You are here

License with Stipulations

DPI is currently receiving a high volume of contacts for assistance.  The three most commonly asked questions and their answers are below:

Help with WAMS IDs

Before you can submit an application to DPI, you must register for a Web Access Management Systems (WAMS) user ID.

How to set up a WAMS account

Already have one or more WAMS accounts?

How to start your WAMS account recovery:

Perform a WAMS account recovery for all emails you have. Enter your email address but do NOT enter your User ID to start your WAMS account recovery. Once in the account recovery process you will be prompted to change your password. After you change your password you will be told in parentheses what your correct User ID is. Please make note of that before you terminate the account recovery session. Once you have recovered all WAMS accounts you have, login to ELO with each of your accounts individually. If you can see your licenses, you are logging in with the correct WAMS account. If you are taken through the Onboarding process again, you are not using the correct WAMS account and should try another account.

If you encounter errors in the WAMS account recovery process, please contact WAMS directly.  DPI is unable to help with WAMS recovery because the system is used by many state agencies and is run by the Department of Administration:

Revalidating Life or Lifetime License

Educators, whose Life or Lifetime license was invalidated in July, have until December 31 to revalidate their license. Upon approval of the $45 Request Background Check - Lifetime Licensee [5900] application, the Lifetime license will be revalidated just as if the educator completed the application before June 30. Educators will have until December 31 to complete this application for their license to be revalidated.

Background Checks

DPI is required by law to conduct a background check on each applicant for a Wisconsin educator license regardless of whether it is an initial request or a renewal request.

All educators are required to complete a background check to maintain or revalidate a life or lifetime license. There are directions for how to complete the $45 Request Background Check - Lifetime Licensee [5900].

To find the year in which your most recent background check was submitted, search License Lookup using your name or entity number and check see the “Last Background Check Submitted” field.

One-Year License with Stipulations

Three-Year District Sponsored License with Stipulations

Tier One Licenses

The One-Year License with Stipulations (LWS1) and the Three-Year District Sponsored License with Stipulations (LWS3) were first made available on 06/17/2017. The LWS1 originally replaced the emergency license and emergency permit, but since August 1, 2018, there are several pathways and criteria that could result in our office issuing a LWS1.

Candidates for One-Year License with Stipulations (LWS1)

The candidates who may be initially eligible for the LWS1 are the:

  1. Out-of-State program: Teachers or pupil services staff prepared in another state who have not met Wisconsin testing requirements OR
  2. WI approved program: Teachers with a bachelor’s degree who have completed all coursework in a WI approved program, but who have not met all WI approved program requirements OR
  3. School district need: Individuals with a bachelor’s degree hired when a district cannot find a fully licensed educator OR
  4. Pupil Services: School counselors, School social workers, School psychologists or School nurses who hold a master’s degree or are enrolled in an approved preparation program that lead to the license for their position OR
  5. Speech and Language Pathologist: Speech and Language Pathologists with a master’s degree who hold a valid license from the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services (DSPS)

Please note: Those hired to serve in an administrative position who have not yet completed an approved administrative licensure program use the 1-Year Board Requested License application instead. See: https://dpi.wi.gov/tepdl/licensing/types/one-year-administrator

Application Process for One-Year License with Stipulations (LWS1)

 

 

Next Steps

  1. Out-of-State program: Pass the required WI tests by August 31 of the year the license expires so the department can consider you for a Provisional License (Tier II).
  2. WI approved program: Finish the requirements of your WI approved program so that your preparation program can endorse you for a license.
  3. School district need: Enroll in an educator preparation program and complete at least 6 semester credits toward your licensure program by August 31 of the year the license expires.
  4. Pupil Services: Enroll in an educator preparation program and complete at least 6 semester credits toward your pupil services licensure program by August 31 of the year the license expires.
  5. Speech and Language Pathologist: Continue to apply for the LWS1 with the valid DSPS license for a maximum of three LWS1’s. To be considered for a Tier II-Provisional License, the speech and language pathologist must either obtain the endorsement from an approved school speech and language pathologist program or meet the requirements under Wis. Chapter PI 34.047(4).

Please note: IDEA requires those hired to serve as special education teachers, including speech and language pathologist, to complete the full requirements for institutional endorsement from a DPI approved educator preparation program within three school years. Our office cannot issue additional Licenses with Stipulations that will allow someone to exceed this limit.

Additional documentation needed for “no progress:”

If, after the first 1-year license expires, the educator is not yet eligible for a Tier II-Provisional License, the educator or district may request renewal of the 1-year license with stipulations and verify that progress toward Tier II-Provisional License was made during the term of the 1-year license with stipulations. Specific information about what progress means for each scenario listed above is provided to these license holders in a letter (e.g. enrolling in an approved program and completed at least six semester credits towards certification or attempts at a test if that is the final remaining requirement of an approved program). If progress is not made, the employing school district can request that an exception be made. The school district must provide a letter (on school district letterhead, signed by the district administrator, in a PDF format) requesting an exception for the current school year and providing a plan that clearly demonstrates the plan of action this educator will take to obtain the requested certification by the end of the new 1-year license term.

 

Candidates for the Three-Year District Sponsored License with Stipulations (LWS3)

To be eligible for the LWS3, a teacher must hold a Provisional (Tier II), Lifetime (Tier III), or Master Educator (Tier IV) license and have at least one year of experience in the requesting district who is assigned to teach grades and/or subjects outside what is authorized under their license. The Three-Year District Sponsored License with Stipulations (LWS3) is nonrenewable.  The district, CESA, or residential school:

  • assigns the teacher to a new subject and/or developmental level
  • provides appropriate professional development and supervision for the teacher to become proficient in the license program content guidelines for the new license area so that the teacher is prepared to submit a portfolio to the department by the end of the term of this license.

Application Process for Three-Year District Sponsored License with Stipulations (LWS3)

An applicant who meets this criteria will follow the directions to apply found Application Directions for Three-Year District Sponsored License with Stipulations.

Next Steps

The Three-Year District Sponsored License with Stipulations (LWS3) is nonrenewable.  By the end of the 3-year License term, the teacher must demonstrate eligibility for a Provisional License (Tier II) or Lifetime License (Tier III) either by endorsement from an approved program or verification of proficiency in a portfolio as confirmed through either an educator preparation program or the department. Responsibilities under the LWS3 district-sponsored pathway include:

TEACHER: Become proficient in the content guidelines for the new license area. Collect artifacts/assessments demonstrating proficiency in the new content guidelines. At the conclusion of three years, submit a portfolio of the evidence to a DPI-approved educator preparation program or the DPI for review.

EDUCATOR PREPARATION PROGRAMS: Partner with districts in their efforts to provide professional development in the content guidelines for the new license area. At the conclusion of three years, review teachers' portfolios to ensure that they are proficient in the content guidelines. If the teacher demonstrates proficiency, endorse the teacher for the new license.

DPI: Provide technical assistance to district that request it. (The DPI does not review nor approve districts' professional development plans in the content guidelines for the new license area.) At the conclusion of three years, review teachers' portfolios to ensure that they are proficient in the new content guidelines. If the teacher demonstrate proficiency, issue the license.