You are here

Out-of-State edTPA Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

DPI is currently receiving a high volume of contacts for assistance.  The three most commonly asked questions and their answers are below:

Help with WAMS IDs

Before you can submit an application to DPI, you must register for a Web Access Management Systems (WAMS) user ID.

How to set up a WAMS account

Already have one or more WAMS accounts?

How to start your WAMS account recovery:

Perform a WAMS account recovery for all emails you have. Enter your email address but do NOT enter your User ID to start your WAMS account recovery. Once in the account recovery process you will be prompted to change your password. After you change your password you will be told in parentheses what your correct User ID is. Please make note of that before you terminate the account recovery session. Once you have recovered all WAMS accounts you have, login to ELO with each of your accounts individually. If you can see your licenses, you are logging in with the correct WAMS account. If you are taken through the Onboarding process again, you are not using the correct WAMS account and should try another account.

If you encounter errors in the WAMS account recovery process, please contact WAMS directly.  DPI is unable to help with WAMS recovery because the system is used by many state agencies and is run by the Department of Administration:

Revalidating Life or Lifetime License

Educators, whose Life or Lifetime license was invalidated in July, have until December 31 to revalidate their license. Upon approval of the $45 Request Background Check - Lifetime Licensee [5900] application, the Lifetime license will be revalidated just as if the educator completed the application before June 30. Educators will have until December 31 to complete this application for their license to be revalidated.

Background Checks

DPI is required by law to conduct a background check on each applicant for a Wisconsin educator license regardless of whether it is an initial request or a renewal request.

All educators are required to complete a background check to maintain or revalidate a life or lifetime license. There are directions for how to complete the $45 Request Background Check - Lifetime Licensee [5900].

To find the year in which your most recent background check was submitted, search License Lookup using your name or entity number and check see the “Last Background Check Submitted” field.

This webpage is for educators who were prepared by a teacher preparation program headquartered outside of Wisconsin.  For educators who are enrolled in a Wisconsin teacher preparation program, please contact your preparation program for guidance.

1.  What is the edTPA?

The edTPA is a pre-service teacher performance assessment. To complete the edTPA, candidates:

  • choose a learning segment of 3-5 lessons in one class
  • collect artifacts (lesson plans, instructional materials, teaching videos, assessments, and sample student work)
  • write commentaries in response to prompts in the subject-specific edTPA handbook
  • submit their artifacts and commentaries for professional scoring
  • Scorers rate candidate performance in planning, instruction, and assessment using rubrics in the edTPA handbooks.  Candidates are encouraged to visit the edTPA website for detailed information.

2.  Who is required to do the edTPA?

Any teacher who completed their initial teacher preparation program on or after September 1, 2016, with less than one year of teaching experience of at least one-half time employment in a PK-12, private, or charter school (not a tutoring site).

3.  Which edTPA handbook am I required to complete?

If an educator has completed the edTPA as part of the educator preparation program for licensure in another state that handbook is acceptable.  For candidates who have yet to complete the edTPA, refer to the "Handbooks Wisconsin has selected" PDF guide for assistance.  In most cases Wisconsin has selected multiple handbooks for a given license.  Candidates should select a handbook that is appropriate to their field experience or work assignment and the Wisconsin license that they are seeking.

4.  How can I re-submit the edTPA if my score is too low?

The edTPA website provides guidance regarding retakes.  Please see the Retaking edTPA page for more information.

5.  Does Wisconsin DPI accept other states' passing edTPA scores?

If a candidate completed an edTPA for licensure as part of an educator preparation program in another state and received a passing score in that state, Wisconsin will honor the score as passing in Wisconsin. If the other state has not established a threshold for passing, the individual will need to meet the cut score established for Wisconsin.  The cut scores that have been established for Wisconsin are:

  • 38 for edTPA handbooks with 15 rubrics

  • 32 for edTPA handbooks with 13 rubrics

  • 45 for edTPA handbooks with 18 rubrics

6.  Under what circumstances can the edTPA be waived?

An out-of-state applicant with at least one year of out-of-state teaching experience with at least one-half time employment in a PK-12, private, or charter school (not a tutoring site), is not required to post a passing score on the edTPA.  This teaching experience must occur after the educator completed their initial teacher educator preparation program.  If an educator has at least one year of long-term, contracted substitute experience they may attempt to use that experience to waive the edTPA.  Individual circumstances must be reviewed for final determination.  Use the PI-1613 Employment Verification form to show evidence of teaching experience.

7.  Where do I go if I need help with the edTPA?

Please use the Getting Started webpage for assistance in beginning the edTPA.  Educators who are unaffiliated with an educator preparation program may find the Guidance for Candidates Unaffiliated with Educator Preparation Programs useful.

8.  What are the three components of the edTPA?

The three components are planning, instruction, and assessment