You are here

English Language Development (ELD) Standards


English Language Development Standards Review Process

The Standards for English Language Development review process went from February 2020 to concluding with the State Superintendent's adoption of the WIDA English Language Development Standards Framework, 2020 Edition on May 10, 2021.

The Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction has a transparent and comprehensive process for reviewing and revising academic standards which can be found on the DPI standards page. The process to adopt the WIDA English Language Development Standards framework, 2020 Edition began with a Notice of Intent to review and a month-long public comment period in February 2020. A standards development committee was formed and met in December 2020 to review the WIDA Standards Framework for commentary on the revised standards, correspondence to WI academic standards, connection to college and career readiness and to recommend continuation of the adoption. In March 2021 WIDA’s English Language Development Standards Framework, 2020 Edition was presented to the Superintendent's Academic Standards Review Council (SSASRC) and recommended. The State Superintendent decided to move forward with the adoption on May 10, 2021.


Rollout Resources


The Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction (DPI) is a founding member of the World-class Instructional Design and Assessment (WIDA) consortium, and an early adopter of the WIDA English Language Development and ACCESS for ELL's assessment suite. WIDA is a member-based consortium focused on academic language development and academic achievement for multilingual students through high-quality standards, assessments, research, and professional development for educators. 

The WIDA ELD standards, developed with the input of Wisconsin educators, support students’ academic language proficiency.  The five standards focus on social and instructional language, as well as, the language for the academic areas of language arts, mathematics, science and social studies. This is built around four key language uses represented across the disciplines: narrate, inform, explain and argue. These uses are then further delineated into language expectations that articulate and move multilingual learners across a continuum of language proficiency descriptors from the beginning stages to more advanced within interpretative (listening, reading and viewing) and expressive (speaking, writing and representing) modes of communication..

These standards are grounded in the WIDA Framework's Big Ideas, which includes:  equity of opportunity and access,  integration of content and language,  a shared responsibility and collaborative approach between stakeholders, and a purposeful, functional approach to language. To learn more about the standards and related resources, please visit WIDA's ELD Standards Framework page. 


NEW  2022 Language Instruction Educational Programs Crosswalk

LIEP Flowchart Based on Learner Outcomes

LIEP Flowchart Based on Language of Instruction\

MLs Guiding Beliefs

Wisconsin's Guiding Beliefs for the Language Development of Multilingual Learners. 

  • All language is an asset
  • Language is foundational to academic learning
  • Language learning should be integrated into all teaching for MLs
  • All educators are language educators
  • Standards that support the language development of ALL students
For questions about this information, contact Amy Maciolek (608) 266-1570, Tanya Morin (608) 267-9393