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This policy updates and replaces the 2008 bulletin on four-year-old kindergarten. These Question 
and Answers provide information generally to 4-year-old kindergarten and especially to 4-year-
old kindergarten implemented in community approaches with child care, Head Start, and/or other 
community programs. The policies established in the bulletin have been developed and are 
consistent with policies of the various divisions within the Wisconsin Department of Public 
Instruction (DPI). Relevant questions on child care licensing and subsidy have been coordinated 
with policies from the Wisconsin Department of Children and Families (DCF) Division of Early 
Care and Education. 
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OVERVIEW 

1. What is the history of 4-year-old kindergarten in the Wisconsin public schools? 

Four-year-old children have been attending public schools in Wisconsin for over 150 years. 
Wisconsin made a constitutional commitment to early education in 1848 when the State 
Constitution, Article X, Section 3, called for school districts to be as uniform as practical and 
free to all children between the ages of 4 and 20 years. Essentially all 4-year-old children in 
the community attended the one-room schools of the 19th century. At that time, few teachers 
had training in instructing young children. In 1856, the first private kindergarten opened in 
Watertown serving children ages 2 to 5. The first public kindergartens in the state (1873) 
limited kindergarten enrollment to 4- and 5-year-olds. These formal kindergartens used 
teachers with specific training in the education of young children. 

Four-year-old kindergarten (4K) attendance peaked in the 1920s and then declined as schools 
shifted their emphasis to 5-year-olds. Eventually, kindergarten became a half-day program 
for 5-year-olds, with some exceptions. A few districts in the Milwaukee area have 
maintained 4-year-old kindergarten (often termed junior kindergarten) for nearly a century, 
despite the fact that state funding was suspended between 1957 and 1984. During that time, 
compensatory programs for educationally disadvantaged and disabled 4-year-olds (such as 
Head Start, Title I, and special education) somewhat filled the void in many communities. In 
the 1980s, the state legislature renewed state aid for 4-year-old kindergarten and expanded 
state aid for full-day 5-year-old kindergarten (5K). Many public schools once again started to 
look at the concept of universally available four-year-old programming. During the late 
1990s, more districts saw the need to implement 4-year-old kindergarten, and by 2014, 
ninety-three percent of the school districts operated these programs.  

2. What are the basic requirements for implementing a 4K program? 

Wisconsin made a constitutional commitment to early education in 1848 when the State 
Constitution, Article X, Section 3, called for school districts to be as uniform as practical and 
free to all children between the ages of 4 and 20 years. 

Wisconsin State Statutes sections 115-121 address 4K funding, parent outreach, eligibility, 
teacher licensure, transportation, program content, and several other areas. The primary state 
requirements are summarized below and addressed in more detail throughout this document. 

• The district must ensure that the 4K classroom is under its supervision. 

• The district must provide a minimum of 437 hours of instruction per school year as 
required by Wis. Stats. § 121.04(7). 

• The district must provide transportation to and from the 4K program as required by Wis. 
Stats. § 121.54. 

• The district must ensure that each child is taught by an appropriately licensed teacher as 
required by PI 34. 
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• The district must ensure that all applicable school district standards in Wis. Stats.  
§ 121.02 are met. 

• The district must ensure that the 4K program is open and accessible to all resident, 
eligible children without cost. 
 

FUNDING 

3. How is 4K funded? 

State equalization aid is a major source of funding for 4K in many districts. Wis. Stats.  
§ 121.04(7) defines state funding requirements in order to count 4K students as part of a 
school district’s membership for state equalization aid eligibility. To count students as a 0.5 
Full-Time Equivalent (FTE), a district must operate a program a minimum of 437 hours per 
year. Of that time, 87.5 hours (20 percent) of the 437 hours may be used for outreach 
activities for the school staff to link to the child’s primary caregivers. Additionally, a district 
may add 87.5 hours of outreach to the minimum 437 hours and count students as a 0.6 FTE. 

To qualify for equalization aid, districts must follow these hour requirements and other 4K 
regulations as identified in question 2. 

4. While equalization aid can be a primary source of funding for 4K, what other school 
funding can be used for programs or services to 4-year-old children? 

Communities are finding ways to bring a wide range of funding streams together to provide 
new approaches for all 4-year-old children and their families. School-based funding sources 
that may supplement but not supplant equalization aid include Title I and/or special 
education. 

• While Title I preschool programs are not considered the same as kindergarten, Title I 
funds can supplement other 4K funding. In Title I “schoolwide” programs, a flexible 
service delivery approach may be used where funds are pooled to reach goals and 
objectives. In a Title I “targeted assistance” school, programming options include a  
Title I-funded teacher in the classroom to teach and provide assistance to certain children 
as needed.  

• Early childhood special education teachers and related services staff should be part of the 
4K team. Implementation of a child’s Individualized Education Program (IEP) in the 
least-restrictive environment must be the primary purpose for the funding. Support and 
services are designed to assist a child with a disability to access the general education 
curriculum and are the result of team decision-making between special and general 
education staff. (See the Department of Public Instruction (DPI) Special Education 
Information Updates at http://sped.dpi.wi.gov/sped_bulindex for more information on 
serving young children with disabilities in regular education settings.) 

http://sped.dpi.wi.gov/sped_bulindex
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5. How does the 2008 State Start-Up Grant Program help districts to implement 4K? 

Beginning in the 2008-2009 school year, the Wisconsin state budget includes 3 million for 
4K Community Start Up Grants. The statutes require that funding preference be given to 
school boards that use a community approach to early education. 

The statutes indicate that grants for the first school year can be for up to $3,000 and in the 
succeeding year up to $1,500 for each 4-year-old kindergarten pupil. If the funds in the 
appropriation are insufficient to pay all eligible school boards, the DPI shall prorate the 
payments.  

Administrative rules will include grant priorities, criteria, and administration. For up-to-date 
information on these grants, go to the DPI 4K home page (http://ec.dpi.wi.gov/ec_ec4yr-old-
kind-grants). 

6. Can a district claim membership for equalization aid purposes for summer school? 

In most cases, students enrolled in 4K summer programs are eligible to be counted for 
membership for state aid and for revenue limit purposes. To be eligible, the district must also 
offer a 4K program during the regular school year. Children enrolled in summer school must 
be eligible to attend 4K in the fall. Summer school must be available to all students in the 
district, regardless of need. 

Districts may partner with a CESA or another school district under an agreement as provided 
in Wis. Stats. § 66.0301. 

As with any summer classes, those wholly or partially funded with federal money, state 
categorical aid, or fees are not eligible for general aid. 

7. Do districts need to get “approval” to receive state funding for a new 4K program? 

Between February 1 and July 1, the district must use the School Directory application to 
enter its K4 program and K4 settings information,” and contact the DPI early childhood 
consultant to ensure that it meets the requirements of state statutes. Districts will then be 
permitted to report 4K students on the PI-1563 Pupil Count Report to determine eligibility 
for revenue limit/equalization aid purposes. 
 

  

http://ec.dpi.wi.gov/ec_ec4yr-old-kind-grants
http://ec.dpi.wi.gov/ec_ec4yr-old-kind-grants
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PARENT OUTREACH AND INVOLVEMENT 

8. What activities can be considered as part of the parent outreach? 

Outreach activities are not specifically defined by state statutes. The inclusion of parent 
outreach emphasizes and recognizes that all parents are their children’s first and most 
important teachers. Parents are partners in the educational process. Therefore, outreach 
activities should be designed to support and nurture parents. Outreach activities typically 
involve direct services to parents such as weekly home visits, parent meetings at school, 
parent education classes, parent-child activities, family activity nights, family resource center 
visits, and participation in parent advisory meetings. Outreach activities may also include 
interface with other child care or early education providers specific to transitions or generally 
to discuss collaborative programming. Activities can take place in the family’s home, a 
school building, or elsewhere in the community and should be implemented in a manner that 
is flexible, varied, and sensitive to cultural, racial, and religious differences among families. 
For more information go to http://ec.dpi.wi.gov/ec_ecoutrpg. 

If the district implements the 87.5 hour parent outreach model, the district must document 
how the program provides the opportunities for each parent to access the required 87.5 parent 
outreach hours. Districts should keep records of the plan and a log of parent participation that 
can be shared with auditors. 

9. May individuals other than the parents be involved in parent outreach activities? 

Yes, outreach activities can involve or be targeted for parents, legal guardians, extended 
family members, and other significant caregivers in the child’s life.  

10. Can parent volunteer hours be counted as outreach hours? 

Parents volunteering in the classroom or on a field trip are not counted for parent outreach 
unless there is an intentional parent education component (such as classroom involvement or 
learning activities training) in conjunction with the volunteering activities. The hours must be 
counted based on the amount of time parents participate in the outreach activity and do not 
include planning time. 

11. Who can provide parent outreach? 

Parent outreach must be provided by appropriately qualified persons, such as the 
kindergarten teacher or student services professional, e.g., social worker, home school 
liaison, or guidance counselor. Parent outreach activities may also be provided in 
collaboration with family resource centers, parent education programs, and other community 
parenting efforts. 

12. When districts are receiving 4K equalization aid for parent outreach, may a substitute 
teacher or teacher aide teach the class while the teacher is doing outreach? 

Eligibility for equalization aid requires that the 437 classroom hours be provided by a 
licensed teacher. While using a properly licensed substitute teacher may be legal, it is not 

http://ec.dpi.wi.gov/ec_ecoutrpg
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desirable. Use of a teacher aide does not meet the legal standard. 

Outreach is often provided on the fifth day of the week when children are not in school or 
after school hours. In either approach, teachers may implement outreach activities during the 
day, the evening, or weekends to address parent schedules. 
 

ELIGIBILTY, ENROLLMENT, ATTENDANCE, AND RETENTION 

13. At what age may a child enter kindergarten? 

State law [Wis. Stats. § 118.14(1)(a)] specifies that children are eligible for kindergarten 
based on their age. To be eligible for 4K, a child must be 4 by September 1 of the school 
year. To be eligible for 5K, a child must be 5 by September 1 of the school year.  

The school district may have an early admission policy as described in Wis. Stats. § 120.12(25), 
to allow admission to 4K for younger children. As long as children are admitted through a 
district’s early admission policy, they can be counted for membership for state aid and revenue 
limit purposes. 

14. Are there suggested guidelines for early admission policies? 

Districts are advised to establish consistency of practice and policy for early admission to 4K 
and 5K. The following recommendations are suggested for districts to observe: 

• A personal meeting with the parents to determine their reasons for requesting entrance 
prior to the legal age. Parents should be aware that 4K and 5K are designed as sequential 
grade levels, and the expectation is that children only attend 4K for one year, not enter 
early and then repeat it. 

• A determination of the child’s potential to benefit from early admission and to 
successfully participate in the grade level, including consideration of emotional stability, 
social and mental maturity, and physical health. 

• A process for application and appeals that is approved by the school board. 

15. What documentation and health records are required for kindergarten entrance? 

Typically, the school will provide health and vision report forms that can be completed by 
the child’s physician to indicate that a child is up-to-date with immunizations and vision and 
hearing screenings. The form may also be used to indicate any special health care needs of 
the child. 

Requirements for health records are guided by statutory language. 

• Parents must provide verification of the child’s age. This can be through a birth 
certificate, passport, or other document. 
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• Schools are required to develop and implement a plan to encourage compliance with state 
immunization laws. 

• Parents are required to present written evidence that their child has received specific 
vaccinations. Parents may claim waivers based on personal conviction or religious belief, 
or a physician may sign a health waiver if the immunization is harmful to the health of 
the student [Wis. Stats. § 120.12(16)].  

• Children in 4K are required to meet the age requirements for immunizations rather than 
the grade requirements and should be marked in the “Pre-Kindergarten” section of the 
School Immunization Report to the local health department. 

• Each school board and each charter school shall request each pupil entering kindergarten 
to provide evidence that the pupil has had his or her eyes examined by an optometrist or 
evaluated by a licensed physician (Wis. Stats. § 118.135). 

• Note that neither physical nor dental examinations are required by state statute or code; 
however, school districts may require and provide physicals. 

The Department of Health Services (DHS) website at 
http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/immunization/childhood.htm has information including the 
State Immunization Program requirements, the Student Immunization Record, and the School 
Immunization Report to the local health department. Parents and legal guardians may look up 
their child's immunization record in the Wisconsin Immunization Registry (WIR) by logging 
on to the registry at https://www.dhfswir.org/. The WIR is also available to schools so they 
can add immunizations, share data, better track children not meeting requirements, and can 
generate reports that are required by the state. If you need additional information or help on 
the WIR, please contact the WIR Helpdesk at 608-266-9691. 
 

16. Does a child have to be tested in order to enter kindergarten? 

No, entrance to kindergarten is based on age and not on a child’s ability. 

Some school districts screen incoming students to assess the skills of the children so they are 
better able to determine needed support services, as well as develop an educational program 
that meets the needs of the children. Information is often collected from parents, physicians, 
and/or community programs such as child care and Head Start. 

Some districts use “Child Development Days” Development Screening Model 
(http://www.cesa6.k12.wi.us/products_services/earlylearningresources/childfind.cfm) in 
collaboration with other child-service agencies. This voluntary service helps professional 
staff to better serve families and children by  

• Identifying young children who are in need of further assessment;  

• Educating families about normal child growth and development; and,  

• Developing community awareness of resources available. 

http://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/immunization/childhood.htm
https://www.dhfswir.org/
http://www.cesa6.k12.wi.us/products_services/earlylearningresources/childfind.cfm
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17. Can a district deny entrance to an age-eligible child because there is a concern about 
the child’s “readiness”? 

No. State statutes clearly define age as the only criteria required for entrance into 
kindergarten and first grade. The district is responsible for providing a welcoming 
environment for all age-eligible children and their families through curriculum adaptation, 
teacher placement options, consultation with school specialists, and/or evaluations to 
determine the need for English Language Learners, special education, Title I, or other special 
services. 

18. If a child is age-eligible for kindergarten, may a parent “hold their child out” for one 
year? 

Wisconsin law establishes compulsory school age as 6 years of age (Wis. Stats. § 118.15). 
Legally, parents may wait until their child is 6 before sending him or her to school. Some 
parents have concerns about their child being among the youngest in the class or not socially 
mature enough for kindergarten. In these instances, the parents should discuss their concerns 
with the district staff to learn more about the program and how they can work together for a 
quality experience for their child. Some issues to discuss include (note the term kindergarten 
refers to both 4- or 5-year-old kindergarten): 

• The characteristics of the child that cause concern about readiness for kindergarten;  

• The school’s expectations regarding readiness and the school’s kindergarten screening 
procedures; 

• The nature of the kindergarten program, such as class size and organization. Lower class 
size and “learning center” organization can accommodate greater developmental ranges 
among children in the class; and,  

• What would the parents do to enhance their children’s learning if not in kindergarten. 

Other points for parents to consider include:  

• All school districts are responsible for meeting the needs of all kindergarten students, 
regardless of their ages or stages of development. Kindergarten curriculum is designed to 
meet the wide variation in development levels of all children. 

• Children arrive in kindergarten with a wide variety of abilities, and that is perfectly 
normal. There will always be a child who is the youngest or the oldest. 

• If a child is an English Language Learner, he or she receives support in kindergarten 
programs to learn English at an early age. 

• Staff is trained to identify problems that may affect a child’s ability to learn and provide 
appropriate services. The earlier the problem is identified, the sooner the child can 
receive special services that may help overcome the problem and improve his or her 
ability to achieve throughout the school years. 
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• Kindergarten is an important part of a school's educational program and is part of the 
overall developmental curriculum. 

• Kindergarten instruction promotes learning of many skills that are the foundation of the 
curriculum through grade 12. For example, early reading instruction is especially 
important to all learners. 

Note: The practice of delaying entrance to kindergarten is controversial. You can find more 
information on the research and practices related to delaying entrance to kindergarten at 
"Voices from the Field: Wisconsin Early Childhood Education and Care Stakeholders 
Consider Delayed Entrance to Kindergarten” at http://ec.dpi.wi.gov/ec_ec-entr-admiss.  

19. When a district has both 4- and 5-year-old kindergarten, and a child is age-eligible for 
5K, can the parent place the child in 4K? 

State statutes do not clearly address this situation. While the state statutes define eligibility 
for 4K and 5K in terms of age, they also provide that school districts have the authority to 
determine grade level placement. Placement in a particular grade, classroom, or school is a 
local decision that is based on locally determined school district policies. More information 
on this topic can be found at http://ec.dpi.wi.gov/ec_ec-entr-admiss. 

Districts offering 4K should establish a policy to address this situation. If the district allows 
delayed entrance based on parent request, the district should ensure that the parent considers 
the issues about delaying entrance discussed in question 18.  

20. Do any national practices or principles exist for kindergarten entry and placement? 

The National Association for the Education of Young Children and the National Association 
of Early Childhood Specialists/State Departments of Education have developed principles for 
kindergarten entry and placement 
(https://www.naeyc.org/files/naeyc/file/positions/Psunacc.pdf). 

21. Can a child who has completed 4-year-old kindergarten be “held back” or “retained” 
by the school district at that grade for another year prior to moving into the next grade 
level. 

School districts have the authority to “retain” a pupil who has not made progress in a 
prescribed program, based on established school board policy. However, children in 4K who 
are not making developmental progress should be addressed through Response to 
Intervention strategies and/or referral for special education evaluation well before the end of 
the year. Districts should take into consideration the development nature of 4K and 5K as 
precursors for first grade.  

http://ec.dpi.wi.gov/ec_ec-entr-admiss
http://ec.dpi.wi.gov/ec_ec-entr-admiss
https://www.naeyc.org/files/naeyc/file/positions/Psunacc.pdf
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22. Retention Policy 

State and federal requirements for reporting retention currently begin with five-year-old 
kindergarten. Reported retentions and retention rates are based on data collected by the 
Individual Student Enrollment System (ISES). Retention occurs when a student has not made 
sufficient progress over the course of the school year to be promoted to a higher grade level. 
See more at: http://spr.dpi.wi.gov/spr_ret_q%26a. 

Note that retention in 4K is controversial. Some districts limit or reject the use of retention in 
4-year-old kindergarten and consider progress within the framework of both 4- and 5-year-
old kindergarten.  

23. Can a district refuse enrollment to an age eligible child who is not toilet trained? 

A district cannot refuse entrance into 4K to a child who is not toilet trained. The district can 
work in several ways to address the issue: 

• Check with the family regarding medical needs; work with the child’s physician or make 
a referral for a special education evaluation if medical needs are an issue. 

• Develop a plan for toilet training: 

o A nurse, home-school liaison, or teacher can work directly with the parent to develop 
a plan for toilet training at home and the school.  

o If it is not possible to have a home and school plan, develop an in-school plan for 
toilet training. 

o Consider what strategies can be used in the classroom to support toileting success. Is 
there a reward system for successful toileting? Can special toileting schedules be 
designated for the child with accidents? Are there other children to be paired as 
toileting models? Are there routine times when the “accidents” happen, and if so can 
something be done to encourage toileting before these times? What strategies have 
worked at home that could be used at school? Can the child be part of the plan where 
he has his own goal and final reward?  
 

o If the child attends regulated child care, in addition to 4K, be sure to include the 
teacher/family provider in the conversation and plan. 

• Consider the need for a 504 plan. 
 

• Work with the parent to supply clean clothes and changing supplies. 

• Depending on the circumstances, the parent may be asked to come to school to assist. 

