2025-26 New Schools Training June 2024

PRIVATE SCHOOL
CHOICE PROGRAMS
2025-26 NEW
SCHOOLS TRAINING

Hello. Welcome to the Private School Choice Programs 2025-
2026 new schools training. This training is for schools
interested in joining the Private School Choice Program for
the 2025-26 school year that meet the definition of a “new
private school.”
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ACRONYMS

PSCP: Private School Choice Programs

MPCP: Milwaukee Parental Choice Program

RPCP: Racine Parental Choice Program

WPCP: Wisconsin Parental Choice Program

Some of the acronyms that are used for the Private School
Choice Program are PSCP: Private School Choice Programs,
MPCP: Milwaukee Parental Choice Program, RPCP: the Racine
Parental Choice Program, and the WPCP: the Wisconsin
Parental Choice Program.
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Choice Statutes & Rules

* The Choice program is governed by Wis. Stat.§ 119.23 and
118.60, as well as Wis. Admin. Codes Pl 35 and 48.

* This training is based on the above statues and administrative

rules. Provisions of this training module are subject to statutory
and rule changes.

The Choice program is governed by Wisconsin State Statute
119.23 and 118.60, as well as Wisconsin Administrative
Codes, PI 35 and 48. This training is based on the above
statutes and administrative rules. Provisions of this training
module are subject to statutory and rule changes.
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Items Covered in this Presentation

* Describe how to get started in the Choice programs

* Describe the statutory basis for the Choice programs
and share specific statutes you can reference in the

future
» Explain basic reporting requirements

* Explain where to go for help

During this presentation, we’ll share information about how
to get started in the Choice programs. We will also describe
the statutory basis for the programs and specific statutes you
can reference for the future, explain basic reporting
requirements, and explain where to go for help.
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Private Schools in Wisconsin

To be a private school in Wisconsin, a school must meet the criteria in Wis. Stat.s. 118.165(1).
provide private or religious-based education
be privately controlled
provide at least 875 hours of instruction each school year

provide a sequentially progressive curriculum of fundamental instruction in reading,
language arts, mathematics, social studies, science and health

not be operated or instituted for the purpose of avoiding or circumventing the compulsory
school attendance requirement unders. 118.15 (1) (a) and (am)

have pupils return annually to the homes of their parents or guardians for not less than 2

months of summer vacation, or the institution is licensed as a child welfare agency under s.

48.60 (1).

To be a private school in the state of Wisconsin, a school
must meet the criteria in Wis. Stat. s. 118.165(1). This
criteria includes the items below.
e provide private or religious-based education
* be privately controlled
* provide at least 875 hours of instruction each school
year
* provide a sequentially progressive curriculum of
fundamental instruction in reading, language arts,
mathematics, social studies, science and health
* not be operated or instituted for the purpose of
avoiding or circumventing the compulsory school
attendance requirement unders. 118.15 (1) (a) and



https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/118.165(1)
http://docs.legis.wi.gov/document/statutes/118.15(1)(a)
http://docs.legis.wi.gov/document/statutes/118.15(1)(am)
http://docs.legis.wi.gov/document/statutes/48.60(1)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/118.165(1)
http://docs.legis.wi.gov/document/statutes/118.15(1)(a)
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(am)

have pupils return annually to the homes of their
parents or guardians for not less than 2 months of
summer vacation, or the institution is licensed as a
child welfare agency unders. 48.60 (1).


http://docs.legis.wi.gov/document/statutes/118.15(1)(am)
http://docs.legis.wi.gov/document/statutes/48.60(1)
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PSCP Statutes and Administrative Code

« The MPCP is governed by Wis. Stat. 119.23 and
Wisconsin Administrative Code Pl 35

« The WPCP and RPCP are governed by Wis. Stat.
118.60 and Wisconsin Administrative Code Pl 48

* Schools may apply to participate in one or more of the

Choice programs.

The MPCP is governed by Wis. Stat. 119.23 and Wisconsin
Administrative Code Pl 35. The WPCP and RPCP are governed
by Wis. Stat. 118.60 and Wisconsin Administrative Code Pl 48

Schools may apply to participate in one or more of the Choice
programs.
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Milwaukee Parental Choice Program
(MPCP)

» Students must be residents of the City of Milwaukee
to be eligible for the MPCP.

Students must be residents of the City of Milwaukee to be
eligible for the Milwaukee Parental Choice Program.
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Racine Parental Choice Program (RPCP)

« Students must reside in the Racine Unified School

District to be eligible for the RPCP.

Students must reside in the Racine Unified School District to
be eligible for the Racine Parental Choice Program.
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Wisconsin Parental Choice Program

(WPCP)

» Students must reside in the State of Wisconsin but

not in the City of Milwaukee or in the Racine Unified
School District to be eligible for the WPCP.

* Inthe 2025-26 school year, enrolilment in WPCP is
limited by state law to the school district’s

participation limit for the 2025-26 school year.

Students must reside in the State of Wisconsin but not in the
City of Milwaukee or in the Racine Unified School District to
be eligible for the Wisconsin Parental Choice Program. In the
2025-26 school year, enroliment in WPCP is limited by state
law to the school district’s participation limit for the 2025-26
school year.
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“New Private School”

There are additional requirements for schools considered to be “new private
schools.”

Wis. Stat.s. 119.23(1)(ai)1. and 118.60(1)(bn)1 notes that, except as provided in
subd. 2., "new private school" means a school that qualifies as a private school
under s. 115.001 (3r) and that satisfies either of the following:

» The school has been in continuous operation in this state for less than 12

consecutive months.

The school provides education to fewer than 40 pupils divided into 2 or fewer

grades.

