You are here

10 Wisconsin students recognized with high national academic honor

Thursday, April 23, 2020


DPI Media Line, (608) 266-3559
MADISON — Ten Wisconsin students have been named semifinalists in the 2020 U.S. Presidential Scholars Program, a national honor recognizing the country’s most distinguished graduating high school seniors.
“Each of these students has worked incredibly hard inside and outside of the classroom,” State Superintendent Carolyn Stanford Taylor said. “This prestigious honor is a tribute to the many accomplishments of these students, and like their families, teachers, and educators, I am proud of our semifinalists and look forward to hearing about their future successes.”
The Wisconsin students are among 621 national semifinalists selected by a review committee based on their achievements in various academic areas. Earlier this year, more than 5,600 students were recommended for the program out of the nation’s 3.6 million graduating seniors.
The state’s 10 semifinalists are:
  • Amogh Bhatnagar, Mequon - University School of Milwaukee
  • Dayi Ethan Dong, Madison - Madison West High School
  • Liam Flatley, Brookfield - Brookfield Central High School
  • Emily Liu, Brookfield - Brookfield Central High School
  • Rahul Mullick, Mequon - University School of Milwaukee
  • Sharifah Bibi Nur Muhamad, Milwaukee - Lynde and Harry Bradley Technology & Trade High School
  • Sanjana Reddy Peddagorla, Brookfield - Brookfield East High School
  • Lucia Rondini, Milwaukee - University School of Milwaukee
  • William Russell Volmar III, Walworth - Big Foot High School
  • Julia Zhou, Madison - James Madison Memorial High School

The names of the 2020 U.S. Presidential Scholars will be announced by the U.S. Department of Education in May. For more information, visit

Official Release