• A child should never be required to change/bag their own clothes.  

http://spr.dpi.wi.gov/spr_ret_q%26a
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TEACHER LICENSURE AND SUBSTITUTES 

24. What license must a teacher have? 

Teachers of 4K students must hold an elementary/regular education license that includes 
prekindergarten or kindergarten (e.g., #080 prekindergarten; #090 PK-K; #083 PK-3; #100 
kindergarten; #103 K-3; #086 PK-6; #106 K-6; #088 PK-8; #108 K-8; 70-777 Regular 
Education – Early Childhood level; 71-777 Regular Education – Early Childhood-Middle 
Childhood level; etc.). 

Some districts may establish a preference for one of the above listed licenses.  

25. What about substitute assignments in 4K? 

A person with any teacher license (Initial Educator, Professional Educator, Master Educator, 
or Substitute License in any subject/grade level) may substitute teach in a 4K program when 
the assignment will not exceed 20 consecutive days. If the substitute assignment is more than 
20 consecutive days, the substitute teacher must hold an Initial Educator, Professional 
Educator, Master Educator, Substitute License, or an emergency teaching license that 
specifically allows the holder to teach in a 4K program. See Question 24 for a list of 
appropriate licenses.  

26. When does the State Educator Effectiveness System apply to four-year-old 
kindergarten (4K) teachers: 

• If the district 4K is school-based (funded by the district and located in a school 
classroom), then the district evaluates the teacher and they are subject to participation in 
the EE System.  

• If the district 4K is community-based (funded by the district and located in a contracted 
community classroom) and the district provides the teacher, then the district evaluates the 
teacher and they are subject to participation in the EE System.  

• For more information on the EE System and early childhood go to 
http://www.livebinders.com/play/play?id=1225721#anchor and click on the early 
childhood tab on the left. You can find information on FAQ, Practice Evidence, Quality 
Indicators for 4K/Early Childhood Special Education Instruction Based on the Danielson 
Framework for Teaching, and sample Student Learning Outcomes (SLOs).  

 
27. When does the State Educator Effectiveness System NOT apply to four-year-old 

kindergarten (4K) teachers: 

• If the district 4K is community-based (funded by district and located in a contracted 
community classroom) and the community program employs and therefore evaluates the 
licensed teacher, then they are NOT subject to participation in the EE System.  

• If a community program calls their program 4K, but it is not funded through a contract 
with a school district, then it is NOT subject to participation in the EE System. 

http://www.livebinders.com/play/play?id=1225721#anchor
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28. Is Shaken Baby Syndrome training a requirement for 4K teachers? 

Not in all cases. State child care licensing regulations require any child care provider, 
employee, or substitute who provides care and supervision to children under age 5 in a certified 
or licensed child care center to receive training in Shaken Baby Syndrome (SBS) prevention. 
This requirement does not apply to staff in school-based 4K, although it would be considered 
beneficial training. Depending on the individual child care centers policies in community 
approach sites, district staff may need to receive the training. The training could also be used as 
part of a Parent Outreach Activities. The training is required for child care licensing in a face to 
face approach. Centers can usually train the staff using the approved curriculum.  

 

TRANSPORTATION 

29. What is the district’s obligation for providing transportation? 

According to Wis. Stats. § 121.54(2)(a), a pupil attending a public elementary or secondary 
school, including 4- and 5-year-old kindergarten, is entitled to transportation by the public 
school district in which the pupil resides if the pupil resides two or more miles from the 
nearest public school that the pupil is entitled to attend. 

Because transportation “to and from school” is required, the school district is responsible for 
transportation to and from half-day kindergarten programs as well as full-day kindergarten 
programs. Therefore, students who are entitled to transportation and who participate in 
morning half-day kindergarten programs must be offered transportation to school and 
transported home at the time their kindergarten program ends. Similarly, students entitled to 
transportation who participate in afternoon half-day programs must be transported from their 
homes to the program for the beginning of the kindergarten program as well as home again at 
the end of the day. State law prohibits the school district from charging a fee for the cost of 
the transportation to parents of such students. 

30. May a district contract with parents in order to meet transportation requirements? 

Yes, the district may contract with parents to provide transportation for their children to and 
from 4K. The amount of compensation provided to the parent under such a contract would be 
negotiated between the parent and the district. The parent of a child enrolled in a public 
school program cannot be forced to accept a parent contract in lieu of school-provided 
transportation. Districts should develop written contracts and should always consult their 
legal counsel for assistance in drawing up the contracts (see Wis. Stats. § 121.55). 

31. May a school district provide transportation for children to after-school child care? 

Yes, for students who are required by law to be transported, the resident school district has 
the option of providing transportation to and from child care instead of to and from home 
[Wis. Stats. § 121.54(2)(am)]. If the district chooses to honor a parent's request to pick 
up/drop off a student at the child care provider, the district cannot charge a fee for this 
service as this is prohibited under Wis. Stats. § 121.54(8). 
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However, if the particular child is not required by law to be transported (i.e., the child lives 
within 2 miles of the school; the district has chosen to use the "city option," or perhaps the 
child is attending a school outside of the designated attendance area), then the district could 
provide the transportation to/from child care and charge a fee [Wis. Stats. § 121.545(2)]. The 
law allows the fee to be waived; the district receives no state transportation aid on behalf of 
that child. 

32. Are there laws or policies about adults meeting the bus? 

State law does not require a parent or other responsible person to meet a kindergarten child at 
the bus stop. However, individual school boards may adopt policies regarding bus pick-up 
and drop-off procedures for kindergarten students. The DPI agrees with the following 
resolution passed by the Wisconsin School Bus Association in 2006: 

In the interest of safety of our youngest riders, the Wisconsin School Bus 
Association recommends to the Department of Public Instruction and to local 
school districts that “a policy be adopted that a parent or responsible person be 
present to receive a kindergartner or younger student from the school bus stop.” 

33. How do laws regarding the use of safety seats for transporting young children apply to 
schools? 

Yellow school buses are exempt from the child safety seat requirements that apply to child 
care programs. The safety seat rules enacted in 2006 only apply when children are 
transported in vehicles other than school buses. Wisconsin 2005 Act 106 imposes age and 
weight/height requirements for child safety seats and applies to the transportation of children 
by any individual or agency, including schools, child care providers, and Head Start. The 
Department of Transportation website has information on this law at 
http://www.dot.wisconsin.gov/safety/vehicle/child/laws.htm. 
 

STANDARDS, SUBJECT AREAS, CURRICULUM, SCREENING, AND ASSESSMENT 

34. What learning standards guide 4K? 

Wisconsin Model Early Learning Standards (WMELS) provide a shared framework for 
understanding and communicating developmentally appropriate expectations for young 
children from birth to first grade (mandatory school age). The WMELS provide a framework 
for the development of program, curriculum, and assessment practices. As a result, young 
children will have more opportunities for positive development and learning. The standards 
are a guide for parents, professionals, and policymakers, all of whom share responsibility for 
the well-being of young children. The WMELS promote beneficial connections between early 
childhood and K-12 educational experiences. The WMELS can be found at 
http://ec.dpi.wi.gov/sites/default/files/imce/fscp/pdf/ec-wmels-rev2013.pdf.  

http://www.dot.wisconsin.gov/safety/vehicle/child/laws.htm
http://ec.dpi.wi.gov/sites/default/files/imce/fscp/pdf/ec-wmels-rev2013.pdf
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35. What are the required subject areas for 4K? 

Wis. Stats. § 121.02(1) defines subject areas at each grade level including four- and five-
year-old kindergarten. For required kindergarten the subject areas include: 

• Reading and Language Arts 
• Mathematics  
• Social Studies 
• Science  
• Health  
• Physical Education  
• Art  
• Music  
• Environmental Education  
• Computer Literacy 

The subject area requirements are the same for 4- and 5-year-old kindergarten. However, the 
curriculum for 4-year-olds will differ from that of 5-year-olds. The curriculum should be 
developmentally, individually, and culturally appropriate for four-year-old children. 

Curricula are locally determined and should be based on best practice. Best practice (see 
references for publications by the National Association of Elementary School Principals and 
National Association for the Education of Young Children) for kindergarten reflects an 
integrated and developmentally appropriate curriculum rather than curriculum taught by 
subject area. An appropriate curriculum incorporates concepts from the required subject 
areas. 

The required subjects do not need to be taught as separate subjects; for example, the teacher 
can engage movement (physical education), singing (music), and counting (math) all at the 
same time. Physical education, art, and music can be completely integrated into the 
curriculum under the direction of a teacher licensed in that subject area or it can be taught 
directly by a teacher licensed in that subject area. Environmental education and computer 
literacy should also be integrated into other subject areas. 

The statutes do not specify the amount of time needed to address these areas. Established DPI 
practices suggest the following proportions: 

• Reading and language arts activities should be approximately 30 percent of the 
curriculum. 

• Math, social studies, science, health, physical education, art, and music should be 
approximately 10 percent each of the teacher-directed curriculum activities for a total of 
70 percent of the curriculum. 

• Up to one-third of each day should be in student self-directed activities. 

See the DPI website for more information at http://ec.dpi.wi.gov/ec_ecqualhm. 

http://ec.dpi.wi.gov/ec_ecqualhm
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36. Can a district implement 4-year-old kindergarten using mixed age groupings? 

School districts establish grade level and curriculum designs at the local level. Multiage or 
mixed age grouping is a design that may be adopted. Mixed age groups for 4- and 5-year-old 
kindergarten are the most common mixed age model. When districts implement 4K in 
community settings, the community program may already be mixed age and include 3 
through 5-year-old children; in these community models, 3-year-old children are not 
considered enrolled in 4K and may not be claimed for funding through the 3rd Friday count. 

37. Coursework Completion and 4K 

The Coursework Completion System (CWCS) is a component of the student level data 
collection of the Department of Public Instruction (DPI) Individual Student Enrollment 
System (ISES). CWCS is intended to capture data on all K4-12 grade level curriculum and 
student achievement: 

• The courses taught and the student enrollment (using standard course codes). 

• The teacher(s) teaching the course based on their DPI Educator File Number. 

