You are here

School Audiology License

DPI is currently receiving a high volume of contacts for assistance.  The three most commonly asked questions and their answers are below:

Help with WAMS IDs

Before you can submit an application to DPI, you must register for a Web Access Management Systems (WAMS) user ID.

How to set up a WAMS account

Already have one or more WAMS accounts?

How to start your WAMS account recovery:

Perform a WAMS account recovery for all emails you have. Enter your email address but do NOT enter your User ID to start your WAMS account recovery. Once in the account recovery process you will be prompted to change your password. After you change your password you will be told in parentheses what your correct User ID is. Please make note of that before you terminate the account recovery session. Once you have recovered all WAMS accounts you have, login to ELO with each of your accounts individually. If you can see your licenses, you are logging in with the correct WAMS account. If you are taken through the Onboarding process again, you are not using the correct WAMS account and should try another account.

If you encounter errors in the WAMS account recovery process, please contact WAMS directly.  DPI is unable to help with WAMS recovery because the system is used by many state agencies and is run by the Department of Administration:

Revalidating Life or Lifetime License

Educators, whose Life or Lifetime license was invalidated in July, have until December 31 to revalidate their license. Upon approval of the $45 Request Background Check - Lifetime Licensee [5900] application, the Lifetime license will be revalidated just as if the educator completed the application before June 30. Educators will have until December 31 to complete this application for their license to be revalidated.

Background Checks

DPI is required by law to conduct a background check on each applicant for a Wisconsin educator license regardless of whether it is an initial request or a renewal request.

All educators are required to complete a background check to maintain or revalidate a life or lifetime license. There are directions for how to complete the $45 Request Background Check - Lifetime Licensee [5900].

To find the year in which your most recent background check was submitted, search License Lookup using your name or entity number and check see the “Last Background Check Submitted” field.

The rewrite of Wisconsin Administrative Code PI 34 has been approved went into effect August 1, 2018. The PI 34 chapter regarding School Audiologist licenses can be found under subchapter 10, Related Services Areas and Other Licenses, PI 34.090.To issue a School Audiologist license for the first time the Department of Public Instruction (DPI) must review the applicant’s application.

School Audiologist License Eligibility Requirements

Eligibility for the School Audiologist license requires an applicant to meet one of the two options below:

  1. The applicant meets all of the following requirements:
    • 50 hours of a supervised practicum providing audiology services in a school setting, or equivalent experience while employed as a school audiologist by a public school, private school, or school district;
    • Possesses either a doctor of audiology degree, or, if earned on or before August 31, 2018, a master’s degree or higher in audiology from an institution accredited by the education standards board of the American speech−language−hearing association;
    • Demonstrates knowledge and understanding of all of the following:
      • The pupil services standards cited under PI 34.004
      • Educational psychology, including principles and theories of learning.
      • Methods and procedures in school audiology programs including the relationship with and content of school pupil services programs. This requirement may be met by prior experience upon the recommendation of the institution.
      • Alternative communication systems including signed language systems, their implications for the social, emotional, and educational development of children, and methods for effective communication with children who use them.
  2. The applicant holds a valid audiologist license issued by the Department of Safety and Professional Services (DSPS).

 

School Audiologist License Renewal Requirements

A School Audiologist license may be renewed if the licensee meets of of the following requirements:

  1. Obtains or maintains a valid license issued by the Department of Safety and Professional Services (DSPS).
  2. Obtains or maintains a certification as an audiologist by the American Speech Language Hearing Association, American Academy of Audiology, or an affiliated credentialing board.

Follow the ELO Application Tips for Renewing Other Licenses for directions on renewing your license..