You are here

ELO Application Directions for Charter School Principal License

DPI is currently receiving a high volume of contacts for assistance.  The three most commonly asked questions and their answers are below:

Help with WAMS IDs

Before you can submit an application to DPI, you must register for a Web Access Management Systems (WAMS) user ID.

How to set up a WAMS account

Already have one or more WAMS accounts?

How to start your WAMS account recovery:

Perform a WAMS account recovery for all emails you have. Enter your email address but do NOT enter your User ID to start your WAMS account recovery. Once in the account recovery process you will be prompted to change your password. After you change your password you will be told in parentheses what your correct User ID is. Please make note of that before you terminate the account recovery session. Once you have recovered all WAMS accounts you have, login to ELO with each of your accounts individually. If you can see your licenses, you are logging in with the correct WAMS account. If you are taken through the Onboarding process again, you are not using the correct WAMS account and should try another account.

If you encounter errors in the WAMS account recovery process, please contact WAMS directly.  DPI is unable to help with WAMS recovery because the system is used by many state agencies and is run by the Department of Administration:

Revalidating Life or Lifetime License

Educators, whose Life or Lifetime license was invalidated in July, have until December 31 to revalidate their license. Upon approval of the $45 Request Background Check - Lifetime Licensee [5900] application, the Lifetime license will be revalidated just as if the educator completed the application before June 30. Educators will have until December 31 to complete this application for their license to be revalidated.

Background Checks

DPI is required by law to conduct a background check on each applicant for a Wisconsin educator license regardless of whether it is an initial request or a renewal request.

All educators are required to complete a background check to maintain or revalidate a life or lifetime license. There are directions for how to complete the $45 Request Background Check - Lifetime Licensee [5900].

To find the year in which your most recent background check was submitted, search License Lookup using your name or entity number and check see the “Last Background Check Submitted” field.

Directions for educators who want to apply for a Charter School Principal license:

 

STEP 1: ​​Create a WAMS (Wisconsin Access Management System) ID if you do not already have one.

  • It is recommended that applicants use a personal email address when creating an ELO account. This email address must be available and accessible by you as it will be the primary communication method from the licensing system.
  • Please follow the instructions on the screen when setting up a WAMS account. There are links to the WAMS Help page and the WAMS FAQ page.  For assistance in setting up WAMS account, contact Help Wisconsin Support
  • Guide to creating a WAMS ID

 

STEP 2: Create a WAMS account if you do not already have one - Onboarding Instructions

 

STEP 3: Determine whether you need to get fingerprinted. 

The following applicants are required to submit fingerprints to the Department of Public Instruction (DPI) when applying for a license:

  • Applicants who have worked, resided, or physically attended classes in any of the locations listed below within the last twenty years (after age 17):
    • U.S. states other than Wisconsin
    • Listed U.S. territories (American Samoa, Guam, Puerto Rico, Commonwealth of Northern Mariana Islands, or Virgin Islands)
    • Canada
    • Great Britain (England, Scotland, or Wales)
  • Applicants, who since their most recent submission of fingerprints to DPI have worked, resided, or physically attended classes in any locations listed above.
  • Applicants who provide an address on their application that is in any of the locations listed above.

If you need to get fingerprinted, see https://dpi.wi.gov/tepdl/licensing/fingerprint for how to complete this.

 

STEP 4: Preview the Conduct and Competency questions you will be answering in ELO

IF there is some type of misconduct that needs to be reported, prepare and attach a written explanation of what happened. You must also provide complete electronic (scanned) copies of documents associated with the matter that can corroborate / illuminate your explanation of the incident. These may include the criminal complaint, judgment of conviction, police reports, disciplinary letters/findings, correspondence, etc., as applicable.  (Note: Court history information printed from the CCAP web site is NOT sufficient.)

 

STEP 5: Prepare Required Documents

Scan the following documents into PDF files that are less than 2 MB in size and save the files so that they are readily available to upload into ELO:

  • Copy of your school principal license or other credential from another state
  • PI-1613 Work Experience form  to confirm at least three years of teaching or pupil services experience at the PK-12 level

 

STEP 6: Have your credit card ready

  • If you do not already have a credit card, purchase a pre-paid credit card at a convenience store.
  • Cash and checks are not accepted.

 

STEP 7: Log into the ELO system - http://elo.wieducatorlicensing.org to apply.

Note: Using ELO on Macintosh OS X or on mobile devices may result in unexpected behavior.

When you get to the Quick Start Menu, the bottom section allows you to start a new application: 

 

Apply Now