You are here

Three Wisconsin high school seniors receive national honor

Students named 2021 U.S. Presidential Scholars
Thursday, May 13, 2021


DPI Media Line, (608) 266-3559
MADISON — The U.S. Department of Education today announced three high school seniors from Wisconsin were named 2021 U.S. Presidential Scholars for accomplishments in academics, the arts, and career and technical education.
Neil Sai Dogra (University School of Milwaukee), Phoebe J. Jeske (Oregon High School), and Amara Lynn Livingston (Cochrane-Fountain City High School) are among a group of 161 students from around the nation to receive the honor.
“Congratulations to our Wisconsin students receiving this honor,” State Superintendent Carolyn Stanford Taylor said. “This group of students are leaders in their respective communities who have excelled in their academics and have demonstrated a special commitment to excellence. I am honored to call them Presidential Scholars.”
Each year, the White House Commission on Presidential Scholars selects student scholars based on their academic success, artistic and technical excellence, essays, school evaluations and transcripts, as well as evidence of community service, leadership, and demonstrated commitment to high ideals. This year, more than 6,000 candidates qualified for the awards through strong performance on exams or through nominations.
The Presidential Scholars Class of 2021 will be recognized for their achievement this summer. For more information on the program, visit the U.S. Department of Education’s website.

Official Release