There are additional requirements for schools considered to
be “new private schools.”
Wis. Stat. s. 119.23(1)(ai)1. and 118.60(1)(bn)1 notes that,
except as provided in subd. 2., "new private school" means a
school that qualifies as a private school unders. 115.001 (3r)
and that satisfies either of the following:
* The school has been in continuous operation in this
state for less than 12 consecutive months.
* The school provides education to fewer than 40
pupils divided into 2 or fewer grades.

10


http://docs.legis.wi.gov/document/statutes/119.23(1)(ai)1.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/118.60(1)(bn)1.
http://docs.legis.wi.gov/document/statutes/115.001(3r)
http://docs.legis.wi.gov/document/statutes/119.23(1)(ai)1.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/118.60(1)(bn)1.
http://docs.legis.wi.gov/document/statutes/115.001(3r)

2025-26 New Schools Training June 2024

“New Private School”

Under Wis. Stat. s. 119.23(1)(ai)2. and_118.60(1)(bn)2., a school is not considered
a new private school if it is operated/managed by a governing body which
operates/manages a private school that is already participating in the Choice

programs if:

» No payment has been withheld from any private school operated or managed by

the governing body in the 3 immediately preceding school years.
AND

* No order, barring any private school operator managed by the governing body
from participating in the program under this section has been issued in three

immediately preceding school years.

Under Wis. Stat. s. 119.23(1)(ai)2. and 118.60(1)(bn)2., a
school is not considered a new private school if it is operated
or managed by a governing body which operates or manages
a private school that is already participating in the Choice
programs if:

* No payment has been withheld from any private school
operated or managed by the governing body in the 3
immediately preceding school years.

AND

* No order, barring any private school operator managed
by the governing body from participating in the
program under this section has been issued in three
immediately preceding school years.
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https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/119.23(1)(ai)2.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/118.60(1)(bn)2.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/119.23(1)(ai)2.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/118.60(1)(bn)2.
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Summary of 2025-26 Program

Requirements for “New Private Schools”

Notice of Intent to Participate August 1,2024 Electronic Form
Nonrefundable Auditor Fee ($275) August 1,2024 Electronic Payment or Mail
and, if mailed, the Form Fee may be in the form of a cashier’s check or paid

online. Form must accompany a cashier’s check.

Disclosure of Information Form & August 1,2024 Email

Attachments Signatures from board members required

Budget & Cash Flow Report, including all August 1, 2024 Kiteworks

required attachments Follow the directions on the Excel form. The report
and all required attachments must be submitted
using Kiteworks.

Copy of the school’s academic standards August 1,2024 Email

Preaccreditation December 15,2024 Email

Letter from organization confirming that the school is
preaccredited

June 2024

A summary of some of the initial requirements for new
private schools that want to participate in the Choice
programs 2025-2026 school year, are as follows.

* First, a notice of intent to participate due August 1st,
2024, which is an electronic document that needs to be
submitted.

* An auditor fee of $275 and the form are due August 1%,
2024. It is either an electronic payment or mailed. The fee
may be in the form of the cashier's check or pay it online.
If paying with the cashier's check, auditor fee paper form
must accompany the check. DPI strongly encourages that
schools use the Online Payment Form.

12
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e The Disclosure of information form and attachments are
due August 1st, 2024. This is submitted via email and
requires signatures from board members.

* The Budget and Cash Flow Report and the required
attachments are due August 1st, 2024. The later trainings
will describe the Budget & Cash Flow Report in detail. The
report and all required attachments must be uploaded to
Kiteworks.

* A copy of the school’s academic standards (not curriculum)
required under Wis. Stat. 88 118.60(6p)(b) and 119.23
(6p)(b).

* Pre accreditation is due December 15th, 2024. It is an
emailed letter from the organization confirming that the
school is pre accredited.

12
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August 1, 2024 Deadline

By August 1, “New private schools” must provide DPI with:

A Notice of Intent to Participate and agreement to comply with procedural requirements including the mailing address
of the school. If the school does not already have a location, the Notice of Intent to Participate must identify the
address as TBD.

A complete Budget & Cash Flow Report and related attachments that meet the requirements described in later
trainings.

The nonrefundable fee of $275 in the form of a cashier’s check or paid online.

Provide information related to the school’s policies and governing board (including addresses and signatures of all
board members); also known as the Disclosures of Information.

A copy of the school’s academic standards (not curriculum) required under Wis. Stat. §§8 118.60(6p)(b) and 119.23
(6p)(b).

By August 1, “New private schools” must provide DPI with:

A Notice of Intent to Participate and agreement to
comply with procedural requirements including the
mailing address of the school. If the school does not
already have a location, the Notice of Intent to
Participate must identify the address as TBD.

A complete Budget & Cash Flow Report and related
attachments that meet the requirements described in
later trainings.

The nonrefundable fee of $275 in the form of a cashier’s
check or paid online.

Provide information related to the school’s policies and

13
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governing board (including addresses and signatures of all
board members); also known as the Disclosures of
Information.

A copy of the school’s academic standards (not
curriculum) required under Wis. Stat. 8§ 118.60(6p)(b)
and 119.23 (6p)(b).

13
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December Deadlines

» New schools intending to participate in the PSCP in the 2025-26 school
year must obtain preaccreditation by a preaccrediting entity as defined
in Wis. Stat. §8 118.60(1)(cm) or 119.23(1)(ap) by December 15, 20243.
By December 15, 2024, the school must ensure the letter from the
preaccrediting entity, which indicates the school is preaccredited, is
emailed to privateschoolchoice@dpi.wi.gov.

» By December 31, 2024, the DPI must notify whether the “new private
school” has satisfied the initial requirements to participate in the

Choice program.