• Classroom Type – optional field (single or multiple). 

• Multiple other course, teacher, or student characteristics. 

CWCS applies to all students enrolled in a school district program. Students with disabilities 
that attend general curriculum or modified curriculum courses are reported through CWCS 
with their special education services reflected by the appropriate course rigor level. CWCS is 
NOT collecting information on special education students that are not receiving services in 
general education settings.  

4K implications: The WMELS apply to early childhood special education, 4K, and 5K. They 
reflect five comprehensive domains: Health and Physical Development, Social and 
Emotional Development, Language Development and Communication (includes Early 
Literacy), Approaches to Learning, and Cognition and General Knowledge (includes Early 
Math). Wisconsin Common Core State Standards (CCSS) apply also to 4K and 5K. Both the 
WMELS and CCSS assist in determining and guiding assessment and curriculum decisions. 
CWCS reporting should be based on these standards and should reflect the curriculum, 
instructional approaches, assessments, and report to parents. 

More detailed information can be found on the DPI website at: 
http://lbstat.dpi.wi.gov/cwcsapplication, look for the 4K section under submission guidelines. 

http://lbstat.dpi.wi.gov/cwcsapplication
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38. Are children in 4K part of the statewide Wisconsin Student Assessment System? 

No, 4K is not part of the Wisconsin Student Assessment System. To measure progress in 4K, 
Wisconsin school districts use a variety of curriculum and assessment tools. Best practice 
(see references for publications by the National Association of Elementary School Principals 
and National Association for the Education of Young Children) includes authentic 
assessment methods that observe and record children's progress in typical activities 
throughout the program year. Best practice also includes seeking information and input from 
parents and/or primary caregivers. Child progress is documented in all domains of learning 
including physical, social-emotional, cognitive, and language development. Assessment 
information is used to individualize instruction and plan next steps. 

See the DPI website for information on how several school districts have assessed student 
progress in 4K at http://fscp.dpi.wi.gov/sites/default/files/imce/fscp/pdf/ec-impact-dev.pdf. 

39. How are 4-year-old kindergarten students involved in the state early literacy screening? 

Wis. Stats. 118.016(1) requires an early literacy screener to be administered to all 4-year-old 
kindergarten to 2nd grade students enrolled in public school districts and charter schools. 
This assessment provides administrators, teachers, and parents with valuable information 
necessary to improve the reading skills of students. Results are used to identify reading 
problems early on and to inform instruction. The data from the screener is not part of the 
accountability system. 

The Phonological Awareness Literacy Screening (PALS), developed by the University of 
Virginia, has been purchased under a state contract to serve as the required literacy 
screener. Districts do not incur costs related to the purchase of the assessment but are 
responsible for costs associated with the administration of PALS. A brief document on 
PALS with information for parents is available online.  

State law requires districts and schools to assess all students. There is not an exemption or 
parent opt-out provision; this includes students with disabilities and dual language learners. 
See PALS Wisconsin (http://www.palswisconsin.info/administrators_accommodations.shtml) 
for more information on special education. Dual language learners in four-year-old 
kindergarten are required to be administered the English language version of PALS-PreK. 

Professional development modules for teachers who administer PALS are available 
online at the PALS Wisconsin Resource Center, http://palswisconsin.info, a website 
specifically for Wisconsin educators. All educators who will administer PALS need to 
complete the series of six 15-minute modules and the accompanying certification 
assessment prior to administering PALS. For educators who have already completed the 
administration modules and desire to review the materials, the modules will remain 
available during subsequent administration windows. 

The PALS Wisconsin Resource Center also includes an FAQ page with commonly asked 
questions regarding administration, scoring, training, and administration for children with 

http://fscp.dpi.wi.gov/sites/default/files/imce/fscp/pdf/ec-impact-dev.pdf
http://www.palswisconsin.info/administrators_accommodations.shtml
http://palswisconsin.info/
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IEPs and dual language learners. A PDF is also available for distribution to parents 
specifically at http://www.palswisconsin.info/parents.shtml. 

You can also learn even more about PALS by visiting http://pals.virginia.edu/.  

PALS webinars, news, discussion forums, and timelines will also be archived on 
http://readwisconsin.dpi.wi.gov.  
 

CLASS SIZE AND TEACHER RATIOS 

40. What are appropriate teacher-child ratios and class sizes? 

There are no state regulations directing the teacher-child ratio for 4K. Class size is a local 
policy determined by the school board. As districts develop teacher ratio and class size 
policies, they may consider practices in other programs such as: 

• 1:10 with a maximum class size of 20 as defined for quality benchmarks by the National 
Institute on Early Education Research (NIEER);  

• 1:13 with a maximum group size of 24 as required in state child care licensing 
regulations; 

• 1:15 ratio required by the Student Achievement Guarantee in Education (SAGE) class 
size reduction program and early childhood special education inclusion models; or 

• 2 teachers working with groups of 16 to 20 as advised by the National Association for the 
Education of Young Children (NAEYC). 

41. What is the required square footage for 4-year-old classrooms? 

No minimum square footage requirements specifically apply for 4K classrooms. However, 
for safety and building design purposes, the Wisconsin Department of Commerce (WDOC) 
has adopted the International Building Code which specifies 20 square feet per occupant of 
open floor space, assuming a self-contained classroom with one exit. This standard does not 
suggest this is the optimal room size for an education program. In considering space for 
educational programming, a district may look for guidance to the Head Start and child care 
requirement of no less than 35 square feet of usable floor space for each child. 
 

SPECIAL EDUCATION AND 4K 

42. If a child is enrolled in 4K and receives special education, does the district receive 
funding for both? 

Yes, when a child is enrolled in 4K and receives special education services, the district is 
eligible for equalization aid and for state and federal special education funding. The child is 
reported as in 4K on the third Friday count.  

http://www.palswisconsin.info/parents.shtml
http://pals.virginia.edu/
http://readwisconsin.dpi.wi.gov/
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43. What opportunities are created for 4-year-olds with disabilities when school districts 
provide 4K? 

As school districts expand the range of general education settings available to young children 
with disabilities, 4-year-old kindergarten is a placement being considered for 4-year-old 
children with disabilities. It is important that the kindergarten program can accommodate the 
needs of a diverse population of learners. Designing general education programs in a way 
that allows all children to be successful will promote the inclusion of children with 
disabilities. Providing developmentally and individually appropriate experiences by qualified 
staff in environments that are specifically designed for all young children is critical in 
designing inclusive programs. 

Local education agencies (LEAs) are using a variety of approaches to support 4K students 
with disabilities. For example: 

• Special education teachers and related service providers visit early childhood general 
education settings primarily to coach and consult with staff members (also called 
Itinerant Services).  

• Where several children with disabilities are present in one setting, an early childhood 
special education teacher may spend two or three sessions per week team teaching or co-
teaching in the classroom. 

• Programs for children with and without disabilities may be located in close proximity to 
allow fluid movement of staff and children between classrooms. 

The type and amount of support is dictated by the needs and strengths outlined in the child’s 
IEP. These service decisions are child-driven based upon the IEP, not based upon the 
disability of the child. Sometimes, more than one setting may be used to provide special 
education and related services. The IEP team would keep in mind that services are required 
to be in the Least Restrictive Environment. A child with a disability is removed from a 
setting with typically developing age peers only when the nature and severity of the disability 
requires removal so that the child can make progress in the general curriculum or an alternate 
curriculum. For example, a child with a visual impairment may receive services in an Early 
Childhood Special Education (ECSE) classroom part-time, in addition to a visual impairment 
teacher providing service to that child in a general early childhood setting. Regardless of the 
actual strategy, collaborative communication skills and flexibility are crucial to the success 
of these services. 

44. With 4K becoming a more frequently used general education setting, may a school 
district place all 3-year-olds with disabilities in a 4K program? 

No, a district cannot have a policy or practice to place all 3-year-olds with disabilities in a 4-
year-old kindergarten program. There may be some instances where an IEP team would 
determine that the 4-year-old kindergarten classroom is the most appropriate placement such 
as if it is a multi-age 3-4 classroom with non-disabled 3-year-old children. If a 3-year-old 
with an IEP is being served in 4K, they are not counted in the actual 4K first Friday Count 
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because these children are not 4 years of age.  

45. What factors should be considered when developing class size in kindergarten 
programs that include children with disabilities? 

LEAs should consider the class size research for young students and the needs of enrolled 
children with disabilities. 4K programs are including more children with disabilities. 
Throughout school personnel and parents are striving for natural proportions of children with 
and without disabilities in kindergarten classes, it is important to include more children 
without disabilities to provide adequate opportunities for engagement with typically 
developing peers. 

46. If a child has an IEP, are the rules different for admission, enrollment, or retention?  

Admission, enrollment, and retention rules are the same for all children including those who 
are receiving special education services. 

For more information on delayed entrance and retention, go to the DPI website at 
http://ec.dpi.wi.gov/ec_ec-entr-admiss. 

47. When the 4K teacher is dually licensed as both a kindergarten teacher and as an early 
childhood special education teacher, can s/he perform both general and special 
education roles within one classroom? 

A 4K program must have an appropriately licensed teacher who holds an Early Childhood 
(EC) or Early Childhood-Middle Childhood (ECMC) licensure. A dual licensed teacher who 
holds both EC and Early Childhood Special Education (ECSE), or both ECMC and ECSE, 
may teach children with disabilities and children without disabilities in the same classroom.  

The dual licensed teacher must be able to provide special education services in accordance 
with a child’s IEP. Consideration should be given to the amount and frequency of special 
education services specified in an IEP, which may impact the availability of a dual licensed 
teacher to also serve as the general education teacher. The use of a dual licensed teacher may 
not limit the placement and/or services options for children with disabilities.  

A dual licensed EC/ECSE teacher may be contracted as both a special education and general 
education teacher. Regardless of license, if there is a single teacher in a 4K program, 
instructing both students with and without disabilities, there is no excess cost of providing 
special education instruction or related services. The salary would be in fund 10 and not 
eligible for categorical or IDEA funding.  

