You are here

Evers commends two educators

Friday, July 13, 2018


Tom McCarthy, DPI Communications Director, (608) 266-3559

MADISON — State Superintendent Tony Evers commended two educators who recently received the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST).

Susan Hammer, a first-grade teacher at Sauk Trail Elementary School in the Middleton-Cross Plains Area School District, and Jay Garvey Shah, a fifth-grade teacher at Creekside Elementary School in the Sun Prairie Area School District, received the national honor in late June. They were among 140 individuals and organizations honored for the excellence in teaching or mentoring in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM).

“Susan and Jay completed a rigorous application process that allowed them to show the depth of their knowledge and teaching expertise,” Evers said. “I extend my congratulations to them on this honor and encourage Susan and Jay to continue inspiring their students and colleagues as they lead from the classroom on how to improve mathematics and science education.”

Each presidential awardee received a certificate signed by the President of the United States and a $10,000 award from National Science Foundation. Recipients also were honored during recognition events in Washington, D.C., that included an award ceremony, professional development opportunities, and discussions with policymakers on how to improve STEM education.

Since 1983, more than 4,700 teachers have been recognized for their contributions in the classroom and to their profession. The Presidential Teaching Award was given to 104 recipients at the elementary school level. Thirty-six individuals and organizations were honored with mentoring awards.

NOTE: Profiles of Wisconsin’s Presidential Teaching Award recipients and more information about the program can be found on the Presidential Awards of Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching website.

Official Release