You are here

Directions for an Uncommon Request

DPI is currently receiving a high volume of contacts for assistance.  The three most commonly asked questions and their answers are below:

Help with WAMS IDs

Before you can submit an application to DPI, you must register for a Web Access Management Systems (WAMS) user ID.

How to set up a WAMS account

Already have one or more WAMS accounts?

How to start your WAMS account recovery:

Perform a WAMS account recovery for all emails you have. Enter your email address but do NOT enter your User ID to start your WAMS account recovery. Once in the account recovery process you will be prompted to change your password. After you change your password you will be told in parentheses what your correct User ID is. Please make note of that before you terminate the account recovery session. Once you have recovered all WAMS accounts you have, login to ELO with each of your accounts individually. If you can see your licenses, you are logging in with the correct WAMS account. If you are taken through the Onboarding process again, you are not using the correct WAMS account and should try another account.

If you encounter errors in the WAMS account recovery process, please contact WAMS directly.  DPI is unable to help with WAMS recovery because the system is used by many state agencies and is run by the Department of Administration:

Revalidating Life or Lifetime License

Educators, whose Life or Lifetime license was invalidated in July, have until December 31 to revalidate their license. Upon approval of the $45 Request Background Check - Lifetime Licensee [5900] application, the Lifetime license will be revalidated just as if the educator completed the application before June 30. Educators will have until December 31 to complete this application for their license to be revalidated.

Background Checks

DPI is required by law to conduct a background check on each applicant for a Wisconsin educator license regardless of whether it is an initial request or a renewal request.

All educators are required to complete a background check to maintain or revalidate a life or lifetime license. There are directions for how to complete the $45 Request Background Check - Lifetime Licensee [5900].

To find the year in which your most recent background check was submitted, search License Lookup using your name or entity number and check see the “Last Background Check Submitted” field.

IS THIS THE RIGHT APPLICATION FOR ME?

​These application directions are for educators who fall into one of the following categories:

  • first-time applications by educators prepared in Wisconsin prior to 9/1/2004 OR
  • applicants for a JROTC Teaching License OR
  • applicants for the three-year non-renewable Military Spouse license OR
  • you were directed by DPI to complete this application

Use the Application Checklist to ensure you have completed all appropriate steps of the application.  If you do not fit into this category, please go back and select a different application.

 

BEFORE YOU SUBMIT YOUR APPLICATION

DETERMINE IF YOU MUST COMPLETE THE FOLLOWING

COLLECT YOUR DOCUMENTATION

Scan all documentation into files (.pdf, .doc/docx, .jpg/jpeg, or .txt) that are 2MB or less in size

  • If applying as an educator prepared in Wisconsin prior to 9/1/2004, obtain a completed PI-1612 Institutional Endorsement and Assurances form. 
  • If applying as a JROTC teacher, obtain a valid JROTC instructor certification from one of the following branches of the military:
    • United States Army
    • United States Navy
    • United States Air Force
    • United States Marine Corps
  • If applying as a military spouse, obtain:
    • Copy of valid license in good standing from another state
    • Verification of your spouse’s current military orders AND a copy of either your marriage license OR the military ID card for your spouse.
  • If directed by DPI to submit this application, obtain DPI requested documentation

LOGGING IN AND FINDING YOUR LICENSES

  • If you do not already have an active Web Access Management System (WAMS) ID, follow the directions on the Web Access Management System page to do so.
  • Onboarding must be completed, whether or not you already hold or held a Wisconsin license. If you hold or held a Wisconsin license(s) you will see your license(s) at the end of the Onboarding process.
    • If your name has changed, use License Lookup to determine what name is on file with DPI, as you will use that name in the Onboarding.
  • If you have not already Onboarded your license record to your WAMS ID please do so.

 

FINDING AND SUBMITTING YOUR APPLICATION

FIND AND OPEN THE APPLICATION

Use the "My ELO Login" button (which can also be found in the top left-hand corner of any TEPDL webpage) to login to ELO with your WAMS ID and open your application.  Once you have Onboarded your license record to your WAMS ID, you will be brought to the Quick Start Menu.  Find the APPLY FOR A NEW LICENSE section of the Quick Start Menu.  Make the exact same choices in your three drop down menus as you see in the application screenshots in these directions and in the application checklist.  Once you’ve made the appropriate choices in the drop down menus click the “GO!” button directly to the right of the drop down menus to open that application.

COMPLETE AND SUBMIT THE APPLICATION

Read each page of the application, complete the page as instructed, and click “next” to move forward in the application.  Once you reach the end of the application, you will review your Application Summary and may edit information if necessary OR click the “SUBMIT” button to submit your application.  You will receive an auto-generated application confirmation email with a PDF Application Summary attached shortly after submission.  This email also contains directions for completing your application payment.

T001 1031

A001 1031

P001 1031

Use the "My ELO Login" button (which can also be found in the top left-hand corner of any TEPDL webpage) to login to ELO with your WAMS ID and open your application. 

My ELO

 

AFTER YOU SUBMIT YOUR APPLICATION

PAYMENT

  • You will complete the Conduct and Competency questionnaire right before submitting your application payment.
  • Have either a credit card or pre-paid credit card ready for electronic payment.  For fee amounts and additional payment information please see License Application Fees.
    • You cannot pay with any other payment method.
  • You will see the application(s) you’ve submitted in the ELO Cart and Additional Activities section of the Quick Start Menu along with a sentence that says "Submit C&C and Payment to Complete Application." Click the “GO!” button directly to the right of this sentence and you will begin the payment process and Conduct and Competency questionnaire. The first page in the payment process shows you each application you’ve submitted along with each application fee. The second page in the payment process shows you the total fee after bundling any possible application fees. Then you will answer the Conduct and Competency questionnaire (14 questions) before being prompted for your credit card number.

PROCESSING TIMES

Our processing times vary throughout the year. For current processing times see the Check Application Status page.