For further information about special education personnel working with students who are not 
identified as students with disabilities, refer to the DPI guidance document at 
http://sped.dpi.wi.gov/sites/default/files/imce/sped/pdf/sped-incidental-benefit.pdf. 

Dual certification provides teachers with a strong background in both general and special 
education. More universities are offering dual certification. With specific planning, the 
teacher’s expertise in both general and special education can form the basis of a solid 4K 

http://ec.dpi.wi.gov/ec_ec-entr-admiss
http://sped.dpi.wi.gov/sites/default/files/imce/sped/pdf/sped-incidental-benefit.pdf


POLICY AND INFORMATION ADVISORY 12.14 
 
 

21 
 

program. 
 

USDA CHILD NUTRITION PROGRAMS AND 4K 

48. Can children participating in a 4K program receive reimbursable meals under the 
United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Child Nutrition Programs?  

The USDA provides financial reimbursement for meals and snacks served to children in 
schools and nonschool programs.  

School Programs: Children enrolled in schools are eligible to participate in USDA and state 
funded child nutrition programs offered by schools. Reimbursement is based on the number 
of meals served to children eligible for free, reduced price, and non-needy meals. Programs 
available to schools include the National School Lunch Program, the School Breakfast 
Program, the Special Milk Program, the Afterschool Snack Program, and the Wisconsin 
School Day Milk Program.  

Non-School Programs: Children enrolled in qualified outside-of-school-hours care centers 
such as child care and Head Start are eligible to participate in USDA’s Child and Adult Care 
Food Program. The site must be organized for the purpose of providing child care services 
and is distinct from extracurricular programs organized primarily for scholastic, cultural, and 
athletic purposes. Reimbursement will be based on the percentage of enrolled children in the 
categories of free, reduced price, and non-needy; the number of meals served by type and the 
prevailing rates of reimbursement. 

Snacks served to children may also be reimbursed at the “free rate” at qualified “At-Risk 
Snack Sites” participating in the Child and Adult Care Food Program. “At-Risk Snack Sites” 
establish eligibility by being located in a school area where 50% or more of the children are 
eligible for free or reduced price school meals or where eligibility is documented using 
census tract data. 

For additional information on School or Non-School Programs, check out the Wisconsin 
Child Nutrition Program home page at http://fns.dpi.wi.gov/.  
 

4K AND YOUNGSTAR 

49. How are 4K programs related to YoungStar? 

Districts that operate 4K programs using community approaches with child care and/or Head 
Start may participate in YoungStar if at least one (1) hour of child care service is provided 
per day outside of/beyond the 4K service delivery timeframe. The educational qualifications 
of the 4K teacher may be counted for YoungStar purpose if the teacher is in the classroom 
beyond the school district-funded hours, and is providing child care teaching responsibilities 
during the alternative hours of the day. For more information on 4K and YoungStar go to the 
Q&A document at: http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/youngstar/faq.htm. 

http://fns.dpi.wi.gov/
http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/youngstar/faq.htm
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OPEN ENROLLMENT 

50. Does open enrollment apply to 4K and school-operated child care? 

Open enrollment applies to 4K and school-operated child care only if the child’s resident 
school district offers the same type of program the child wishes to attend and only if the child 
is eligible for the program in her or his resident school district [Wis. Stats. § 118.51(2)]. 

51. Is a student who attends 4K under open enrollment required to reapply for 
kindergarten in the nonresident school district? 

No. Once the student open enrolls into a nonresident school district, the student may continue 
to attend the nonresident school district without annual reapplication, except that the student 
may be required by the nonresident school district to reapply when the student enters middle 
school, junior high, or high school [Wis. Stats. § 118.51(3)(c)].  

52. May a child request early admission to 4K under open enrollment? 

A child must be 4 years old by September 1 to begin 4K. The parents or legal guardian of a 
child who will not be 4 years old by this date may request that both the resident school 
district and nonresident school district evaluate the child for early admission under the 
district’s own early admission policy. The child must be found eligible by both school 
districts to open enroll, even if the criteria are different. However, the nonresident school 
district is not required to evaluate the child and may deny the student’s open enrollment 
based on the child not being old enough to attend school [Wis. Stats. § 118.14(1)(b), 
118.51(2) and 121.12(25)]. 

53. For the purposes of open enrollment, what constitutes “the same type of program?” 

If students enrolled in the programs are eligible to be counted for state aid and revenue limit 
membership, then the programs are the same type of program.  

54. What is the timeline for applying for open enrollment? 

Open enrollment legislation (Wis. Stats. § 118.51 and Wis. Admin. Code PI 36) establishes 
the timelines and procedures for public school open enrollment. The statute provides two 
procedures to apply for open enrollment: The regular application period requires applications 
to be submitted between February and April of the school year preceding the one in which 
parents desire their children to attend a nonresident district. An alternative procedure allows a 
parent to apply for open enrollment at any time during a school year. Under both procedures, 
open enrollment only applies when both districts have 4K and the child is eligible for the 
program in the resident school district. 
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COMMUNITY APPROACHES – DISTRICT FUNDING AND RESPONSIBLITIES 

55. What approaches are being used as public schools work with other early childhood 
programs in their communities? 

Schools are taking new approaches for universally available 4K that use a school-community 
interface. The key to expansion of 4K is the involvement of a broad range of community 
early childhood stakeholders.  

Community approaches bring together community leaders representing business, schools, 
child care, Head Start, parents, recreation, and parent education to explore the issues and 
develop community-based approaches to 4K. They are finding new and innovative 
approaches that may be school-based or community-based. For example, some communities 
have 4-year-old kindergartens located in a variety of settings including elementary schools, 
licensed child care centers, and Head Start programs. One approach has school teachers and 
support staff providing the 4K program in established community programs. In another 
approach, the school district contracts with established programs that have DPI-licensed 
teachers on staff to provide kindergarten.  

More information can be found on this approach in the resource section of this document or 
by going to http://ec.dpi.wi.gov/ec_ec4yrpag or http://www.collaboratingpartners.com/4k-
community-approaches-resources.php.  

56. What is the financial responsibility for districts that use community approaches? 

Wisconsin’s school finance formula is premised on the state and local district “sharing” in 
the cost of educational programming. Once a community has an approved 4K program 
through public-private partnerships with community programs, the district’s financial 
responsibility is similar to traditional school-based kindergarten. The following requirements 
reflect the implementation of 4K in community approaches: 

• The district must ensure that there is an appropriately licensed 4K teacher. The district 
may employ the teacher or may contract with the community program to employ the 
licensed kindergarten teacher. 

• Parent outreach will vary depending on whether or not the district is claiming the 437-
hour program or a 437-hour program plus 87.5 hours of parent outreach. Parent outreach 
may be provided by the district through contract or through other arrangements with 
community partners.  

• The school district covers the cost of instruction for the 4K portion of the program 
including staff compensation, special education, and support services for children. 

• The district covers up to the full cost of facilities, supplies, food, and staff development, 
based on the collaborative approach agreed upon by the partners.  

• The district is responsible for transportation of children enrolled in the 4K portion of any 
of the programs. Parents, Head Start, or the child care center provide transportation when 

http://ec.dpi.wi.gov/ec_ec4yrpag
http://www.collaboratingpartners.com/4k-community-approaches-resources.php
http://www.collaboratingpartners.com/4k-community-approaches-resources.php
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children are enrolled for a length of time exceeding 4K hours. 

• The district retains a portion of its state aid to cover district costs such as administration 
and support staff. 

• Interagency agreements or contracts define these roles and responsibilities in detail (see 
question 68 for more information on the content of these agreements or contracts). 

57. While equalization aid and revenue limit authority is a primary source of funding for 
4K, what other funding can be used to support community approaches? 

Communities are finding ways to bring a wide range of funding streams together to provide 
new approaches to serve all 4-year-old children and their families. These sources cannot 
replace the district’s financial responsibility for the 4K program. Community funding can 
include, but is not limited to child care and Head Start. Several examples of blended funding 
are described below: 

• When schools use community-based child care approaches, child care funding (such as 
Wisconsin Shares Child Care Subsidy Program funding from the Wisconsin Department 
of Workforce Development, Child Care Section) provides subsidies for eligible parents in 
approved activities to support the full-day operation of the program. 

• Communities may find new approaches through partnerships between 4K and Head Start 
that expand the number of hours and services to children and families. 

For more details see the DPI’s “Financing Four-Year-Old Kindergarten in Community 
Approaches” that can be found at http://www.collaboratingpartners.com/4k-community-
approaches-fiscal.php.  

58. If a district is implementing 4K in public-private community approaches with a 
community program, how much oversight does the district have over the program? 

In 4K programs using community approaches, 4K is considered part of the school district’s 
4K program. School districts are not relieved of their obligations for oversight of programs 
conducted with community partners. Through appropriate planning and site supervision, the 
school district must assure that the required components of 4K are implemented in all of their 
settings. Most districts have established collaborative councils that plan and oversee these 
community approaches. These councils address the details of these programs and provide 
reports to the school board. There should also be contracts between the participating 
provider(s). These agreements should address the district fiscal contribution and clarify 
service delivery models, child care licensing, Head Start performance standards, hiring, 
teacher inservice, planning time, curriculum and program practices, and other roles and 
responsibilities. The school district holds the authority and obligation to supervise the 
program for compliance with contract, district, and state requirements. 
 

http://www.collaboratingpartners.com/4k-community-approaches-fiscal.php
http://www.collaboratingpartners.com/4k-community-approaches-fiscal.php
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COMMUNITY APPROACHES – RELATED REGULATIONS 

59. Why are 4K statutes and program requirements different from child care and Head 
Start requirements? 

The main reason for the differences is that each entity is subject to the rules of a different 
federal and/or state governmental agency. School districts must meet Wisconsin State 
Educational Standards and requirements from the Wisconsin Department of Public 
Instruction and the U.S. Department of Education. Child care providers must meet DCF 251, 
Licensing Rules for Group Child Care Centers which are standards established by the 
Wisconsin Department of Children and Families. Head Start is a federal program 
administered by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.  

