You are here

WMEAP Reimbursement and Annual Grant

DPI is currently receiving a high volume of contacts for assistance.  The three most commonly asked questions and their answers are below:

Help with WAMS IDs

Before you can submit an application to DPI, you must register for a Web Access Management Systems (WAMS) user ID.

How to set up a WAMS account

Already have one or more WAMS accounts?

How to start your WAMS account recovery:

Perform a WAMS account recovery for all emails you have. Enter your email address but do NOT enter your User ID to start your WAMS account recovery. Once in the account recovery process you will be prompted to change your password. After you change your password you will be told in parentheses what your correct User ID is. Please make note of that before you terminate the account recovery session. Once you have recovered all WAMS accounts you have, login to ELO with each of your accounts individually. If you can see your licenses, you are logging in with the correct WAMS account. If you are taken through the Onboarding process again, you are not using the correct WAMS account and should try another account.

If you encounter errors in the WAMS account recovery process, please contact WAMS directly.  DPI is unable to help with WAMS recovery because the system is used by many state agencies and is run by the Department of Administration:

Revalidating Life or Lifetime License

Educators, whose Life or Lifetime license was invalidated in July, have until December 31 to revalidate their license. Upon approval of the $45 Request Background Check - Lifetime Licensee [5900] application, the Lifetime license will be revalidated just as if the educator completed the application before June 30. Educators will have until December 31 to complete this application for their license to be revalidated.

Background Checks

DPI is required by law to conduct a background check on each applicant for a Wisconsin educator license regardless of whether it is an initial request or a renewal request.

All educators are required to complete a background check to maintain or revalidate a life or lifetime license. There are directions for how to complete the $45 Request Background Check - Lifetime Licensee [5900].

To find the year in which your most recent background check was submitted, search License Lookup using your name or entity number and check see the “Last Background Check Submitted” field.

Reimbursement

After receiving the Wisconsin Master Educator license and within the first year of the effective date of the license, Wisconsin Master Educators can apply for reimbursement of up to $2,000 for expenses incurred for the WMEAP.

In order to qualify for the reimbursement the Master Educator must be:

  • Employed as a teacher or pupil services professional in Wisconsin public schools, or
  • Employed as a teacher or pupil services professional in a private school located in Wisconsin.
  • Have a rating of effective or highly effective in the applicable Educator Effectiveness System.

Contact TEPDL (contact form) to request the WMEAP Reimbursement Application Form. The claim for reimbursement must be submitted prior to June 30th of the school year in which the Master Educator license is effective.

Annual Grant

After receiving reimbursement for WMEAP expenses (above), Wisconsin Master Educators (teachers and pupil services professionals) are eligible to apply for an annual grant in each of the subsequent nine years of the effective date of the Master Educator license.

To qualify for the annual grant the Master Educator must:

  • Have submitted application for reimbursement.
  • Maintain their Wisconsin Master Educator license.
  • Remain employed as a teacher or pupil services professional in Wisconsin public schools or a private school in Wisconsin.
  • Have a rating of effective or highly effective in the applicable Educator Effectiveness System.

Annual grants are awarded in the amount of $2,500 in each of the subsequent school years for the duration of the Wisconsin Master Educator license. Master educators (teachers and pupil services professionals) who are employed in a high poverty school are eligible for a $5,000 annual grant.

Complete and submit application form to the DPI by June 30th of each school year.

Effective or Highly Effective Rating

As a result of 2013 Wisconsin Act 20, starting in the 2014-15 school year and thereafter, applicants who received the Master Educator License by WMEAP Initial Reimbursement grant are required to provide annual verification of being effective or highly effective in the applicable Educator Effectiveness System in order to receive a grant for Master Educator licensure.  This only affects applicants who are required to be evaluated in the Educator Effectiveness System.

Rating of effective or highly effective means a score of greater than or equal to 2.5 in both the educator practice outcome summary and the student outcomes summary or, if the person has not had an initial evaluation, the person is in the process of being evaluated.  

Related forms:

Please go to Appendix A for High Poverty data.

Wisconsin statutes and administrative rules supporting national teacher certification or master educator license: