WI Early Literacy Curriculum Council (ELCC)

Thursday, January 4, 2023 | 4:00-6:00 PM

MINUTES

Virtual Meeting: Zoom Meeting Recording Link

Call to Order - Vice Chairperson Amy McGovern called the meeting to order at approximately 4:00 pm.

Attendance - Quorum was present.

Council Members:

Present: Amy McGovern (Vice Chairperson), Katie Kasubaski (Secretary), Megan Dixon, Nancy Dressel, Kari Flitz, Itzel Galindo, Joe Garza, Bill Hughes, and Holly Prast

Department of Instruction Staff: Laura Adams and Tari Raatz

Approval of the Agenda -Vice Chairperson

<u>Motion:</u> Joe Garza motioned to approve the agenda. Holly Prast seconded the motion. **The motion was carried unanimously 7-0.** (Megan Dixon and Kari Flitz were not present for this vote.)

Approval of Minutes - Vice Chairperson

Itzel Galindo motioned to approve the minutes for the December 21, 2023 meetings as presented. Holly Prast seconded the motion. **The motion was carried unanimously 7-0.** (Megan Dixon and Kari Flitz were not present for this vote.)

DPI Updates - Laura Adams

More instructional materials have been uploaded to the Sharepoint site. Other vendors and publishers have contacted DPI, and they plan to submit materials by the January 15, 2024 deadline.

The application has been posted for the Director of the Wisconsin Reading Center. It is on the DPI Wisconsin Reads webpage (scroll down on the main page). DPI will also publish a news release announcing the position and will let ELCC members know about the release. There is not currently a deadline, but applicants should submit as soon as they are able. The WI DPI will update the website with salary information. The WI DPI is willing to work with someone who already has a contract in a school setting and is hopeful to conduct interviews in February.

Early Literacy Curricula and Instructional Materials for 2024 - Chairperson Elect

Kari Flitz Joined at 4:15pm.

The google form for ELCC member submission has been updated to clarify wording. Members discussed current members as well as which categories need to be discussed based on a final rating of no evidence, minimal evidence, sufficient or exemplary, but no decision was made. Currently five vendors have submitted materials. Council members will have completed evaluations for those vendors by January 10, 2024.

Motion: Amy McGovern motioned to make Kari Flitz the council member who will aggregate the data by category on the curriculum rubric. Bill Hughes seconded the motion. **The motion was carried unanimously 9-0.**

Motion: Joe Garza motioned that round one of the rubric submissions by ELCC members be done by January 10, 2024. Kari Flitz seconded the motion. **The motion was carried unanimously 9-0.**

Motion: Joe Garza motioned that round two of the rubric submissions by ELCC members be done by January 22, 2024. Amy McGovern seconded the motion. **The motion was carried unanimously 9-0.**

The WI DPI shared that they have already received proactive open records requests for materials that were rated. Members discussed the suggestion by DPI that the council post one average or aggregate rubric rating for materials to aid school districts in the decision making process. The council discussed presenting the rubric ratings on a graph after the list is provided to the WI DPI.

Members discussed using a specific naming convention to ensure that schools are only reimbursed for materials that were submitted and evaluated by the council. Members discussed the potential reimbursement process for joint submissions with more than one vendor. DPI clarified that any applications which include two vendors must submit receipts from both vendors to be reimbursed. If schools had partial materials from two vendors, they would need to show that they do have the other materials.

Election of 2024 Officers - Vice Chairperson

The election of officers was delayed until approximately 4:30pm after all ELCC members were in attendance. Vice Chair Amy McGovern oversaw the election process.

Chairperson - Holly Prast nominated Amy McGovern as Chairperson. Joe Garza seconded the motion. **The motion was carried unanimously 9-0.**

Vice Chairperson - Amy McGovern nominated Holly Prast. Joe Garza seconded the motion. **The motion was carried unanimously 9-0.**

Secretary - Joe Garza nominated Katie Kasbuaski. Nancy Dressel seconded the motion. **The motion was carried unanimously 9-0.**

Members decided to wait until March to revisit establishing an annual election date for future years and bylaws.

Council Updates - Chairperson Elect

Members discussed vendors presenting at the in-person meeting on Friday, January 12 at the WI DPI and having enough time for council members to review physical materials. Members decided that vendors can come and set up materials, but will not be presenting or interacting with council members because of the limited time to review materials. The WI DPI will send out logistics for the in-person meeting including location, access and reimbursement process. ELCC officers will meet to finalize the agenda for the January 12, 2024 meeting.

Motion: Katie Kasubaski motioned to allow vendors to be at the January 12 meeting, but not to engage with the council members. Joe Garza seconded the motion. **The motion was carried unanimously 9-0.**

Motion: Nancy Dressel motioned to cancel the meeting on January 11, 2024. Bill Hughes seconded the motion. **The motion was carried unanimously 9-0.**

Adjournment - The meeting was adjourned at approximately 5:59 pm.