You are here

Wisconsin Educator License Lookup

DPI is currently receiving a high volume of contacts for assistance.  The three most commonly asked questions and their answers are below:

Help with WAMS IDs

Before you can submit an application to DPI, you must register for a Web Access Management Systems (WAMS) user ID.

How to set up a WAMS account

Already have one or more WAMS accounts?

How to start your WAMS account recovery:

Perform a WAMS account recovery for all emails you have. Enter your email address but do NOT enter your User ID to start your WAMS account recovery. Once in the account recovery process you will be prompted to change your password. After you change your password you will be told in parentheses what your correct User ID is. Please make note of that before you terminate the account recovery session. Once you have recovered all WAMS accounts you have, login to ELO with each of your accounts individually. If you can see your licenses, you are logging in with the correct WAMS account. If you are taken through the Onboarding process again, you are not using the correct WAMS account and should try another account.

If you encounter errors in the WAMS account recovery process, please contact WAMS directly.  DPI is unable to help with WAMS recovery because the system is used by many state agencies and is run by the Department of Administration:

Revalidating Life or Lifetime License

Educators, whose Life or Lifetime license was invalidated in July, have until December 31 to revalidate their license. Upon approval of the $45 Request Background Check - Lifetime Licensee [5900] application, the Lifetime license will be revalidated just as if the educator completed the application before June 30. Educators will have until December 31 to complete this application for their license to be revalidated.

Background Checks

DPI is required by law to conduct a background check on each applicant for a Wisconsin educator license regardless of whether it is an initial request or a renewal request.

All educators are required to complete a background check to maintain or revalidate a life or lifetime license. There are directions for how to complete the $45 Request Background Check - Lifetime Licensee [5900].

To find the year in which your most recent background check was submitted, search License Lookup using your name or entity number and check see the “Last Background Check Submitted” field.

Note: The ELO system is unavailable Wednesday nights from 10:00pm until 2:00am on Thursdays for scheduled maintenance.

You can use the Wisconsin Educator License Lookup to view the license information of a Wisconsin educator license holder. You can view the following information of the license:

  • License type and license stage**
  • License validity dates
  • License status
  • Position or subject and the corresponding developmental level or grade level
  • Educator file number
  • Whether there is a pending renewal application
  • Whether an application was submitted, but not approved

You will be able to search for an educator two ways:

  • Search by Name. You must know at least the Last Name.
  • Search by File/Entity Number. 

**When viewing the license details of an educator, the Stage displayed on a license that expires this year may not reflect the actual Stage for which the educator has been approved.  If verifying current licensure for employment, it is recommended that the applicant provide proof of accurate licensure via a copy of their license certificate.**

Please note that a software bug is sometimes producing confusing results on the DPI Public Search online license lookup.  If a district has a question about a particular educator’s license status, please contact Teacher Licensing at (800) 266-1027 or https://dpi.wi.gov/support/contact-educator-licensing.

 

Online License Lookup

Notes:

  • The way to tell if someone has applied for a license is that the License Status will say “Applicant.”  When an application has been approved and fully processed, the status will change to “Current.”
  • For each license, either the low and high grade levels (e.g., 7 - 12) OR the developmental level (e.g., Early Adolescence-Adolescence) will be listed.  This depends on whether the educator's preparation program was completed before or after August 31, 2004.  For more information, please see https://dpi.wi.gov/tepdl/licensing/types/educator-general.

Is your current license about to expire?

When you submit a complete, accurate application by the June 30 of the expiration year, your previous license does not expire until DPI has completed processing of your application. You must have received a payment confirmation email from ELO that indicate your application was submitted and paid for. "When an applicant has made a timely and accurate application for the renewal of a license or a new license of a continuing nature, the existing license does not expire until the application has been finally acted upon by DPI." [Wis. Stat. 227.51(2)]

If the license search function is not working, contact Educator Licensing

Related information: