You are here

RR Donnelley Literary Award Winners

The RR Donnelley Literary Award is made possible by RR Donnelley Company of Chicago, IL through a grant to the WLA Foundation. The Literary Awards Committee of the Readers' Section has chosen The Ghost Mountain Boys: their Epic March and the Terrifying Battle for New Guinea-the Forgotten War of the South Pacific by James Campbell (RCW 928) as the winner of the RR Donnelley Literary Award, given for the highest literary achievement by a Wisconsin author in 2007.

Two authors were chosen for their body of work as Notable Wisconsin Authors. Larry Watson is the author of multiple fiction titles, including White Crosses (RC 47181), Montana 1948 (RC 37940), and Orchard (RCW 557). Also honored is Edward Heth, whose best known works include My Life on Earth (RCW 962) and Wisconsin Country Cookbook and Journal (RCW 931).

These books are available from the Wisconsin Talking Book and Braille Library catalog.

2008 Outstanding Achievement awards for 2007 titles include the following ten titles by Wisconsin authors.

Titles by Wisconsin Authors


Title and Call Number

John Gurda

Cream City Chronicles: Stories of Milwaukee's Past. RCW 371

Douglas Jacobson

Night of Flames: a Novel of World War II. RCW 902

Jesse Lee Kercheval

The Alice Stories. RCW 963

Martha Kimes

Ivy Briefs: True Tales of a Neurotic Law Student. RCW 965

Thomas Maltman

The Night Birds. BRW 273

Gregg Mitman

Breathing Space: How Allergies Shape Our Lives and Landscapes. RCW 964

Benjamin Percy

Refresh, Refresh: Stories. RCW 974

Jeremy Scahill

Blackwater: the Rise of the World's Most Powerful Mercenary Army. RC 64693

Susan Vreeland

Luncheon of the Boating Party. RC 64509

Larry Watson

Sundown, Yellow Moon: a Novel. RCW 961