You are here

License Application Fees

In order to apply for or renew a license that is issued by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction (DPI), applicants must choose the appropriate application in the Educator Licensing Online (ELO).  The corresponding fee will automatically be added.  Our current application fees are:

  • Special Education Program Aide: $100
  • Initial and Professional Educator (in-state or renewal): $125
  • Initial and Professional Educator One-Year Nonrenewable Extension: $125
  • Emergency License/Permit: $125
  • Charter: $125
  • Out-of-State** Educator: $175
  • Three-Year Substitute Permit: $125
  • Master Educator via the Wisconsin Master Educator Assessment Process (WMEAP): $275
  • Master Educator Renewal via the WMEAP Renewal:  $275

 

An application fee covers the cost of processing the application. It is not a “license issuance” fee. Therefore, no refunds are made if it is determined after processing the application that a license cannot be issued or renewed.

Each license application submitted by an applicant requires a fee for that application. In some cases, an applicant must submit multiple applications (also called transactions), which requires multiple application fees.

Examples of some multiple fee scenarios:

  1. To renew a 5-year license and to apply for an emergency license:
    • Renewal of professional educator license ($125), and
    • New emergency license ($125)
    • Total fee will be $250.
  2. To renew a 5-year teaching license and to apply for an initial administrator license:
    • Renewal of professional educator license ($125), and
    • New initial in-state administrator license ($125)
    • Total fee will be $250.

When applying in ELOchoose "Ready to Pay" when you complete the first application.  This will take you back to the Quick Start Menu, where you can start the second application.  When you complete the second application, click the "Ready to Pay" button and then click "Submit Payment" at the bottom of the Quick Start screen.  You should then see both applications, awaiting payment, and then can complete one Conduct and Competency questionnaire and submit one payment for both applications.  If you have any questions, please contact us at licensing@dpi.wi.gov.

Payment Options

The DPI accepts the following methods of fee payment for applications:

  1. Credit Card
    We only accept Mastercard, Visa or Discover. We cannot accept debit cards. 
     
  2. Veterans Licensure Fee Waiver
    For those eligible for the Veterans Licensure Fee Waiver Program (Act 209), obtain the voucher from the Wisconsin Department of Veterans Affair through their website: DVA’s Fee Waiver Eligibility.  Directions are below:
    1. Contact the Wisconsin Department of Veterans Affair through their website: DVA’s Fee Waiver Eligibility to obtain the voucher information.
    2. Log into your ELO account and fill out the application for the license you are requesting.
    3. Proceed all the way through the application and press the submit button, once you have pressed the submit button you will need to stop!
    4. At the bottom of one of our licensing webpages, http://dpi.wi.gov/tepdl, click on the “Contact Us” button, here you will fill out the contact us form letting us know that you are a veteran and would like to apply a voucher code to your application, and provide the code the VA has given you.
    5. We will then review the waiver and send you email letting you know your next steps in the application process.  If your fee waiver is accepted you will still need to complete the Conduct and Competency (C&C) questionnaire found in the ELO Cart and Additional Activities section of the Quick Start Menu.
    6. Once you have finished the C&C in the ELO Cart your application will go into the queue for processing.  Please note this can take several weeks.

 

**Out-of-State means that the educator's preparation program is headquartered outside of Wisconsin or is online.