
Speech and Language Pathologists – Licensing Under PI 34

Applicable Tier I Licenses

1-Year License with Stipulations
• Applicant must hold a valid WI DSPS license and a master’s degree. 
• Renewable for up to three school years per federal law for special 

education teachers.
• Authorizes the holder to provide speech and language services as 

part of a student’s individualized education plan.

* SLPs may also pursue a Short-Term Substitute Teacher License, which authorizes the holder to substitute 
teach for a teacher’s absence that will not exceed 45 days, or a Special Education Aide License

https://dpi.wi.gov/tepdl/elo/substitute-emergency/lws-oneyear-slp
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/pi/34/V/032
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Provisional

A first-time Provisional License requires all of the following: 

1. Master’s degree.

2. Completion of a PI 34.040 pathway to licensure (WI DPI approved program or comparable out 
of state program) 

OR 

Satisfaction of the requirement under PI 34.047 (4) (licensed by DSPS and meets statutory 
requirements). 

Provisional Licenses are also issued to:

License holders who have not  obtained 6 semesters of successful experience with a provisional 
license issued by DPI                                          OR

Licensees at provisional, lifetime, or master tiers who return to the profession after an absence 
of 5 or more years.

Questions about licensing should be addressed to the Wisconsin Department of 
Public Instruction’s Teacher Education, Professional Development, and Licensing 
Team at https://dpi.wi.gov/support/contact-educator-licensing.  

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/pi/34/V/040
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/pi/34/VI/047/4
https://dpi.wi.gov/support/contact-educator-licensing
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Initial eligibility requires all of the following:

1. Completion of six semesters of experience in 
the area of the provisional license in Wisconsin.

2. Completion of any license stipulations, if 
applicable.

Questions about licensing should be addressed to the Wisconsin Department of Public 
Instruction’s Teacher Education, Professional Development, and Licensing Team at 
https://dpi.wi.gov/support/contact-educator-licensing.  

https://dpi.wi.gov/support/contact-educator-licensing
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Master

Initial eligibility requires all of the following:

1. Hold a valid Tier III-Lifetime License.

2. Have at least 5 years of teaching experience 
at the Tier III-Lifetime License level.

3. Completion of the Wisconsin Master 
Educator Assessment process.

Questions about licensing should be addressed to the Wisconsin Department of Public 
Instruction’s Teacher Education, Professional Development, and Licensing Team at 
https://dpi.wi.gov/support/contact-educator-licensing.  

https://dpi.wi.gov/support/contact-educator-licensing

