You are here

Independent (2r or 2x) Charter Schools

What is an Independent Charter School?

Independent charter schools, sometimes referred to as 2r or 2x charter schools, are charter schools that are not authorized by a public school district and are instead authorized by one of the following:

The common council of the city of Milwaukee
The chancellor of the University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee
The chancellor of the University of Wisconsin - Parkside
The Milwaukee Area Technical College district board
Gateway Technical College
Waukesha County Executive
College of Menominee Nation
Lac Courte Orielles Ojibwa Community College
UW- System Office of Educational Opportunity 

The terms "2r" or "2x" refer to the section of the charter school law within s. 118.40 that grants these entities authority to authorize charter schools.  All independent charter schools are considered non-instrumentality schools since since the employees of the school are not employed by any school district but are instead employed by the operating organization of the charter school.  

For more in-depth information on independent charter schools see: Wisconsin Legislature Chapter 118.40 quick reference or Wis. Stats. Chapter 118.40(2r) and (2x).

Authorizer Requirements: 

All independent authorizers shall notify the state superintendent of their intention to establish a charter school by February 1 of the school year preceding the opening of the charter school. State law prohibits independent authorizers from authorizing a virtual charter school.  Independent authorizers and limits, if any, on school location and pupil residency are listed below:

Charter Authorizer
* New
School Location Pupil Residency
Number of
Charter Schools
City of Milwaukee (2r) Statewide Statewide Unlimited
UW-Milwaukee (2r) Statewide Statewide Unlimited
UW-Parkside (2r) Statewide Statewide Unlimited
MATC (2r) Statewide Statewide Unlimited
*Gateway Technical College (2r) Racine, Kenosha, Walworth Counties (only high school grades and provides curriculum focused on STEM or occupational education and training) Racine, Kenosha, Walworth, Milwaukee, Waukesha, Jefferson, Rock Counties Unlimited
*Waukesha County Executive (2r) Waukesha County Statewide Unlimited
*College of Menominee Nation (2r) Statewide Statewide No more than 6 schools between these two authorizers
*Lac Courte Orielles Ojibwa Community College (2r) Statewide Statewide
*Office of Educational Opportunity (UW System) (2x) In districts with over 25,000 pupils Statewide Unlimited

Independent Charter School Membership Information

Independent Charter School Audit Information 


List of Independent Charter Schools

2017-2018 2016-2017

Independent Charter Schools Program Calendar

2017-18 2016-17


For questions about this information, contact Latoya Holiday (608) 266-5880