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Early Admission for Kindergarten and 

First-Grade Students 
 

A school may accept students of any age the school intends to instruct.  However, only those students 

who meet the statutory definition of “pupils enrolled” may be included on the school’s membership 

report and be considered eligible to receive MPCP state aid payments.  Under the Wisconsin 

Administrative Code provisions governing the MPCP, state aid payments are based on a school’s 

membership reports, which include the number of MPCP pupils enrolled in the school on certain count 

dates.  Wisconsin Administrative Code PI 35.02(8) defines pupils enrolled by cross-reference to its 

public school usage.  

 

The statutory definition of “pupils enrolled” under sec. 121.004(7), Wis. Stats., provides, with one 

exception for public school boards of common or union high school districts, that only students who 

meet the age requirements of sec. 118.14, Wis. Stats., may be counted as pupils enrolled in the school.  

Under sec. 118.14, Wis. Stats., no student may be admitted to kindergarten or first grade unless the 

student is four, five, or six years of age on or before September 1 in the year he or she wishes to enter 

school.  Specifically, sec. 118.14, Wis. Stats., states: 

 

(1) Except as provided in s. 120.12 (25): 

 

(a)  No child may be admitted to a 4-year-old kindergarten unless he or she is 4 years old 

on or before September 1 in the year that he or she proposes to enter school. 

 

(b)  No child may be admitted to a 5-year-old kindergarten unless he or she is 5 years old 

on or before September 1 in the year he or she proposes to enter school. 

  

(c)  No child may be admitted to the 1st grade unless he or she is 6 years old on or before 

September 1 in the year he or she proposes to enter school. 

 

The exception to this age requirement, found under sec. 120.12(25), Wis. Stats., allows a public school 

board of a common or union high school district to admit and receive state aid for students younger 

than the above-referenced ages if the public school board prescribes procedures, conditions, and 

standards for early admission to kindergarten and first grade.   

 

Because the exception to the age requirement is limited to procedures prescribed by certain public 

school boards, the exception does not apply to private schools participating in the MPCP.   
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Therefore, schools participating in the MPCP may not receive state aid payments unless students are four 

years of age for four-year-old kindergarten, five years of age for five-year-old kindergarten, or six years 

of age for first grade on or before September 1 in the year he or she wishes to enter school.   

 

Some MPCP schools may have prescribed and utilized procedures for early admission for the current 

school year.  If early admission procedures have been prescribed and forwarded to DPI with the school’s 

2000-01 Intent to Participate form, DPI will allow that school to count students admitted under the early 

admission procedures for the 2000-01 school year only.  However, unless the legislature modifies 

Wisconsin statutes to specifically allow private schools participating in the MPCP to prescribe early 

admission procedures, schools will not receive future MPCP state aid payments for students that do not 

meet the above-referenced age requirements.   The DPI intends to raise the question of whether the use 

of early admission procedures should be extended to schools participating in the MPCP in a letter being 

prepared for the Governor and Legislature on various MPCP issues.  A copy of this letter will be sent to 

participating MPCP schools upon completion. 

  

In summary, only those MPCP schools that submitted an early admission procedure with their school’s 

2000-01 Intent to Participate form may be eligible to receive MPCP state aid during the 2000-01 school 

year for students who were born after September 1 in the year the students entered school.  
 


