This webpage provides resources and information for transitioning back to normal CACFP operations (July 1, 2022 through June 30, 2023)
For more information see the Child Nutrition Program COVID-19 Information page.
Keep Kids Fed Act 2022
The Keep Kids Fed Act (KKFA) was signed into law on June 25, 2022, this law gives broad authority to USDA to issue limited nationwide waivers and increase the overall cost of the program to the Federal Government.
- Temporary Reimbursements for CACFP effective July 1, 2022, through June 30, 2023
- Additional Reimbursement 10 cents for all CACFP meals/ supplements
- Reimbursement at the Tier 1 rate for all family day care homes in CACFP
We will notify agencies as soon as more information is available.
Wisconsin CACFP Waivers for Summer 2022 and School Year 2022-23
Wisconsin's waiver requests have been approved by USDA. The waivers available for the CACFP include:
- Non-Congregate Meal Service (July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2023)
- Parent/Guardian Meal Pick-Up (July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2023)
- Meal Service Times (July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2023)
USDA has stressed the fact that the waivers Wisconsin is currently approved for should only be utilized for COVID-related reasons. Program operators are expected to only use these flexibilities for the duration and extent that they are needed.
Agencies MUST apply and be approved for these waivers in order to utilize them. Contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org if your agency has a need for the waivers. Agencies will be required to fill out a waiver application form and meet the reporting requirements.
Current nationwide waiver Onsite Monitoring Requirements for Sponsors in the CACFP remains in effect until 30 days after the end of the Public Health Emergency (PHE). The end of the PHE will be declared by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
Questions and Answers
Question: What qualifies as a COVID-related reason?
Answer: A site would need to be closed due to COVID incidence, resulting in limited congregate meal service within the community. In most situations, the site would need to be located within a county with a high rate of COVID-related illness as determined by the Department of Health Services website. If a site closes but is not located in a county with a high rate of COVID incidence, the DPI would need to collect additional information by contacting the local health department.
Question: What does not qualify as a COVID-related reason?
Answer: The following reasons are not considered COVID-related:
- Individual cases of COVID
- Staff shortages
- Supply chain disruptions
- Parent requests
- Students who choose to learn virtually
Question: How do we apply?
Answer: If your agency needs to apply for a waiver, contact us at email@example.com. We will talk through each situation and provide a link to a waiver request form as appropriate.
Question: How long is an approved waiver good for?
Answer: The DPI will be approving waivers for a two-week period. In some cases, that could be extended depending on the situation.
Agencies MUST apply and be approved for these waivers in order to utilize them. Contact firstname.lastname@example.org to apply.