You are here

How to get a GED/HSED



To earn a GED or HSED in Wisconsin, applicants must meet the following requirements:

  1. Age: Proof that the applicant is at least 18.5 years old or their 9th-grade class has graduated from high school.
    1. Students age 17 to 18.5 years may only be served through a school district or special programs. For information on programs available, please see Contracting with Technical Colleges, Challenge Academy, and GED Option #2 available here: Alternative Education
  2. Residency: Provide proof that the applicant has resided in Wisconsin for at least 10 days.
  3. Graduation Status: The applicant has not graduated from high school and is not enrolled in any public or private high school.
  4. Counseling: The applicant has completed counseling sessions from approved educational institutions: See PI 5.03(4) for more information.




Wisconsin prep programs and assessment centers can guide applicants with the process of selecting GED and HSED options and the criteria to earn these credentials.

GED/HSED Prep Programs and Assessment Centers



Regions of the State of Wisconsin; Northwest, Northeast, Central; Southwest; East Central; South Central; Southeast


Counties - Ashland, Baroon, Chippewa, Douglas, Eau Claire, Price, Rusk, St. Croix, Taylor


Northwood Technical College, Ashland
Northwood Technical College, Rice Lake
Chippewa Valley Technical College - Chippewa Falls, Chippewa Falls
Northwood Technical College, Superior
Chippewa Valley Technical College, Eau Claire
Northcentral Technical College, Phillips
Northwood Technical College -Ladysmith Outreach Center, Ladysmith
Northwood Technical College, New Richmond
Northcentral Technical College, Medford

Counties - Brown, Door, Langlade, Lincoln, Marinette, Oneida


Northeast Wisconsin Technical College, Green Bay
Northeast Wisconsin Technical College, Sturgeon Bay
Northcentral Technical College - Antigo, Antigo
Northcentral Tech College - Merrill Adult Academy, Merrill
Northeast Wisconsin Technical College, Marinette
Nicolet Area Technical College, Rhinelander

Counties - Adams, Marathon, Portage, Shawano, Waupaca, Waushara, Wood

Mid-State Technical College, Adams
Northcentral Technical College, Wausau
Mid-State Technical College-MSTC, Stevens Point
Northcentral Technical College, Wittenberg
Fox Valley Technical College - Clintonville, Clintonville
Fox Valley Technical College - Waupaca, Waupaca
Fox Valley Technical College - Wautoma, Wautoma
Mid-State Technical College, Marshfield
Mid-State Technical College, Wisconsin Rapids

Counties - Calumet, Fond Du Lac, Manitowoc, Outagamie, Sheboygan, Winnebago


Fox Valley Technical College - Chilton, Chilton
Moraine Park Technical College, Fond Du Lac
Lakeshore Technical College- Cleveland, Cleveland
Lakeshore Technical College- Manitowoc, Manitowoc
Fox Valley Technical College - Appleton Campus, Appleton
Lakeshore Technical College-Sheboygan, Sheboygan
Fox Valley Tech College - Oshkosh Riverside Campus, Oshkosh

Counties - Columbia, Dane, Dodge, Green, Jefferson, Rock, Sauk


Madison College - Portage, Portage
Madison College, Madison
Madison College- South, Madison
Moraine Park Technical College, Beaver Dam, Beaver Dam
Blackhawk Technical College - Monroe Campus, Monroe
Madison College-Ft. Atkinson, Fort Atkinson
Madison College - Watertown Campus, Watertown
Blackhawk Technical College, Beloit
Blackhawk Technical College, Janesville
Madison College - Reedsburg, Reedsburg

Counties - Kenosha, Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Racine, Walworth, Washington, Waukesha


Gateway Technical College, Kenosha
Milwaukee Area Tech College - Oak Creek Campus, Oak Creek
Literacy Services of Wisconsin, Milwaukee
YWCA Southeast Wisconsin, Milwaukee
UMOS, Inc., Milwaukee
Milwaukee Area Technical College, Milwaukee
Milwaukee Area Tech. College - West Allis Campus, West Allis
Social Development Commission, Milwaukee
Milwaukee Area Technical College - Mequon Campus, Mequon
Gateway Technical College, Racine
YWCA Southeast Wisconsin, Racine
Gateway Technical College, Elkhorn
Moraine Park Technical College, West Bend, West Bend
Waukesha County Technical College -Pewaukee Campus, Pewaukee

Counties - Grant, Jackson, La Crosse, Monroe, Richland


Southwest Wisconsin Technical College, Fennimore
Western Technical College - Black River Falls, Black River Falls
Western Technical College, La Crosse
Western Technical College-Tomah, Tomah
Richland Center Testing Center, Richland Center