You are here

Substitute, One- and Three-Year Licenses with Stipulations, and One-Year Administrator Licenses

DPI is currently receiving a high volume of contacts for assistance.  The three most commonly asked questions and their answers are below:

Help with WAMS IDs

Before you can submit an application to DPI, you must register for a Web Access Management Systems (WAMS) user ID.

How to set up a WAMS account

Already have one or more WAMS accounts?

How to start your WAMS account recovery:

Perform a WAMS account recovery for all emails you have. Enter your email address but do NOT enter your User ID to start your WAMS account recovery. Once in the account recovery process you will be prompted to change your password. After you change your password you will be told in parentheses what your correct User ID is. Please make note of that before you terminate the account recovery session. Once you have recovered all WAMS accounts you have, login to ELO with each of your accounts individually. If you can see your licenses, you are logging in with the correct WAMS account. If you are taken through the Onboarding process again, you are not using the correct WAMS account and should try another account.

If you encounter errors in the WAMS account recovery process, please contact WAMS directly.  DPI is unable to help with WAMS recovery because the system is used by many state agencies and is run by the Department of Administration:

Revalidating Life or Lifetime License

Educators, whose Life or Lifetime license was invalidated in July, have until December 31 to revalidate their license. Upon approval of the $45 Request Background Check - Lifetime Licensee [5900] application, the Lifetime license will be revalidated just as if the educator completed the application before June 30. Educators will have until December 31 to complete this application for their license to be revalidated.

Background Checks

DPI is required by law to conduct a background check on each applicant for a Wisconsin educator license regardless of whether it is an initial request or a renewal request.

All educators are required to complete a background check to maintain or revalidate a life or lifetime license. There are directions for how to complete the $45 Request Background Check - Lifetime Licensee [5900].

To find the year in which your most recent background check was submitted, search License Lookup using your name or entity number and check see the “Last Background Check Submitted” field.

NOTE: If you have a license with statutory stipulations (Minority Group Relations, Conflict Resolution, Environmental Education, etc.) please see the Statutory License Stipulations webpage for information on addressing your stipulations.

NOTE: Some of the applications on this page have two parts to them.  After submitting the first part, wait for an email from the ELO system with directions for completing the second part.  It can take 2-8 weeks to receive this notification.  Payment is made when the second part of the application is submitted.

Five-Year Long-Term Substitute License

(for applicants who hold or are eligible to hold a teacher, administrator, or pupil service license)
Application Type Status
Request for New 5-Year Substitute License via Wisconsin Educator License or Prep Program Go to Request for New 5-Year Substitute License via Wisconsin Educator License or Prep Program
Request for New 5-Year Substitute License via Out-of-State Educator License or Prep Program Go to Request for New 5-Year Substitute License via Out-of-State Educator License or Prep Program
Renewal of an Existing 5-Year Substitute License Go to Renewal of an Existing 5-Year Substitute License
 
Three-Year Short-term Substitute License
(for applicants who hold an associate degree or higher but have not completed an educator preparation program)
Application Type Status
Request for New Short-term Substitute License Go to Request for New Short-term Substitute Permit
 

School Board-requested 1-Year Administrator License

Application Type Status
First-time 1-year Administrator License Go to First-time 1-year Administrator License
Request Second Year 1-Year Administrator License Go to Request Second Year 1-Year Administrator License
 

License with Stipulations

Application Type Status
One-Year License with Stipulations Go to One-Year License with Stipulations
One-Year License with Stipulations for Speech and Language Pathology Go to One-Year License with Stipulations for Speech and Language Pathology
Three-Year License with Stipulations Go to Three-Year License with Stipulations