New schools intending to participate in the PSCP in the 2025-
26 school year must obtain preaccreditation by a
preaccrediting entity as defined in Wis. Stat. 88 118.60(1)(cm)
or 119.23(1)(ap) by December 15, 2024. By December 15,
2024, the school must ensure the letter from the
preaccrediting entity, which indicates the school is
preaccredited, is emailed to privateschoolchoice@dpi.wi.gov.

By December 31, 2024, the DPI must notify whether the

“new private school” has satisfied the initial requirements to
participate in the Choice program.

14
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Notice of New School’s Intent to Participate
2025-26 School Year

due to DPI by August 1, 2024

Electronic form will be posted to DPI’s website.
Follow the directions on the form. Complete the formin its entirety.

Required Information on the form includes:

School Information (including mailing address).

Choice Administrator’s name, degree information or DPI license and contact information
Choice administrator must provide electronic signature.

Form must be submitted electronically. Form includes certification by the Choice
administrator that he/she agrees to comply with program requirements.

Print or save a digital copy for your records.

There are no exceptions to the August 1 due date.

The school must fill out a notice of the school's intent to
participate by August 1st of 2024. The electronic form
will be posted to DPI’'s website. Follow the directions on
the form and complete the form in its entirety.

Required information on the form includes school
information, including the school's mailing address,
choice administrators name, degree information, or DPI
license and contact information.

Choice administrator must provide an electronic
signature.

The form must be submitted electronically. The form
includes certification by the choice administrator that he
or she agrees to comply with program requirements.

15
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You may print or save a digital copy for your records.
There are no exceptions to this August 1st due date.

15
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Disqualified Person

A disqualified person may not be an owner, officer, director, trustee, administrator, administrator’s designee or a
person responsible for administrative, financial or pupil health and safety matters, whether compensated or not, at a
Choice school participating in the program or programs the person is disqualified from.

A "Disqualified person" is a person who, when a private school was barred or terminated from participationin a
Choice program, either:

119.23(1)(ag)lor 118.60(1)(ag)1 Had a controlling ownership interest in, or was the administrator or an officer,
director, or trustee of, the private school.

119.23(1)(ag)2 or 118.60(1)(ag)2 Was a person designated by the administrator of the private school to assist in

processing pupil applications.

119.23(1)(ag)3 or 118.60(1)(ag)3 Was responsible for an action or circumstance that led to the private school
being barred or terminated from participation in the program under this section.

Disqualified persons are listed on our web page at:
https://dpi.wi.gov/parental-education-options/choice-programs/school-information

A disqualified person may not be an owner, officer, director,
trustee, administrator, administrator’s designee or a person
responsible for administrative, financial or pupil health and
safety matters, whether compensated or not, at a Choice
school participating in the program or programs the person is
disqualified from.

A "Disqualified person" is a person who, when a private
school was barred or terminated from participationin a
Choice program, either:

e 119.23(1)(ag)lor 118.60(1)(ag)1 Had a controlling
ownership interest in, or was the administrator or an
officer, director, or trustee of, the private school.

 119.23(1)(ag)2 or 118.60(1)(ag)2 Was a person

16
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designated by the administrator of the private school
to assist in processing pupil applications.

e 119.23(1)(ag)3 or 118.60(1)(ag)3 Was responsible for
an action or circumstance that led to the private school
being barred or terminated from participation in the
program under this section.

* Disqualified persons are listed on our web page at:

https://dpi.wi.gov/parental-education-
options/choice-programs/school-information

16


https://dpi.wi.gov/parental-education-options/choice-programs/school-information
https://dpi.wi.gov/parental-education-options/choice-programs/school-information

2025-26 New Schools Training June 2024

Auditor Fee and Form

* DueAugust 1, 2024
» $275 nonrefundable fee

* Amount may be more or less for the 2025-26 school year,
depending on a recalculation.

* If more money is due, the school will be notified and payment will be due by

January 10, 2025.
» |Ifthe feeis less than $275, the difference will be refunded to you by the DPI.

The auditor fee and form is due August 1st, 2024. It is $275
and is non-refundable. The amount may be more or less for
the 2025-2026 school year depending the Department’s later
calculation. If more money is due, the school will be notified
and the additional payment will be due by January 10th,
2025. If the fee is less than $275, the difference will be
refunded to you by the Department of Public Instruction.

17
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Disclosure of Information

* DueAugust 1,2024

* Two Part Requirement

e Part 1 - DPI Disclosure of Information Form, which includes

Board member signatures

A checklist for the statutorily required policies and information
* Part 2 - Statutorily Required School Policies and
Information

The disclosure of information is due August 1st, 2024. There
is a two part requirement. Part One is the form which
includes board member signatures and a checklist for the
statutorily required policies and information.

Part 2 is those statutorily required policies and information.

18
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Disclosure of Information

June 2024

* Complete school
name, street address

* Complete school
administrator name
and phone number

* Choice administrator
must sign and date

Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction N
DISCLOSURE OF INFORMATION Py
PRIVATE SCHOOL CHOICE PROGRAMS

\ (PSCP) PI-PCP-55 (Rev. 06-22)

Required by Wis. Stals. §§118.60 and 119.23

I. GENERAL INFORMATION

School Name School Year

Street Address. City State | ZIP

Il. DISCLOSURE OF INFORMATION / SIGNATURES

Private schoels participating the Private School Choice Programs (PSCF) must submit the information required under Wis. Stats. §§118.60(6m) and
(6p) or 119.23(6m) and (6p) related to the school's policies, procedures, academic standards and governing board fo the department using this form

The school 15 0 Sign the fom indicating the information contained in and attached to this form is correct.

Name of Choice Administrator Type or Print Phone Area/No.
‘Signature of Ghoice Administrator == Date Signed Mo./Day/Yr.
-

lll. GOVERNING BOARD STATEMENTS / SIGNATURES

Choose one

[Z] e schoot's goveming board members are listed below. ANl current members of the school's governing board must sign beiow, verfying they are
members of the board. (If you need more spaces for signatures use another Disclosure of Information Form and fill out section 1, If, ane i)

["] The school is for profit and not governed by a board; therefore, no governing board signed statements are included

I CERTIFY AND ACKNOWLEDGE, BY SIGNING THIS FORM | will rport any changes in my contact information to DPI, and if the private school is
barred or terminated from the program, | may be prohibited from having an ownership interest in or serving as an officer, director, trusiee,

designee, or person for financial, or pupil health and safety matters, for compensation o as a
volunteer, at anather private school participating in the choice program, for Seven years from the date of the state superintendent's order barring or
terminating the private school from the program

You complete the school name, street address, school
administrator name, phone number, and the Choice
administrator must sign and date on the form.

19
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Disclosure of Information

June 2024

* Choose the school’s structure: governed
by a board (not-for-profit) or not

governed by a board (for profit).

» Signatures required of all governing
board members.

*  Members must provide a mailing address
that is not the school’s address.

» Address is used for legal notification, if

required.

i, GOVERNING BOARD STATEMENTS / SIGNATURES

Choose one

[ ] The schoal's goveming board members are lsted below, A1l current members of ihe school’s governing board must sign below, veritying ihey are
members of the board. (if you need mare spaces for signatures use another Disciosure of Information Form and fill out section |, fl, and i,y

[ The school is for profit and not govemed by a board; therefore, no governing board signed statements are included.

1 CERTIFY AND ACKNOWLEDGE, BY SIGNING THIS FORM | will ;[5port any changes in my contact information to DFI, and If the private School 15

barred of lerminaled from the program, | may be prohibiled ffom having an ownership interest in or serving as an officer, difector, ustee,

AAMINSTrator, 3AMINISUAtor designee, of PErson 1Esponsibie 1or AAMINIANIVE, INANCial, of PUp health 3nd Safsty MAtErs, 1o COMPENSaton of as 4

volunteer, at another private 5chool PAmticipating in the choice program, for seven years from the date of the state supenintendent's order barring or

ferminating the private school from the program

Scnool Goveming Boara Member Name

School Geverning Board Member Signature Date Signed Mo./Day/¥r.
—

Goveming Board Member Address Other Than Schoal Address Street, City, Zip

‘School Governing Board Member Name 'School Governing Board Member Signature Date Signed Mo./Day/ Y.
-

»

Governing Board Member Address Other Than Schoal Address Street, Cily, Zip

Schaol Governing Board Member Name School Governing Board Member Signature Date Signed Mo /Day¥r

Goveming Board Member Address Other Than Schoal Address Street, City, Zip

'School Governing Board Member Name Sch

Governing Board Member Signature Date Signed Mo./Day/Yr

»

Governing Board Member Address Other Than Schoal Address Street, Cily, ZIp

School Governing Board Member Name School Geverning Board Member Signaturs

Data Signed Mo./Day/Yr.

Goveming Board Member Address Other Than Schoal Address Street, City, Zip

‘School Governing Board Member Name School Governing Board Member Signature

Date Signed Mo./Day/¥r
e

Governing Board Member Address Other Than Schoel Address Street, City, Zip

Choose a school structure: if the school is governed by a
board or not governed by a board. Original signatures are
required of all governing board members. Members must
provide a mailing address that is not the school's address.
Address is used for legal notification if necessary.

20
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Disclosure of Information

* The Disclosure of Information

must be provided to each Choice

student or parent that applies to

the school.

» Use the checklistin the

Disclosure Form as a guide for

submitting the required policies.

The Disclosure of Information must be provided to each
Choice student or parent that applies to the school. Use the
checklist in the disclosure form as a guide for submitting the
required policies.

21
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Disclosure of Information Part 2

« Statutorily Required School Policies and

Information
» The following slides list the required policies
and information that must be submitted as part

of the Disclosure of Information due August 1

Disclosure of information includes statutorily required school
policies and information. The following slides lists the
required policies and information that must be submitted as
part of the disclosure of information due August 1st.

22



2025-26 New Schools Training June 2024

Required Information - Contact Info

* School name

* Address

» Telephone number of the school

* Name of one or more contact persons at the school

* Thelist of the members of the school’s governing body and of
the school’s shareholders

The list of board members must match the list that is included on the Disclosure of
Information form.

Required Information: contact information, school name,
address, telephone number, name of one or more contact
persons at the school, the list of the members of the school's
governing body and or of the school shareholders, the list of
board members much match the list that is included in the
disclosure of information form.

23
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Required Information - Organization

Status

+ Statement whether or not the private school is operating as a for
profit or not for profit
» The school must specifically state if the organization is a for or not for profit

* A copy of the school’s 501(c)(3) certificate issued by the IRS, if
the school is a nonprofit organization

« If the school is a not for profit and does not yet have a 501(c)(3)
the school must apply for one through the IRS and check the
appropriate box on the Disclosure of Information form.

The school must indicate its organizational status and state if
the organization is a for profit or not for profit.

A copy of the school's 501C3 certificate issued by the IRS is
required if the school is a nonprofit organization. If the school
does not yet have a 501C3, the school must apply for one
through the IRS and check the appropriate box on the
Disclosure of Information form.

24



2025-26 New Schools Training June 2024

Required Policies - Application Appeals

Process

» Schools may only reject a Choice application if the application does not
meet program requirements.

* Schools must conduct a random selection for MPCP and RPCP applications,
if applicable, prior to the next open application period, within 60 days after
the end of the application period, or prior to the next count date, whichever
comes first. Therefore, there is a limited time for appeals.

* Schools participating in the WPCP must provide final verification prior to
the first weekday in May. Therefore, WPCP schools will need to receive
appeals soon after receiving documentation.

Application appeals process: Schools may only reject a choice
application if the application does not meet program
requirements. Schools must conduct a random selection, if
applicable, prior to the next open application period within
60 days after the end of the open application period or prior
to the next count date, whichever comes first. Therefore,
there is a limited time for appeals.

Schools participating in the Wisconsin Parental Choice
program must provide final verification prior to the first
weekday in May. Therefore, WPCP schools will need to
receive appeals soon after receiving documentation.

25
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Required Policies - High School Diploma

» If your school grants high school diplomas, the criteria must include:

The pupil’s academic performance
Recommendations of teachers
Successful completion of the civics test

* Choice Students may opt out of religious instruction, as such
religious courses. These courses cannot be a requirement for
graduation or grade promotion. The policy must indicate what
courses the student could take in place of required religious
instruction.

High school diploma: If your school grants high school
diplomas, the criteria must include the pupil's academic
performance, recommendations of teachers, and successful
completion of the civics test. Choice students may opt out of
religious instruction. These courses cannot be a requirement
for graduation or grade promotion. The policy must indicate
what courses the student could take in place of required
religious instruction.
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Required Policies - Non-Harassment

Policy

» The school’s non-harassment policy (not the school’s

employee non-harassment policy)
* The policy must include:

*  Towhom and what format the harassment should be reported, i.e. verbal

and/or written

* Procedures for obtaining relief from harassment, including potential

disciplinary actions and who will enforce these actions

The school must submit its non harassment policy. Please
note the school should not submit its employee non
harassment policy. The policy must include to whom and
what format the harassment should be reported i.e. verbal or
written, and procedures for obtaining relief from the

harassment, including potential disciplinary actions, and who
will enforce these actions.
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Required Policies - Suspension and

Expulsion and Appeal Procedures

» Suspension and expulsion policies and procedures must include:
Types of conduct that will result in a suspension or expulsion
Notice provided to parents
» Appeal for a suspension or expulsion must include:
Time frame for appeals
To whom the appeal should be submitted
Format of the appeal: written or verbal

When and by whom the decision of the appeal will be made, and how the decision
will be communicated to the parent

The school must submit its suspension and expulsion policies.

Suspension and expulsion policies and procedures must
include:

* Types of conduct that will result in a suspension or
expulsion

* Notice provided to parents

Appeal for a suspension or expulsion must include:

* Time frame for appeals

 To whom the appeal should be submitted

* Format of the appeal: written or verbal

 When and by whom the decision of the appeal will be
made, and how the decision will be communicated to

June 2024
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the parent
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Required Policies - Transfer of Credits

* Transfer of Credits policy is required of all schools, not just
high schools.

* School must explain how it will evaluate coursework and
accept or deny the coursework or credits earned at
another school.

» Cannot be used to determine whether a student receives a
seat or not.

The school must submit its transfer of credits policy. This is
required of all schools, not just high schools. A school must
explain how it will evaluate coursework and accept or deny
the coursework or credits earned at another school. This
can’t be used to determine whether a student receives a
Choice seat or not.
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Required Policies - Visitor Policy

* Policy governing visitors to the school:
» Check-in procedure, if any
» Limits on visitors or time for visiting, if any

* Identification requirements, if any

The school must submit its visitor policy. This should include
its check-in procedure, any limits on visitors or time for

visiting, if any, and identification requirements, if any.
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* The slides that follow contain information

outside of the Disclosure of Information

and have due dates listed.

Other requirements that are for schools that are new to the
choice program for the 2025-2026 school year. The slides
that follow contain information outside of the disclosure of
information and have due dates listed.
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Academic Standards

Due Aug 1,2024
Academic standards specify what students should know and be able to do in the classroom. They serve as goals and
outcomes for teaching and learning. Academic standards are not curriculum, material used in the classroom, or a
program description. The school must provide the academic standards for grade levels in ALL of the following specific
subjects to DPI:
Mathematics
Science
Reading and Writing
Geography
History
One of the following must be submitted with the Disclosure of Information:
A statement that the school has adopted the pupil academic standards issued by the governor as Executive Order
No. 326, dated January 13, 1998;
Aweb link for the school’s academic standards; or

A notice that parents may request academic standards and where they can access the academic standards (i.e.,

school office, school library, etc.).

A copy of the school’s academic standards are due August 1st
of 2024.

Academic standards specify what students should know and
be able to do in the classroom. They serve as goals and
outcomes for teaching and learning. Academic standards are
not curriculum, material used in the classroom, or program
description. The school must provide the academic standards
for grade levels in all the following specific subjects to DPI:
mathematics, science, reading and writing, geography, and
history.

One of the following must be submitted, possibly with the
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disclosure of information:

a statement that the school has adopted the pupil
Academic standards issued by the governor as Executive
Order number 326, dated January 13th, 1998;

A web link for the school's academic standards;OR

a notice that parents may request academic standards and
where they can access the academic standards, i.e. school
office, school library, et cetera.

June 2024
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Preaccreditation

¢ “Preaccreditation” means the review and approval of an

education plan. Review of an education plan includes
consideration of whether the school submitting the plan
meets the requirements unders. 118.165(1). The fact that
a private school has obtained preaccreditation does not
require an accrediting entity to accredit the private
school. (Wis. Stats. 119.23(1)(am) and 118.60(1)(c))

Pre accreditation means the review and approval of an
education plan. Review of an education plan includes
consideration of whether the school submitting the plan
meets the requirements under section 118.165 (1). The fact
that a private school has obtained pre accreditation does not
require an accrediting entity to accredit the private school.
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Preaccreditation

* “New schools” must obtain preaccreditation from a

preaccrediting entity as defined in Wis. Stat. §§
118.60(1)(cm) or 119.23(1)(ap) .

