You are here

Two Wisconsin students recognized with national honor

Thursday, May 21, 2020


DPI Media Line, (608) 266-3559
MADISON — The U.S. Department of Education today announced two Wisconsin high school seniors have been named 2020 U.S. Presidential Scholars, an honor celebrating their academic accomplishments.
Dayi Ethan Dong (Madison West High School) and Sanjana Reddy Peddagorla (Brookfield East High School) are among a group of 161 seniors across the nation selected by the White House Commission on Presidential Scholars. The national honor recognizes the country’s most distinguished high school seniors for their leadership, scholarship, contribution to their school and community, and for their achievements in various academic areas.
“Congratulations to these two Wisconsin seniors for receiving this prestigious national honor,” State Superintendent Carolyn Stanford Taylor said. “These students have demonstrated tireless work inside the classroom and within their respective communities. I am proud of their many accomplishments, and I am thrilled to call them Presidential Scholars.”
Due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, students will be recognized during an online ceremony this year instead of the traditional visit to Washington D.C. for the formal National Recognition Program.
For more information on the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program, and for a full list of 2020 Scholars, visit the program’s website.

Official Release