60. Are requirements for teacher-child ratios and class sizes different when 4K is being 
implemented in community settings? 

When 4K is implemented in child care settings, child care licensing regulations will need to 
be followed. These regulations are for teacher–child ratios of 1:13 and a maximum group 
size of 24.  

61. Are all facilities used for the 4K instructional program sponsored by the school district 
required to meet the building requirements for a "SCHOOL" under the jurisdiction of 
the Wisconsin Department of Commerce? 

The facilities used for 4K instruction must meet the most stringent applicable building code. 
If the program is located in a child care center, the district must meet the child care code and 
be in compliance with school codes. Local municipalities may have stricter code 
requirements.  

62. How do districts report DPI-licensed teachers who are employed by child care or Head 
Start centers under contract as 4K providers? 

The PI-1202 form has two fields on the assignment screen for 4K teachers who are hired 
by child care or Head Start centers. The district should report the teacher and change the 
default for the field, “Subcontracted through a Contracted Agency,” from N (No) to Y (Yes). 
They will then need to report the information for the center that actually hired the 4K teacher 
in the “Local Use” field. The other information they will need to report for this individual is 
social security number, first and last name (optional is middle, suffix, former last name), 
birth year, gender, race, and local and total experience. Districts will need to make sure the 
teacher is reported at the same school that they report the students attending. 

More information can be found at: http://lbstat.dpi.wi.gov/fallstaff. 
 

http://lbstat.dpi.wi.gov/fallstaff
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COMMUNITY APPROACHES – ORGANIZATIONAL CONSIDERATIONS 

63. How can districts bring community stakeholders together to explore community 
approaches? 

Most districts exploring or implementing community approaches have established early 
childhood community councils. These councils include representatives from the school 
district, community child care providers, Head Start, families, and any other community or 
municipal agencies that are interested in the care and education of young children. It is not 
necessary to include every private provider in the community, but the district should make a 
good faith effort to include a balanced representation of private providers to the council.  

64. How are communities providing a structure to sustain their community approaches? 

The council plays a key role in the communication and decision making needed to sustain 
community approaches. The council provides a forum to address implementation issues, 
facilitate program evaluation, promote program expansion or improvement, and link with the 
school board. 

Many school districts designate a staff person to act as the coordinator for community 
approaches. Whether it is a district principal or a community coordinator, this position can be 
vital to ensure ongoing attention to these community approaches. 
 

COMMUNITY APPROACHES – SITE PARTNERSHIPS 

65. How can a district work with a family child care provider to implement 4K? 

Currently, most collaborations between schools and family child care focus on participation 
in school-sponsored professional development training, joint field trips, transition 
orientations, or transportation. Districts may also interface with family child care providers as 
part of the outreach component. Family child care providers are also excellent connections to 
support family engagement since they have such direct contact with parents on a daily basis. 

66. What needs to be considered for community approaches with Head Start and 4K? 

As more communities are beginning to implement 4K for all children, partnerships between 
the programs are critical to ensure that comprehensive services for low income families are 
available and that the expertise of both the public schools and Head Start is maximized.  

While programs can be co-located as morning and afternoon programs, with little direct 
collaboration, programs can also be designed so that Head Start-eligible 4-year-old children 
can be jointly enrolled and can be counted for Head Start and 4K funding. These design 
approaches must assure that the state 4K requirements, as well as the federal Head Start 
requirements, are followed. In some instances, state child care licensing must also apply.  
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To use both school district equalization aid and Head Start funding, communities need to 
consider how to enhance programs for children and families using resources efficiently and 
without duplication. Community approaches using 4K and Head Start require specific 
considerations to comply with federal Head Start fiscal requirements; performance standards 
for comprehensive child development services, health services, and parent involvement; and 
design for service delivery.  

These considerations have led to two basic community approaches to 4K and Head Start.  

1. The district enters into agreements with Head Start to deliver 4K to Head Start-eligible 
children. Both state 4K and federal Head Start requirements are followed. Eligible 4-
year-old children are considered enrolled in both programs and are counted for Head 
Start funding and 4K equalization aid when services are provided to a greater extent than 
either program could offer operating in isolation. This approach extends services 
including: 

• Extending the program days by combining the part-day 3-hour Head Start program 
with the part-day 2.5 hour 4K program to create a 5.5-hour day for children.  

• Extending the program hours and/or program year to provide the program during non-
school days and into the summer months. 

2. To provide integration of low income and higher income families within the same 
classes, the school district provides the 4K program requirements for all children either 
directly or through agreement with Head Start. The Head Start program provides the full 
range of Head Start services to Head Start-eligible/enrolled children. The district costs for 
the 4K program and the Head Start child development program are prorated or shared to 
account for the additional hours and number of Head Start-eligible and non-Head Start-
eligible children. Prorating follows federal Head Start guidance and audit requirements.  

These approaches are described in the Department of Public Instruction’s “Financing Four-
Year-Old Kindergarten in Community Approaches” that can be found at 
http://www.collaboratingpartners.com/4k-community-approaches-fiscal.php.  

67. May community approach models exist with faith-based programs? 

When community sites are used, partnerships can occur with faith-based schools with certain 
assurances. Districts should select community sites based solely on religion-neutral criteria. 
The district’s 4K program must be open to all eligible children whose parents want the 
program. The district must ensure a non-sectarian environment, curriculum, and program for 
all students during the "4K” part of the day at the faith-based program. The program must be 
open to any district child without faith-based requirements. Interagency agreements or 
contracts must define these assurances and define how the district will oversee the program 
to assure compliance (see question 58 for more information on the content of these 
agreements or contracts).  

Districts should consider how they already work with faith-based programs in terms of 
special education, transportation, Title I, or any other connections. Approaches should be 

http://www.collaboratingpartners.com/4k-community-approaches-fiscal.php
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consistent in how to address the environment issues and whether there are other written 
agreements. Funds received from the district by a faith-based partner cannot be used for any 
religious purpose and must only be for 4K purposes.  

There are several good sources of information on collaborations with faith-based programs 
included in the resources at the end of this document. Before entering into a community 
partnership with a faith-based program, a district should consult with its legal counsel.  

68. What should be included in an interagency agreement for collaborative programs? 

An interagency agreement or contract should be established with each of the community 
settings. This signed agreement will be used to determine who has responsibility for the 
specific components of the program. Interagency agreements should include at a minimum 
the following: 

• A mission, goal, or purpose statement; 

• A statement that this specified 4K program is part of the district’s 4K program; 

• Specific roles and responsibilities of each agency, including, but not limited to: 

a. Programming responsibilities; e.g., building maintenance, outdoor play space 
requirements, transportation, and parent outreach and involvement; 

b. Parameters of collaboration; e.g., joint activities, shared staff expertise, or shared 
resources;  

c. Staff issues; e.g., staff supervision, joint planning time, and background checks;  

d. Common professional development and shared learning opportunities; and 

e. Responsibility for insuring compliance with the applicable licensing rules. 

• Financial responsibility; e.g., insurance coverage, space rental, and contractual 
arrangements; 

• Maintenance of student records; 

• District rights and responsibilities for program supervision; 

• Timelines; 

• Agreements with faith-based programs must ensure a non-sectarian environment, 
curriculum, and program for all students during the 4K part of the day; be open to any 
district child without religious-based requirements, and outline methods by which the 
district will oversee the program to assure compliance (see question 58 for more 
information on the content of these agreements or contracts); 
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• Definitions and/common uses of terminology; and 

• Dispute resolution. 
 

COMMUNITY APPROACHES – ATTENDANCE AND ENROLLMENT 

69. How should districts "code" children for DPI reporting when they are receiving 4K 
services in community-based settings? 

At this time, there is not a required structure for “coding” 4K children who receive services 
in community-based settings. A district may report 4K students at any public elementary 
school(s) in the district. DPI suggests the following options for a district to report 4K 
students: 

• A district may report all 4K students under one existing elementary school; one reason 
for this choice might be that the administrator/principal of the school is overseeing the 
4K program. 

• A district may report 4K students at several existing elementary schools of the district’s 
choosing. 

• A district may report 4K students under whichever existing school serves the elementary 
attendance area in which the community setting is physically located. 

• A district may set up a new school entity and use the new school to report the enrollment 
of all 4K students who are in community settings (new school code assigned by DPI 
dpistats@dpi.wi.gov). The district designates the address and other contact information 
for the new school to insure that the mail and email for the school go to the correct 
person and location at the district. 

• A district may report some 4K students at existing elementary schools and also set up a 
new school for other 4K students as described above. 

70. If a district uses community approaches, must it provide transportation to any site that 
the parent prefers or can the district designate attendance areas? 

A school board has authority to designate attendance areas for 4K programs located in 
community centers and other sites in the same manner as it does for public schools within the 
school district. When parents are given options for community-based settings, the district 
may assign community-based settings according to designated attendance areas. A 4K 
student is entitled to transportation to the 4K program in whose attendance area he/she 
resides. Therefore, if parents choose to have their children attend a 4K program at a 
community setting that was not assigned; the district does not have to provide transportation. 

mailto:dpistats@dpi.wi.gov


POLICY AND INFORMATION ADVISORY 12.14 
 
 

30 
 

71. If a district uses community approaches, does every site need to be open for any parent 
that selects that site? 

The district-wide 4K program must be open to any age-eligible child whose parents reside in 
the district. Local school districts can establish their own enrollment and placement policies. 
Policies can be set up by the district for enrollment in 4K that allow for parents to prioritize 
the site they want or for the district to assign sites by certain criteria such as attendance areas 
or availability of slots in community settings. 

Districts can allow parents to reject an attendance area placement and select a site as a 
“within district enrollment” option. In these cases, the district should consider having a 
policy comparable to those for the other grades when a parent chooses an “out of attendance 
area” school. 

