You are here

Announcing the 2019 Youth Services Institute Cohort

Wednesday, June 5, 2019

The Wisconsin Youth Services Development Institute provides professional development and networking for Wisconsin public library staff who serve babies, children, and teens in smaller public libraries. The Institute targets library staff who have no graduate degree in librarianship and/or work in rural/isolated library communities. For these individuals, there is a need to improve skill and knowledge base, foster a supportive network, and develop stronger peer-to-peer and professional community connections within the Wisconsin public libraries infrastructure. The Institute is supported through an LSTA grant from the Institute for Museum and Library Services (IMLS) administered by the Public Library Development Team at the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction (DPI)

The application process was competitive for this year's Institute. Twenty-five participants were selected from a large pool of applicants representing 14 of the 16 regional library systems. Cohort members are listed alphabetically by library system and last name.

The 2019 Youth Services Institute Cohort

  1. Sarah Hemm, Beloit Public Library, Arrowhead Library System
  2. Andrea Bisordi, Pewaukee Public Library, Bridges Library System
  3. Amy Christian, Dwight Foster Public Library (Fort Atkinson), Bridges Library System
  4. Daniel Kilkelly, Somerset Public Library, IFLS
  5. Emily Resendiz, Barron Public Library, IFLS
  6. Abby Seymour, Menomonie Public Library, IFLS
  7. Jake Wyrzykowski, Phillips Public Library, IFLS
  8. Jeanne Gomoll, Community Library (Salem), Kenosha County Library System
  9. Karen Rozzoni, Kenosha Public Library, Kenosha County Library System
  10. Kirsten Smith, Manitowoc Public Library, Manitowoc-Calumet Library System
  11. Alison Loewen, Mead Public Library (Sheboygan), Monarch Library System
  12. Lara Lakari, Stephenson Public Library (Marinette), Nicolet Federated Library System
  13. Braelyn Spencer, Algoma Public Library, Nicolet Federated Library System
  14. Sara Christopherson, Grantsburg Public Library, Northern Waters Library Service
  15. Ann Larson, Sherman & Ruth Weiss Community Library (Hayward), Northern Waters Library Service
  16. Sarah Read, Kaukauna Public Library, Outagamie Waupaca Library System
  17. Autumn Laird, Spring Green Community Library, South Central Library System
  18. Jennifer Warnke, Angie W. Cox Public Library (Pardeeville), South Central Library System
  19. Kristin Holman-Steffel, Schreiner Memorial Library (Lancaster), Southwest Wisconsin Library System
  20. Erin Isabell, Platteville Public Library, Southwest Wisconsin Library System
  21. Tammy Gates, Wonewoc Public Library, Winding Rivers Library System
  22. Sheri Dunham, Neenah Public Library, Winnefox Library System
  23. Erica Dischinger, Minocqua Public Library, Wisconsin Valley Library Service
  24. Elizabeth Lutz, Marathon County Public Library--Marathon City Branch, Wisconsin Valley Library Service
  25. Mary Jo Netzer, Marathon County Public Library--Stratford Branch, Wisconsin Valley Library Service

Written by:
Tessa Michaelson Schmidt
Public Library Development



WI Libraries for Everyone

Stay informed on our latest news!