You are here

Who We Are

Interstate Compact on Educational Opportunity for Military Children

Wisconsin became part of the Interstate Compact on Educational Opportunity for Military Children through legislation that was enacted in 2010. The compact provides for the uniform treatment of military children transferring between school districts and states. The compact was developed by the Council of State Governments’ National Center for Interstate Compacts, the Department of Defense, national associations, federal and state officials, departments of education, school administrators, and military families.

Military families move frequently. While reassignments may be beneficial for military personnel, they can be difficult for children. Most military children attend six to nine different school systems during their PK-12 educational career and will transition more than twice during their high school years. School enrollment, eligibility for programs, placement, and graduating on time can be difficult due to frequent relocations. In addition to adjusting to new cities, bases, and homes, military children also deal with making and losing friends as they frequently change schools. While the military has made great strides to support transitions for personnel and spouses, their children continue to face challenges. Educators and legislators in Wisconsin are working to minimize the negative impact on the education of military children.

In 2010, Shelley Joan Weiss was appointed as the State Commissioner to the Interstate Commission on the Educational Opportunity for Military Children.

Wisconsin Council Members

Shelley Joan Weiss, State Commissioner/Chair
Carolyn Stanford Taylor, Wisconsin State Superintendent
Dave Anderson, Executive Director, Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association
John Blaha, Military Representative
Cameron Campbell, Wisconsin Department of Military Affairs (DMA)
Andrea Donegan, School Counseling Consultant
James Emerson, Staff, Wisconsin State Legislature
John Hendricks, Sparta Chamber of Commerce
Wade Labecki, Deputy Director, Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association
Angie Mattes, President, Wisconsin Parent Teacher Association
Michelle McGrath, Wisconsin Association of School Councils
Ryan Nilsestuen, Chief Legal Counsel
Lynn Sisco, Sun Prairie Area School District Social Worker and Military Spouse
Patrick Testin, State Senator
Rebecca Walley, Wisconsin Military School Liaison Officer
Matt Wimmer, Staff, Wisconsin State Legislature
Cindy Zahrte, Tomah School District Superintendent

For questions about this information, contact Benjamin Jones (608) 266-9332