Districts may not establish enrollment criteria that limit access to the district’s 4K program, 
such as existing enrollment in the community setting, membership in any faith-based 
organization, sibling attendance, income, or developmental ability. 

72. Often children attending child care centers may be from more than one school district. 
May the non-resident 4-year-olds at the child care center participate in the 4-year-old 
kindergarten program at that site?  

In Wisconsin, children are entitled to a free education in the district in which they reside 
[Wis. Stats. § 121.77(1)(a)]. Children's ability to attend school in a district in which they do 
not reside is governed by state laws. State laws provide the following ways for children to 
attend nonresident school districts: 

• Intergovernmental agreements under Wis. Stats. § 66.0301 (previously called 66.30). 
School districts can use agreements reached under Wis. Stats. § 66.0301 to allow children 
from one school district to attend 4K in another school district. More information can be 
found at http://sfs.dpi.wi.gov/sfs_coop_agree. 

• Public school open enrollment (Wis. Stats. § 118.51 & Wis. Admin. Code PI 36). Open 
enrollment legislation establishes the timelines and procedures for public school open 
enrollment. This includes the requirement that applications must be submitted between 
February and April of the school year preceding the one in which parents desire their 
children to attend a nonresident district. The statute does not provide any exceptions to 
this requirement. However, open enrollment only applies when both districts have 4K and 
the child is eligible for the program in the resident school district. 

• Parent-paid tuition (Wis. Stats. § 121.81). If a nonresident school district has space, it 
may allow nonresident students to enroll on a parent-paid tuition basis. For the 2007-08 
school year, full-time tuition is $6,043. If a kindergarten program is half-time, the tuition 
cost would be one-half of the full-time amount.  

Tuition payment by resident school district (Wis. Stats. § 121.78). State law permits resident 
school districts to enter into tuition agreements with other school districts. However, it is 
uncommon for school districts to enter into these agreements except for students who need 

http://sfs.dpi.wi.gov/sfs_coop_agree
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special education or related services that the resident school district cannot provide. State law 
[Wis. Stats. § 121.77(1)(b)] requires that school districts charge tuition for non-resident 
students, unless the student is entitled to attend the district under open enrollment or a tuition 
waiver. 
 

COMMUNITY APPROACHES – STANDARDS AND CURRICULUM 

73. If a district is going to contract with child care or Head Start agencies, do those 
agencies have to use the same curriculum as the district? 

Regardless of where a district holds 4K or who is providing it, all 4K programs must meet 
the state requirements for subject area content and the district’s curriculum expectations.  

The WMELS were developed as a tool to guide the creation and implementation of a 
developmentally appropriate environment for children. The WMELS provides a unifying 
approach for community settings implementing 4K in community approaches. More 
information on WMELS can be found at 
http://ec.dpi.wi.gov/sites/default/files/imce/fscp/pdf/ec-wmels-rev2013.pdf.  
 

COMMUNITY APPROACHES – PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT 

74. Is the district required to provide the same professional development to Head Start 
and/or child care teachers as to district teachers? 

Unless the teacher is a district employee, there are no requirements that professional 
development be provided to Head Start or child care teachers. However, providing high-
quality professional development opportunities for 4K teachers in all settings will improve 
the quality experiences for children.  

75. How is Wisconsin helping child care providers obtaining bachelor’s degrees? 

Well-trained and well-paid staff are key to providing quality early childhood care, and 
Wisconsin offers assistance to promote training and retention of child care workers. Since its 
creation in 1999, TEACH (Teacher Education and Compensation Helps) Early Childhood 
Wisconsin has awarded more than 6,000 scholarships to assist child care workers to enroll in 
higher education courses while they are working. Eighty-four percent of TEACH recipients 
serve low-income children whose parents receive a Wisconsin Shares subsidy. According to 
a recent evaluation, TEACH recipients received wage increases averaging 7.1% per year; 
more than double the 3.3% wage increase other child care workers received. More 
information on TEACH can be found at http://wisconsinearlychildhood.org/programs/teach/.  

76. How is Wisconsin helping Head Start and other nonpublic school teachers achieve their 
bachelor’s degrees and teacher licenses? 

Nonpublic school programs need information and support for their licensed teachers and 
administrators. Therefore, to help nonpublic school teachers achieve a bachelor’s degree 

http://ec.dpi.wi.gov/sites/default/files/imce/fscp/pdf/ec-wmels-rev2013.pdf
http://wisconsinearlychildhood.org/programs/teach/
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and/or teacher license, the DPI has worked hand-in-hand with the University of Wisconsin 
System and the Wisconsin Technical College System to promote articulation from between 
the two systems. Through these efforts and faculty mini-grants, several technical colleges are 
in partnerships with Wisconsin's four-year degree-granting colleges and universities to assist 
early childhood educators with associate degrees obtaining bachelor’s degrees. 

77. How is Wisconsin helping Head Start and other nonpublic school teachers maintain 
their teacher licenses? 

To help nonpublic school teachers maintain their licenses, the DPI provides a variety of 
resources. Online resources may be found at:  

http://tepdl.dpi.wi.gov/sites/default/files/imce/tepdl/pdf/pdpinitialeducatortoolkit.pdf and 
http://tepdl.dpi.wi.gov/resources/initial-educators.  

This dialogue will assist educators as they navigate the PDP goal-writing process. DPI 
requires all goal approval and PDP verification processes be done online via one of our 
statewide providers. For more information, please check with the QEI or WECAN-PDP 
(https://myqei.org/ or http://services.education.wisc.edu/pdp/).  
 

COMMUNITY APPROACHES – COMPLYING WITH CHILD CARE LICENSING 

78. What is the difference between a child care center and a preschool? 

There is no difference between a child care center and a preschool or nursery school when it 
comes to child care licensing. Because preschools typically operate for 2 ½ to 3 ½ hours per 
session, some of the licensing rules do not apply. Some rules that may not apply are those 
related to serving meals, providing naps, programming for the beginning and end of the day, 
and those rules related to the care of infants and toddlers and school-age children unless the 
program serves children of these ages. 

79. Do child care programs operated by public schools need to be licensed? 

No. Under Wis. Stats. § 48.65, public or private schools are exempt from licensure. Child 
care programs operated by public schools are, however, required to meet the child care 
licensing rules established by the DCFS under Wis. Stats. § 120.13(14), which says in part 
that a school board may establish and provide or contract for the provision of child care 
programs. Child care programs established under this law shall meet the standards for 
licensed child care centers established by DCFS. 

80. Do child care programs operated by private schools need to be licensed? 

No. Private schools do not need to be licensed to operate a child care center except as it 
applies to Wisconsin Shares Child Care Subsidy payments which are described in the next 
section. A private school is an institution that has been determined to be a private school by 
the state superintendent under Wis. Stats. § 118.167. Parochial schools and private schools 
have the same definition per the DCF and the DPI. 

http://tepdl.dpi.wi.gov/sites/default/files/imce/tepdl/pdf/pdpinitialeducatortoolkit.pdf
http://tepdl.dpi.wi.gov/resources/initial-educators
https://myqei.org/
http://services.education.wisc.edu/pdp/
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81. Do collaborative 4K programs that are located in a public school building and operated 
jointly with a public school and a child care or Head Start program need to be licensed? 

If the public school is assuming the responsibility for the collaborative program, the program 
does not need to be licensed. If responsibility for the collaborative program is shared by the 
community approach partners, the child care or Head Start program must be licensed. A 
contract or interagency agreement that has been signed by all of the parties in the 
collaborative will be used to determine who has responsibility for the collaborative program 
(see question #57). A license may be issued to the collaborative or to the child care or Head 
Start program.  

Once a license is issued to a collaborative program, the program is subject to routine 
monitoring visits by a DCF licensing specialist. These visits will focus on compliance with 
licensing rules. The agency that holds the license is responsible for maintaining compliance 
with the licensing rules.  

82. Do collaborative 4K programs that are operated jointly with a private school and a 
child care or Head Start program need to be licensed? 

If the private school is assuming the responsibility for the collaborative program (and the 
private school does not wish to receive child care subsidy reimbursement), the program does 
not need to be licensed. If responsibility for the collaborative program is shared by the 
community approach partners, or the private school wishes to be eligible to receive child care 
subsidy payments, the program must be licensed. A contract or interagency agreement signed 
by all the parties in the collaborative will be used to determine who has responsibility for the 
collaborative program. A license may be issued to the collaborative or to the private school, 
child care, or Head Start program.  

Once a license is issued to a collaborative program, the program is subject to routine 
monitoring visits by a DCF licensing specialist. These visits will focus on compliance with 
licensing rules. The agency that holds the license is responsible for maintaining compliance 
with the licensing rules. 

An ECSE program can only provide services through an IEP to children in licensed or 
regulated child care programs. If the private school is not licensed, the school would provide 
special education through an Individualized Service Plan. More information can be found at 
http://sped.dpi.wi.gov/sites/default/files/imce/sped/pdf/bul10-03.pdf. 

83. How do the child care licensing rules apply when a collaborative 4K program, operated 
by a public school and a licensed child care or Head Start program, is located in a 
licensed child care or Head Start setting? 

The licensed center must meet the applicable child care licensing rules. If there is a public 
school employee present (i.e., working as a teacher in the collaborative program), the public 
school is responsible for maintaining staff information including background checks. 
Supervision of the public school employee and program planning responsibilities must be 
addressed in the collaborative or interagency agreement. 

http://sped.dpi.wi.gov/sites/default/files/imce/sped/pdf/bul10-03.pdf
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Once a license is issued to a program in a collaborative, the program is subject to routine 
monitoring visits by a DCF licensing specialist. These visits will focus on compliance with 
licensing rules. 

84. How do the child care licensing rules apply when a public school rents space in the 
public school to a child care program? 

The child care center is licensed under the child care licensing rules. 

85. How do the child care licensing rules apply when a collaborative 4K program operates 
in a public school building with a child care or Head Start program? 

