You are here

Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching

2024 WI PAEMST Math Finalists
2024 WI Mathematics Finalists: Melissa Sperle,
Debra Heitman, and Jacquelynn Bazylewicz

Interested in a way to showcase your students and their mathematical thinking?

Apply for the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST)!

The National Science Foundation administers PAEMST on behalf of The White House Office of Science and Technology Policy and has been elevating exemplary mathematics teachers from Wisconsin since 1983. The award recognizes those teachers who have both deep content knowledge and the ability to recognize student strengths, supporting each and every student to be successful.

Share your passion for mathematics teaching and learning through a self-nomination and application or nominate an outstanding teacher you know!

Nomination and application cycles alternate years between K-6 and 7-12. Visit the PAEMST DPI webpage to meet the current Wisconsin finalists, read a story about the most recent Wisconsin awardee trip to Washington, D.C., and click on a link to the national PAEMST website for nomination and application information. 

2023-2024 Grades K-6 Cycle
2024-2025 Grades 7-12 Cycle
2025-2026 Grades K-6 Cycle
2026-2027 Grades 7-12 Cycle
For questions about this information, contact Julie Bormett (608) 266-7921, Mary Mooney (608) 266-9368