You are here

Wisconsin teachers receive national recognition for inspiring students in STEM

Elementary teachers from Milwaukee, Waupun honored by White House
Tuesday, February 15, 2022


DPI Media Line, (608) 266-3559
MADISON — Two Wisconsin teachers have been recognized by the White House for their role in encouraging and supporting students in science and mathematics.
Lois Womack, mathematics teacher at Marvin E. Pratt Elementary School in Milwaukee Public Schools, and Leigh Kohlmann, science teacher at Rock River Intermediate School in the Waupun Area School District, were named 2020 recipients of the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching by President Joe Biden and The White House on Feb. 8, 2022. Womack and Kohlmann, along with three other teachers, were named state finalists for the PAEMST in December 2020.
“I congratulate these STEM teachers for this astounding achievement, and I am excited to see their tireless dedication being recognized nationally,” State Superintendent Dr. Jill Underly said. “STEM teachers across our state motivate students to become future scientists, mathematicians, and leaders by helping our children make sense of the world. The commitment of these teachers is nothing short of inspiring, and I am grateful for their work and leadership.”
First presented in 1983, PAEMEST is considered the highest K-12 award teachers in the mathematics and science (including computer science) fields can receive from the United States government. The 2020 awards honored teachers in kindergarten through sixth grade. The application process asks nominees to demonstrate their content knowledge while showing their ability to adapt to different learners and teaching environments. Each recipient receives $10,000 and a certificate signed by President Biden.
For more information on the federal recognition program, visit PAEMST’s website.

Official Release