You are here

Tribal Education Departments (TEDs)

Tribal education departments (TED’s) are departments within American Indian nations that are responsible for supporting the education of its members regardless of whether they attend public, private, charter, or Bureau of Indian Education (BIE) schools, either on or off reservation. In Wisconsin, each of the eleven federally recognized nations have a tribal education department. The following contacts are directors for each of the tribal education departments in Wisconsin.

Bad River Band of Lake Superior Chippewa   

Stephanie Julian
Education Director
PO Box 39
Odanah WI 54861
Telephone: (715) 682-7111 ext. 1530
E-mail: educationdirector@badriver-nsn.gov
Website: www.badriver-nsn.gov


Forest County Potawatomi

Thomas Boelter
Division Director Education & Culture
PO Box 340
Crandon WI 54520
Telephone: (715) 478-7355
E-mail: tom.boelter@fcpotawatomi-nsn.gov
Website: www.fcpotawatomi.com


Ho-Chunk Nation

Nehomah Thundercloud
Executive Director of Education
PO Box 667
Black River Falls, WI 54615
Telephone: (715) 284-9343
E-mail: nehomah.thundercloud@ho-chunk.com
Website: www.ho-chunknation.com


Lac Courte Oreilles Band of Lake Superior Chippewa

William White
Higher Education Director
13394 W Trepania Rd
Hayward WI 54843
Telephone: (715) 634-8934 ext. 7463
E-mail: bwhite@lco-nsn.gov
Website: https://www.lcotribe.com/

Lac du Flambeau Band of Chippewa

Samantha Maki
Education Director
PO Box 67
Lac Du Flambeau WI 54538
Telephone: (715) 588-7925
E-mail: smaki@ldftribe.com
Website: www.ldftribe.com

Menominee Indian Tribe of Wisconsin

Shannon Chapman
Education Director
PO Box 910
Keshena WI 54135
Telephone: (715) 799-5110
Email: smchapman@mitw.org
Website: www.menominee.nsn-gov

Oneida Nation

Jacqueline (Jackie) Smith
Area Manager Education & Training
PO Box 365
Oneida WI 54155
Telephone: (920) 869-4033
E-mail: jsmith@oneidanation.org
Website: https://oneida-nsn.gov/

Red Cliff Band of Lake Superior Chippewa

Jared Blanche
Education Director
88385 Pike Rd., Hwy 13
Bayfield WI 54814
Telephone: (715) 779-3759
E-mail: jared.blanche@redcliff-nsn.gov
Website: www.redcliff-nsn.gov

St. Croix Chippewa Indians of Wisconsin

Karen Washington
Education Director
24663 Angeline Ave
Webster WI 54893
Telephone: (715) 349-2195 ext. 5303
E-mail: karenw@stcroixojibwe-nsn.gov
Website: www.stcciw.com

Sokaogon Chippewa Community

Yvette Mcgeshick
Education Director
10808 Sokaogon Dr
Crandon WI 54520
Telephone: (715) 478-3830
Email: yvette.mcgeshick@scc-nsn.gov
Website: www.sokaogonchippewa.com

Stockbridge-Munsee Community Band of Mohican

Jolene Bowman
Director of Education Employment and Training
PO Box 70
Bowler WI 54416
Telephone: (715) 793-4060
E-mail: jolene.bowman@mohican-nsn.gov
Website: www.mohican.com

For questions about this information, contact David O'Connor (608) 267-2283