* Notice from preaccrediting entity must be forwarded
to DPI no later than December 15, 2024.

New schools must obtain pre accreditation from a pre
accrediting entity as defined in Wis. Stat. §§ 118.60(1)(cm) or
119.23(1)(ap) . Notice from pre accrediting entity must be
forwarded to the DPI no later than December 15th 2024. The
school is responsible for ensuring that this is submitted to
DPI.
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Preaccreditation Agencies

June 2024

Institute for the Transformation of Learning at Marquette University (No longer preaccrediting schools);
Wisconsin North Central Association;

Wisconsin Religious and Independent Schools Accreditation;

Independent Schools Association of the Central States;

Wisconsin Evangelical Lutheran Synod School Accreditation;

National Lutheran School Accreditation;

Wisconsin Assn of Christian Schools;

Christian Schools International;

Association of Christian Schools International; or

The diocese or archdiocese within which a private school is located

Pre accreditation agencies are as follows:

The Institute for Transformative Learning at Marquette
University is no longer pre accrediting schools.
Wisconsin North Central Association

Wisconsin Religious and Independent Schools
Accreditation

Independent Schools Association of the Central States
Wisconsin Evangelical Lutheran Synod School
Accreditation

National Lutheran School Accreditation

Wisconsin Association of Christian Schools

Christian Schools International

Association of Christian Schools International
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* the diocese, or archdiocese within which a private school
is located.

35



2025-26 New Schools Training June 2024

Pl 1207 Report

« Every private school in Wisconsin annually submits to the DPI aPI-
1207 report, due by October 15.

» School will attest to its compliance with Wis. Stats. 118.165(1) and
report its enrollment as of the third Friday in September.

* Schools that submit a Pl -1207 will have their information posted in the
Private School Directory.

Every private school in Wisconsin annually submits to the DPI
a PI-1207 report, due by October 15. School will attest to its
compliance with Wis. Stats. 118.165(1) and report its
enrollment as of the third Friday in September. Schools that
submit a PI -1207 will have their information posted in the
Private School Directory.
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General Requirements

June 2024

Health and Safety

CPR & Health Instruction

IEQ

Tuition and Fees

Religious Activities

Staff Credentials

Testing

Student Information System
Hours of Instruction

Standards and Promotion Policies
Act 20

Required Meetings

Some general requirements for private schools participating
in the choice program are health and safety, CPR and health
Instruction, IEQ, tuition and fees, religious activities, staff
credentials, testing, student information systems, hours of
instruction, standards and promotion policies, Act 20, and

required meetings,
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Health and Safety Requirements

* Schools must comply with all health and safety laws and
codes that apply to public schools.

*  Wis.Stat. 119.23(2)(a)5 and 118.60(2)(a)5

* Schools must also:

* Meet program insurance coverage requirements. See the insurance and

Fidelity Bond Bulletin on the Choice Program website for more information.

Schools must comply with all health and safety laws and
codes that apply to public schools. Schools must also meet
program insurance coverage requirements. See the insurance
and Fidelity Bond Bulletin on the Choice Program website for
more information.
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Certificate of Occupancy

* Choice schools must provide, for all buildings if the school is
participating in the MPCP and for any buildings located in the
Racine Unified School District for WPCP and RPCP schools:

i A certificate of occupancy from the municipality within which the private school is
located; or

ii. A certificate of occupancy from a local or regional unit who has the authority to issue
certificates of occupancy; or

iii.  If the municipality and/or regional unit does not issue certificates of occupancy, then
submit a letter from the municipality within which the school is located explaining that
the municipality does not issue certificates of occupancy.

Choice schools must provide, for all buildings if the school is
participating in the MPCP and for any buildings located in the
Racine Unified School District for WPCP and RPCP schools:
i. A certificate of occupancy from the municipality
within which the private school is located; or
ii. A certificate of occupancy from a local or regional
unit who has the authority to issue certificates of
occupancy; or
iii. If the municipality and/or regional unit does not issue
certificates of occupancy, then submit a letter from
the municipality within which the school is located
explaining that the municipality does not issue
certificates of occupancy.
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CPR Requirement

» Wis. Stat.§ 118.076(3) requires private schools offering any
grade from 7 to 12 to:

o Offer CPRinstruction; and

* Provideinstruction about defibrillators.

Please see https://dpi.wi.gov/sspw/health-education for additional
information.

CPR requirement: Wisconsin State statute 118.076 (3)
requires private schools offering any grade from 7 to 12 to
offer CPR instruction and provide instruction about
defibrillators. Please see the DPI's website for additional
information.
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Health Instruction

* Provide instruction in cardiopulmonary resuscitation and cardiocerebral
resuscitation and incorporate the psychomotor skills necessary to perform
resuscitation, in any health course, grades 7-12.

» Instructional program developed by the American Red Cross or the
American Heart Association; or nationally recognized evidence-based
guidelines.

* Provide instruction about automated external defibrillators to pupils
grades 7-12.

Health instruction: provide instructions in cardiopulmonary
resuscitation and cardiorcerebral resuscitation, and
incorporate the psychomotor skills necessary to perform
resuscitation, in any health course grades seven through 12.
Instructional program developed by the American Red Cross
or the American Heart Association or nationally recognized
evidence-based guidelines are required. The school must
provide instruction about automated external defibrillators
to pupils grades seven through 12.
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Indoor Environmental Quality Plan (IEQ)

s  Wis. Stats.§8 119.23(7)(g) and 118.60(7)(g) requires Choice schools
to provide for the development of a plan for maintaining IEQ in the
private school by October 1 of thefirst school year the school
participates in the Choice program and implementation of the plan
by the beginning of the second school year the school participates in
the Choice program.

» Please see https:/dpi.wi.gov/sfs/support/school-operations/facilities/indoor-

environmental-quality-plan_for additional information.

