The Early College Credit Program (ECCP) statute allows students enrolled at Wisconsin public, charter, and private high schools to take up to 18 credits of college courses at a UW, private, or Tribal college located in Wisconsin (for high school and college credit or college credit only). Update: Independent (2r or 2x) Charter Schools are now eligible for ECCP.
Students MUST submit their ECCP applications (no exceptions) to their school by:
- October 1 for spring courses
- February 1 for summer courses
- March 1 for fall courses
New resource: The ECCP and SCN Timeline
9/14 Webinar: Dual Enrollment Orientation/Refresher
2022-23 Early College Credit Program Reimbursement Claims
In 2022-23, the Early College Credit Program provided:
- WI students with 14,894 college credits
- WI schools with $487,500* to help offset the cost of ECCP courses
*The total amount of ECCP claims submitted for the 2022-23 school year ($528,658) exceeded the reduced appropriation for ECCP aid in the FY24 budget ($487,500). Therefore, districts will receive a prorated (92.21%) amount when reimbursed.
The 2017 Wisconsin Act 59 eliminated the Course Options and Youth Options programs.
- The Course Options statute was changed to Part-time open enrollment.
- The Youth Options statute (118.55) was renamed the Early College Credit Program (ECCP). The ECCP statute allows Wisconsin public and private high school students to take one or more courses at an institution of higher education for high school and/or college credit.
- Under this section, "institution of higher education" means an institution within the University of Wisconsin System, a tribally controlled college, or a private, nonprofit institution of higher education located in the state.
- While technical colleges are not eligible institutions under the new program, pupils that have completed 10th grade will continue to have the option to take courses at technical colleges through a separate statute, 38.12(14). To learn more, go to the Start College Now tab in the menu on the left.
- All changes are effective July 1, 2018.