Prior to July 1, 1983, Life licenses were issued to individuals who taught for six full semesters in a Wisconsin school district while holding a three-year educator license. Life licenses of this type are no longer issued (effective July 1, 1983). The 2017 Act 59 created a different Lifetime license. Educators who hold a Life license issued pre-1983 now fall under the new provisions created in the 2017 Act 59. These provisions are described below.
Maintaining a Lifetime License
Wisconsin Administrative Code PI 34 provides that a Lifetime License remains valid if the license holder remains actively employed in the education profession. A Lifetime license will be invalidated if an educator is not actively employed by a school district for five or more consecutive years. The Lifetime license will be invalidated if the educator fails to log into the online system and submit to a background check (and pay a processing fee) once every five years.
Lifetime License Revalidation Requirements
If a Lifetime license has been invalidated, educators are able to reapply for a Provisional license at any time. A Provisional license is a three-year license available to teachers, administrators and pupil service educators. A Provisional license may be issued to educators who completed an approved educator preparation program. This is a full license. There is no limit to the number of Provisional licenses an educator may receive.
You may also apply for a Five-Year Long-Term Substitute License. This license allows you to substitute long-term in the subjects and grade levels on your license. It also allows you to substitute short-term in any other subject and grade level. A substitute position is short-term is the teacher is gone for 45 days or less. A substitute position is long-term is the teacher is gone for more than 45 days.
Educators may use the 3020 application to apply for a Provisional License. This application is for educators who meet one of the following criteria:
- Requesting reissuance of a 3 year Provisional License, since the applicant has not had the opportunity to complete 6 semesters of successful experience, within the past 5 years, required to obtain a Lifetime License; OR
- Requesting reissuance of a 3 year Provisional License, since the applicant has not yet satisfied 1 or more stipulations, required to obtain a Lifetime License; OR
- Requesting a 3 year Provisional License, based on the applicant holding an expired Wisconsin license, and not being eligible to hold a Lifetime License. Check for Lifetime License eligibility on Lifetime Educator License (Post-2017).
To complete the (Re)issue Provisional License Application, follow the Application Directions for (Re)issuance of Provisional License.
Note: If you have had regular employment in a school during the past five years and believe that your Life License has been incorrectly invalidated, please contact us using the button below.