Wis. Stats.§§ 119.23(7)(g) and 118.60(7)(g) requires Choice
schools to provide for the development of a plan for
maintaining IEQ in the private school by October 1 of the first
school year the school participates in the Choice program and
implementation of the plan by the beginning of the second
school year the school participates in the Choice program.
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* Aprivate school participating in the program may charge or
receive additional tuition payments for a pupil participating
in the Choice programs if:

* Thestudentisingrades 9-12, AND

* The student’s family income is more than 220% of the federal poverty
level.

* Choice students in grades K-8 may not be charged tuition.

A private school participating in the program may charge or
receive additional tuition payments for a pupil participating in
the Choice programs if:
. The student is in grades 9-12, AND
. The student’s family income is more than 220% of
the federal poverty level.

Choice students in grades K-8 may not be charged tuition.
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« Aschool may charge Choice students, regardless of their income, fees to recover

the cost of the following items:

Personal use items, such as uniforms, gym clothes, and towels

Social and extracurricular activities if not necessary to the private school's curriculum
Musical instruments

Meals consumed by pupils of the private school

High school classes that are not required for graduation and for which no credits toward
graduation are given

Transportation

Before-school and after-school childcare

Room and board at the private school

Fees: a school may charge choice students, regardless of their
income, fees to recover the costs of the following items:
Personal use items such as uniforms, gym clothes and towels,
social and extracurricular activities if not necessary to the
private schools curriculum, musical instruments, meals
consumed by the pupils of the private school, high school
classes that are not required for graduation and for which no
credits toward graduation are given, transportation, before
and after school childcare, room and board at the private
school.
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Religious Activities

* Choice parents may opt the student out of religious
activities, including religious instruction. Many schools
may have religious instruction as part of their
requirements for grade promotion or graduating from high
school. The school’s policy must indicate what courses
would replace any religious instruction if a parent opts his

or her student out of religious activities.

Choice parents may opt out of religious activities, including
religious instruction. Many schools may have religious
instruction as part of their requirements for grade promotion
or graduating from high school. The school's policy must
indicate what courses will replace any religious instruction if
a parent opts his or her student out of religious activities.
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Staff Credentials

All administrators must have at least a bachelor’s degree from an accredited institution of
higher education or a teaching license or administrator’s license issued by the DPI.

To verify whether an institution is accredited, check the U.S. Dept of Education database
at http://ope.ed.gov/accreditation/

All teachers must have at least a bachelor's degree from an accredited institution of higher
education or a teaching license issued by the DPI.

All teacher aides must have at least graduated from high school or been granted a GED or

HSED, or have been granted a high school diploma by the administrator of a home-based
private education program.

All administrators must have at least a bachelor’s degree from
an accredited institution of higher education or a teaching
license or administrator’s license issued by the DPI.
* To verify whether an institution is accredited, check
the U.S. Dept of Education database at
http://ope.ed.gov/accreditation/

All teachers must have at least a bachelor's degree from an
accredited institution of higher education or a teaching
license issued by the DPI.

All teacher aides must have at least graduated from high
school or been granted a GED or HSED, or have been granted
a high school diploma by the administrator of a home-based
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private education program.
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Criminal Background Checks

Background checks must be conducted for all individuals defined as employees under
Wis. Stat. § 108.02 (12) who are directly or indirectly related to the school’s educational
programming. Individuals who perform services for a school may be considered
employees regardless of whether the individuals are paid directly by the school.

In order to determine which individuals require a background check, the school should
begin by generating a list of all individuals who perform services for their legal entity. The
school must conduct a background check for any individual on the list who is an
employee of the legal entity and directly or indirectly related to the school’s educational
programming.

More information on the Background Check requirement can be found on our website
https://dpi.wi.gov/parental-education-options/choice-programs/bulletins

Background checks must be conducted for all individuals
defined as employees under Wis. Stat. § 108.02 (12) who are
directly or indirectly related to the school’s educational
programming. Individuals who perform services for a school
may be considered employees regardless of whether the
individuals are paid directly by the school.

In order to determine which individuals require a background
check, the school should begin by generating a list of all
individuals who perform services for their legal entity. The
school must conduct a background check for any individual
on the list who is an employee of the legal entity and directly
or indirectly related to the school’s educational programming.
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Student Testing

e All schools must annually administer the required state assessments.

» The assessment requirement is waived for any school that
participates in one of the Choice programs if the school has fewer
than 20 students in grades 3-12.

* Aschool may administer additional tests.

* DPI contact for testing questions:

Duane Dorn
Office of Educational Accountability
WI Department of Public Instruction

duane.dorn@dpi.wi.gov
608-267-1069

All schools annually administer the required state
assessments. The assessment requirement is waived for any
school that participates in one of the choice programs if the
school has fewer than 20 students in grades three through
12.

The school may administer additional tests. A DPI contact for
testing questions is Duane Dorn with the Office of
Educational Accountability.

48


mailto:duane.dorn@dpi.wi.gov

2025-26 New Schools Training June 2024

Student Information System

* 2013 Wisconsin Act 256 requires private schools participating
in Choice programs to have a commercially-available student
information system (SIS) capable of exchanging data
(interoperating) with the state data system.

* Schools must submit secure, student-level assessment,
attendance, graduation and demographic data.

» SIS systems with the ability to exchange data with DPI can be
found on the WISEdata website.

2013 Wisconsin Act 256 requires private schools participating
in choice programs to have a commercially available student
information system capable of exchanging data with the
state data system. Schools must submit secure student level
assessment, attendance, graduation, and demographic data.
A SIS with the ability to exchange data with DPI can be found
on the WiseData website.
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Hours of Instruction

* Schools in the Choice program must annually provide at least
1,050 hours of direct pupil instruction to grades 1-6 and at least
1,137 hours of direct pupil instruction to grades 7-12.