The child care or Head Start program must be licensed unless the school district assumes 
responsibility for the complete program. The child care or Head Start program must meet the 
licensing requirements. Caregiver background checks must be completed on all staff of the 
licensed child care or Head Start program. School district personnel who may be involved in 
the collaborative program must meet the background check requirements of the school 
district. Each agency is responsible for maintaining records of the staff and children for their 
program. Other responsibilities should be defined in an interagency agreement. 

Once a license is issued to a collaborative program, the program is subject to routine 
monitoring visits by a DCF licensing specialist. These visits will focus on compliance with 
licensing rules. The agency that holds the license is responsible for maintaining compliance 
with the licensing rules. The licensing specialist will refer to the collaborative or interagency 
agreement to determine who has responsibility for maintaining child and staff records. Items 
addressed in the licensing rules and not specifically designated as the school’s responsibility 
in the collaborative or interagency agreement will be monitored for compliance with the 
licensing rules. 

86. Who monitors for compliance with the child care licensing rules and what happens if a 
licensing violation is noted? 

The DCF Bureau of Early Care Regulation is responsible for monitoring licensed child care 
centers for compliance with the licensing rules. Licensing specialists will review interagency 
agreements to determine which partner in a collaborative is responsible for items covered by 
the child care licensing rules. 

Licensed programs receive regular monitoring visits by a DCF licensing specialist. During a 
monitoring visit, the licensing specialist may observe the program, check health and safety 
requirements, and review child and staff files and other documents related to licensing rules. 
Violations will be noted on a statement of non-compliance issued to the licensee. Licensees 
are responsible for filing a plan of correction for all violations and ensuring that violations 
have been corrected. 
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87. Can fees be charged by a child care program if child care children are enrolled in a 
collaborative with a school district? 

Yes. While child care is primarily funded by parent fees, 4K is part of the public system and 
is provided at no cost to families. Therefore, any child attending the community approach 
classroom only for the 4K hours of a day may not be charged tuition for the 4K program. 
However, child care programs typically determine that a 5 or 6 hour day is considered full-
day and anything less is considered part-day. For example, in a program that does not charge 
by the hour, if the child participates in 4K for 2 ½ hours and is attending the child care 
program for an additional 6 ½ hours, the cost for child care is not reduced because the child 
is still in care for more than 6 hours. 

88. Can child care programs access Wisconsin Shares Child Care Subsidy Program dollars 
when they are offering collaborative 4K for children enrolled in the child care program 
and Wisconsin Shares eligible children are participating in this programming? 

Yes. Wisconsin Shares Child Care Subsidy policy supports the authorization of the hours of 
care needed while a child is in a regulated child care setting. When a child care setting 
additionally offers collaborative programming for Head Start or 4K programs, the full 
amount of hours should be authorized—up to the total amount of hours of care needed while 
the parent is in an approved activity. The parent is responsible for paying for any costs when 
the child is in care while the parent is not in an approved activity. 

89. Will full-day Wisconsin Shares authorizations be made if the child is in care only part 
of the day? 

No. Wisconsin Shares Child Care Subsidy authorizations only cover care for the amount of 
hours needed for the parent to remain in their approved activity. Full-time hours will be 
authorized only when the parent needs full-time care in order to be in an approved activity. 
Authorizations are made for the specific amount of combined hours of care needed. 

90. Can Wisconsin Shares be accessed if the child is only enrolled in a Head Start program 
or a 4K program operated by a public or private school? 

No. Wisconsin Shares Child Care Subsidy cannot be authorized for Head Start or 4K hours 
that are not part of a community approaches program and do not offer regulated child care 
services. 

91. If a Head Start or public school program offers “wrap-around” services to provide care 
to children outside of Head Start or 4K program hours, can Wisconsin Shares be used? 

Yes. Wisconsin Shares Child Care Subsidy can be authorized for the hours the child attends 
the “wrap-around” child care program. 

92. Are private school child care programs eligible to receive reimbursement from the 
Wisconsin Shares Child Care Subsidy program? 

Private school child care programs are not eligible to receive subsidies from the Wisconsin 
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Shares Child Care Subsidy program unless the child care program is licensed by the DCF or, 
if the program cares for 3 or fewer children under age 7, certified by the county in which the 
care is provided. 

93. How do the child care licensing rules apply related to children’s records?  

A child care center must have all required information on children enrolled in the child care 
program. This includes enrollment information, immunization records, health examination 
reports, and other information required under the licensing rules. The DCF licensing 
specialist will monitor a center’s compliance with children’s records. 

When children attend a 4K collaborative program located at a child care center and those 
children are not enrolled in the child care program (attend for 4K services only), the child 
enrollment information, immunization records, and health exam reports are maintained by 
the school district. The DCF licensing specialist will not monitor the children’s records for 
those children who attend the collaborative program for 4K purposes only.  

94. How do the child care licensing rules apply when a child attends a community approach 
4K program for more than four consecutive hours a day and under the licensing rules is 
required to have a nap or rest time?  

The Licensing Rules for Group Child Care Centers (DCF 251) require that all children under 
age 5 who are in care for more than 4 hours have a nap or rest period. The licensing rules 
also require that children who have a nap or rest period be provided with a cot, sleeping bag, 
or 2” thick mat to use. Children are not required to sleep or even lie down during the nap or 
rest period, and if the child does not sleep, should be permitted to get up after 30 minutes. A 
rest period could consist of a quiet time of at least 30 minutes spent looking at books or 
otherwise playing quietly while on the cot, sleeping bag, or 2” thick mat. This rest time could 
happen either before or after lunch between the 4K portion and the child care portion of the 
child’s day. 
 

CHARTER SCHOOLS, HOMESCHOOLING, AND 4K 

95. Can a charter school serve 4-year-olds? 

Yes. Charter schools serve elementary and secondary students. Elementary students include 
4-year-old kindergarteners. It is important to note that the federal charter program makes an 
important distinction related to Wisconsin’s 4K and charter status. If 4K is a stand-alone 
grade level (not part of a wider grade level charter school), it is highly likely the U.S. 
Department of Education would determine it is not a charter school. Therefore, it would not 
be eligible for federal charter school funding. This applies to virtual charter schools if the 
district has a policy allowing virtual schools and the charter school itself includes 4 as the age 
of admission. 

96. Does the charter school need be to be located in a district building?  

No. The facilities used for charter schools are determined locally and must follow all 
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building and safety codes. There are school districts that have formed partnerships with local 
child care centers to provide 4K programming. Charter schools using the community 
approaches mentioned in this bulletin must be aware that charter school law must be 
followed (Wis. Stats. § 118.40). 

97. Must the employees of the charter school be employees of the school district? 

No. Based on the charter school law [Wis. Stats. § 118.40(7)], the school board of the school 
district in which a charter school is located shall determine whether or not the charter school 
is an instrumentality of the school district. If the school board determines that the charter 
school is an instrumentality of the school district, the school board shall employ all personnel 
for the charter school. If the school board determines that the charter school is not an 
instrumentality of the school district, the school board may not employ any personnel for the 
charter school. There is no provision in charter law to allow for a "blended" employment 
status, the charter school is either an instrumentality or a non-instrumentality of the school 
district  

The decision of a school board to enter into a charter school contract (including the decision 
to make the charter school an instrumentality of the district) should be reviewed in the 
context of other contractual obligations, including collective bargaining agreements. 

98. Does homeschool apply to 4k? 

Under Wisconsin law, enrollment in a home-based private educational program is a 
substitute for attendance at a public or private school under the compulsory school 
attendance law, which begins at age six. Since children under age six are not subject to the 
compulsory school attendance law, it is not possible to enroll a child in a homeschool 
program for four- or five-year-old kindergarten. If a child will not reach age six on or before 
September 1, it is not necessary to submit form PI-1206 to enroll him/her in a homeschool 
program for that school year. 

 
USE OF RESTRAINTS AND SECLUSION 
 
99. Do the laws on restraints and seclusion apply to 4K and child care? 
 

Yes, seclusion and restraint laws apply to 4K and child care. 2011 Wis. Act 125 addresses 
the use of seclusion and physical restraint in public schools. The Act applies to both regular 
and special education students and prohibits the use of seclusion or physical restraint except 
when certain conditions apply. Seclusion and/or physical restraint may be used only when a 
student’s behavior presents a clear, present, and imminent risk to the physical safety of the 
student or others, and it is the least restrictive intervention feasible. Certain maneuvers and 
techniques are prohibited, and mechanical or chemical restraints may not be used. Seclusion 
rooms may not have locks, and rooms must be free of any objects or fixtures that may injure 
the student. If it is reasonably anticipated that restraint or seclusion may be used with a 
student with disability, it must be included in the student’s IEP. The IEP must also include 
positive interventions, supports, and other strategies based on a functional behavioral 
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assessment. Other requirements include parental notification and documentation and training 
on safe use of physical restraint, including ways to deescalate behavior and non-prohibited 
actions. For more information go to: http://sped.dpi.wi.gov/sped_sbseclusion and/or 
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/2011/related/acts/125. 

 
Child care licensing rules DCF 251.07 (2)(e)3 do not allow a child to be restrained or secluded 
including binding or tying to restrict movement or enclosing in a confined space such as a 
closet, locked room, box, or similar cubicle. The DCF commentary manuals provide further 
explanation for the rules including what is not included in the definition of physical restraint, 
occasional exceptions for a child with an IEP, responsibility to protect the child and others 
from harm, expectation that the center will work with the parents, and recommendation that 
the parent be referred to the child’s physician, Birth to 3 agency, or public school for an 
evaluation and assistance in developing a plan for the future. The group child care 
commentary can be found at: 
http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/childcare/licensed/CommManuals/GCC/251_07.pdf. 
 

http://sped.dpi.wi.gov/sped_sbseclusion
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/2011/related/acts/125
http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/childcare/licensed/CommManuals/GCC/251_07.pdf

