You are here

Early College Credit Program



blue exclamation point

On April 16, 2018, the Governor signed AB 805, enacting significant changes to the ECCP statute. 2017 Act 307 excludes certain post-secondary courses* from the rules and requirements under the ECCP, as created under Act 59. Please see the Legislative Memo for a plain language analysis of Act 307.  We are in the process of updating this page to reflect the changes under Act 307. 

The 2017 Wisconsin Act 59 eliminated the Course Options and Youth Options programs. The Youth Options statute (118.55) was renamed the Early College Credit Program. The statute allows Wisconsin public and private high school students to take one or more courses at an institution of higher education for high school and/or college credit. Under this section, “institution of higher education” means an institution within the University of Wisconsin System, a tribally controlled college, or a private, nonprofit institution of higher education located in the state. While technical colleges are not eligible institutions under the new program, pupils that have completed 10th grade will continue to have the option to take courses at technical colleges through a separate statute, 38.12(14). School districts should contact the Wisconsin Technical College System listed below for more information on technical college dual credit options. All changes are effective 7/1/2018.

For a more detailed understanding of the changes from youth options to early college credit, please review the revised statute for the Early College Credit Program.

Implementation Tools

The following resources are designed to aid understanding and implementation of the Early College Credit Program.

Early College Credit Program Overview and Comparison Chart

State Aid for School Districts under the Early College Credit Program

Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction Summary of 2017 Act 59

Contact Information

Department of Public Instruction
Tahira Chaudary
Dual Enrollment Education Consultant
(608) 267-3161
Wisconsin Technical College System
Ann Westrich
​Education Director
For more information on Start College Now, please click here.
University of Wisconsin System
Barbara Bales
Director for Strategic Initiatives and Educational Innovation
(608) 890-3282
For more information on the ECCP at it relates to the UW System, please click here.
Rebecca Larsen
Senior Vice President for Advocacy
(608) 256-7761
For more information on the ECCP at it relates to WAICU, please click here.
Tribal Colleges
Lac Courte Oreilles Ojibwa Community College (LCOOCC)
Julie Turpin
Enrollment Specialist
College of Menominee Nation
Austin Retzlaff
Admissions Manager
For questions about this information, contact (608) 267-3161