* Hoursinclude recess and transfer time but do not include the

lunch periods.

* See Training 3-1 on the Choice Programs: On Demand Training

webpage.

Schools in the Choice program must annually provide at least
1050 hours of direct pupil instruction to grades one through 6
and at least 1137 hours of direct pupil instruction to grades 7
through 12. Kindergarten hours should match that of first
grade. 437 hours must be provided for K4. Hours include
recess and transfer time, but do not include lunch periods.
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Promotion Policies

* The governing body of each school must adopt a written
policy specifying criteria for:
Granting a high school diploma;
Promoting a student from 4th to 5t grade; and
Promoting a student from 8th to 9th grade.
» Additional information related to Act 20 is on the

following slide.

The governing body of each school must adopt a written
policy specifying criteria for granting a high school diploma,
promoting a student from 4th to 5th grade, and promoting a
student from 8th to 9th grade.
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Act 20 Requirements

Choice schools may not purchase curricula or instructional materials that include three-cueing or MSV. Beginning in the 2024-

25 school year, schools participating in the Choice programs are prohibited from providing early literacy instruction in grades
4K through 3 that include the instructional model known as three-cueing. Find further clarification of this requirement above.

By July 1, 2025, schools participating in the Choice programs are required to implement a policy for promoting students from
3rd to 4th grade that includes performance on the English Language Arts assessment, which includes reading (see bullet
below),required reading interventions for all tested students not at grade level in third grade and promoted (see Wis. Stat. s.
118.33(5m)(a)1. for additional information about interventions), and a "good cause exception” similar to the exceptions listed in
Wis. Stat. s. 118.33(5m)(b). Beginning on September 1, 2027, a Choice school may not promote a 3rd grade pupil to the 4th
grade unless the pupil satisfies the criteria for promotion specified in the policy.

As a reminder, the English Language Arts assessment must be administered to Choice students and to non-choice students
when a Choice school opts in to an All Students Report Card.

In addition to the requirements, Act 20 provides for some supports to schools that Choice schools are eligible for. Choice
schools will be eligible to apply for the partial curriculum reimbursement grants if they adopt an early literacy curriculum from
the recommended list (found on DPI’s Wisconsin Reads site), and at least two Choice schools will receive a statewide early

literacy coach.

See the Act 20 FAQ webpage for additional information.

* Choice schools may not purchase curricula or instructional
materials that include three-cueing or MSV. Beginning in
the 2024-25 school year, schools participating in the Choice
programs are prohibited from providing early literacy
instruction in grades 4K through 3 that include the
instructional model known as three-cueing. Find further
clarification of this requirement above

* By July 1, 2025, schools participating in the Choice
programs are required to implement a policy for promoting
students from 3rd to 4t grade that includes performance
on the English Language Arts assessment, which includes
reading (see bullet below),required reading interventions
for all tested students not at grade level in third grade
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(see Wis. Stat. s. 118.33(5m)(a)1. for additional
information about interventions), and a "good cause
exception” similar to the exceptions listed in Wis. Stat. s.
118.33(5m)(b). Beginning on September 1, 2027, a Choice
school may not promote a 3rd grade pupil to the 4th grade
unless the pupil satisfies the criteria for promotion specified
in the policy.

* As a reminder, the English Language Arts assessment must
be administered to Choice students and to non-choice
students when a Choice school opts in to an All Students
Report Card.

* In addition to the requirements, Act 20 provides some
supports to schools that Choice schools are eligible for.
Choice schools will be eligible to apply for the partial
curriculum reimbursement grants if they adopt an early
literacy curriculum from the recommended list (found on
DPI’s Wisconsin Reads site), and at least two Choice schools
will receive a statewide early literacy coach.

* See the Act 20 FAQ webpage for additional information.
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Required Meetings

* Schools are required to:

* Annually schedule two meetings at which the
governing body will be present and parents and
students can attend.

* Notify parents in writing at least 30 days prior to the
meetings of the dates, times, and places.

Schools are required to annually schedule 2 meetings at
which the governing body will be present, and parents and
students can attend.

Schools must notify parents in writing at least 30 days prior
to the meetings of the dates, times, and places.
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Additional Requirements

* Schools are required to:

* Comply with federal provisions prohibiting
discrimination based on race, color or national
origin.

* Complete and file the required forms on a timely

basis.

Schools are required to comply with federal provisions
prohibiting discrimination based on race, color or national
origin.

They must also complete and file the required forms on a
timely basis.
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Additional Information

« Atraining will be offered in the Fall of 2024 (not required).

* Additional new school registration materials required by
January 10, 2025.

* Must meet all financial reporting requirements of the

Choice program auditors.

A training will be offered in the fall of 2024, but is not
required. Additional new school registration materials are
required by January 10th, 2025. The school must meet all
financial reporting requirements of the Choice program
auditors.
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Resources on the Internet

* Wisconsin Private School Choice Program:

https://dpi.wi.gov/parental-education-options/choice-programs

» Wisconsin School Nutrition: https://dpi.wi.gov/school-nutrition

* Pupil Transportation: https://dpi.wi.gov/sfs/support/school-

operations/pupil-transportation/overview

* Private School Information: https://dpi.wi.gov/parental-

education-options/private-schools

There are more resources that can be found on the Internet
related to the Choice programs, school nutrition, pupil
transportation, and private school information.
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DPI Contact Information

School Administration Consultants contact info:

« 1-888-245-2732ext. 3 or
» privateschoolchoice@dpi.wi.gov

To contact the DPI and the consultants that work with the
Choice programs, you can call 1-888-245-2732, ext. 3 or email
privateschoolchoice@dpi.wi.gov.
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