’s East High School, will sing the national anthem. Meghan Savaglia, 2018 Badger Girls State Superintendent of Schools and a senior at Burlington High School, will introduce Evers.

The Wisconsin National Guard will provide a color guard for the program, with cadence provided by Mason Bohn, a student at Deerfield High School.

Following the State of Education Address, Evers will present five Friend of Education awards. Recipients are: Boys & Girls Club of the Wausau Area; Metropolitan Milwaukee Alliance of Black School Educators Inc. (MMABSE); Rhinelander Partners in Education; Service League of Green Bay; and Wisconsin Public Education Network (WPEN).

The state superintendent and a representative from the Herb Kohl Educational Foundation will recognize Wisconsin’s 2018-19 Teachers of the Year. The five educators to be recognized are: Michael Wilson, a school counselor at St. Croix Falls High School; Elizabeth Gulden, a kindergarten teacher at Willson Elementary School in Baraboo; Maggie McHugh of Sparta, a sixth-grade teacher and adviser at the La Crosse Design Institute; Benjamin Grignon, teacher of traditional Menominee crafts at Menominee Indian High School in Keshena; and Sarahí Monterrey, an English Learner teacher at Waukesha North High School and Wisconsin’s representative to the National Teacher of the Year program.

The postlude, “Beethoven, Inc.” performed by the Wisconsin Hills Middle School Orchestra, will conclude the program.

WHO: State Superintendent Tony Evers

WHAT: State of Education Address
Friend of Education Awards — Teacher of the Year Recognition

WHEN: Noon to 1 p.m., Thursday, September 20, 2018

WHERE: State Capitol Rotunda

Official Release