You are here

Seven Wisconsin Educators Nominated for National STEM Teaching Award

Tuesday, March 14, 2023

Seven Wisconsin educators have been named finalists for the 2023 Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching. The PAEMST is considered the highest honor given by the U.S. government for science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and/or computer science teachers.

The seven teachers were nominated for their pedagogical and content knowledge, and for leadership in their field. The 2023 PAEMST Wisconsin finalists are:

  • Miranda Dahlke, middle and high school science/STEM teacher, Washington Island School District
  • Dr. Randall Ketola, high school science and elementary STEM teacher, School District of Glenwood City
  • Elizabeth Masslich, mathematics teacher, Cedarburg High School
  • Cori Moran, mathematics teacher, South Milwaukee High School
  • Erin Schroeder, mathematics teacher, Waunakee Community High School
  • Cindy Stetzer, science teacher, Gale-Ettrick-Trempealeau High School
  • Mary Zastrow, mathematics teacher, De Pere Middle School

This award, presented annually since 1983, recognizes K-12 science, technology, engineering, mathematics, and/or computer science teachers from across the nation. States establish committees who select finalists based on criteria required by the national PAEMST program.

Applications from Wisconsin’s finalists will be judged at the national level by a committee organized by the National Science Foundation, which administers PAEMST on behalf of The White House Office of Science and Technology Policy. One awardee in mathematics and one awardee in science may receive a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation and professional development opportunities, along with being honored at an award ceremony in Washington D.C.

This item was submitted by Kevin Anderson, Science Consultant, Division of Teaching and Learning at the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction.