You are here

Electronic Fingerprint Submission

DPI is currently receiving a high volume of contacts for assistance.  The three most commonly asked questions and their answers are below:

Help with WAMS IDs

Before you can submit an application to DPI, you must register for a Web Access Management Systems (WAMS) user ID.

How to set up a WAMS account

Already have one or more WAMS accounts?

How to start your WAMS account recovery:

Perform a WAMS account recovery for all emails you have. Enter your email address but do NOT enter your User ID to start your WAMS account recovery. Once in the account recovery process you will be prompted to change your password. After you change your password you will be told in parentheses what your correct User ID is. Please make note of that before you terminate the account recovery session. Once you have recovered all WAMS accounts you have, login to ELO with each of your accounts individually. If you can see your licenses, you are logging in with the correct WAMS account. If you are taken through the Onboarding process again, you are not using the correct WAMS account and should try another account.

If you encounter errors in the WAMS account recovery process, please contact WAMS directly.  DPI is unable to help with WAMS recovery because the system is used by many state agencies and is run by the Department of Administration:

Revalidating Life or Lifetime License

Educators, whose Life or Lifetime license was invalidated in July, have until December 31 to revalidate their license. Upon approval of the $45 Request Background Check - Lifetime Licensee [5900] application, the Lifetime license will be revalidated just as if the educator completed the application before June 30. Educators will have until December 31 to complete this application for their license to be revalidated.

Background Checks

DPI is required by law to conduct a background check on each applicant for a Wisconsin educator license regardless of whether it is an initial request or a renewal request.

All educators are required to complete a background check to maintain or revalidate a life or lifetime license. There are directions for how to complete the $45 Request Background Check - Lifetime Licensee [5900].

To find the year in which your most recent background check was submitted, search License Lookup using your name or entity number and check see the “Last Background Check Submitted” field.

The State of Wisconsin has a contract with Fieldprint, a private vendor, to offer inkless fingerprinting using Livescan technology. Fieldprint captures fingerprints at various locations throughout the United States and submits them electronically to the Wisconsin Department of Justice and the FBI. The results of the background check based on the fingerprints are then forwarded to Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction.

Electronic fingerprint submissions are not accepted from any law enforcement agency or any vendor other than Fieldprint.

To improve the efficiency of license application processing, all applicants who are required to submit fingerprints, residing in the United States must submit their fingerprints through Fieldprint.

General steps to submit electronic fingerprints:

  1. Determine if you meet the requirements to submit fingerprints by reviewing the information at https://dpi.wi.gov/tepdl/licensing/fingerprint. Use the fingerprint decision-making tree to help you decide.
  2. Go to www.fieldprintwisconsin.com to schedule an appointment with Fieldprint. You will need to create an account on that website if you don't already have one. Please note that Fieldprint has locations across the US. To find the nearest location, search by ZIP code at http://bit.ly/wi-prints.
  3. Enter "FPWIDPITeach" as the reason code/employer ID on the Fieldprint website. You will need this code to schedule an appointment.
  4. Complete all information as required on the website.
  5. Schedule your appointment at an available location and time on the Fieldprint website.
  6. Pay for the fingerprinting service online using a credit card or pre-paid credit card (found at many general grocery stores and other retailers statewide).
  7. Print the confirmation page that details the location and time of your appointment.
  8. Go to your Fieldprint appointment and have your digital fingerprints taken.  The fingerprints will automatically be sent to DPI because you entered "FPWIDPITeach" as the reason code/employer ID when making your Fieldprint appointment.  You will only be contacted by DPI regarding your fingerprint submission if there has been an error with submission.  Assume that your fingerprints have arrived at DPI until you are notified otherwise.


Note: all applicants must schedule a fingerprinting appointment online. Walk-ins are not allowed at Fieldprint's fingerprinting facility. Please see related documents below for more information about scheduling an appointment with Fieldprint.

At the appointment, you will need to provide 2 forms of identification for the appointment: one picture ID, and one secondary ID from the lists below:

Picture ID:

  • State-issued driver’s license
  • State-issued non-driver identification card
  • U.S. passport
  • Military identification card
  • Work visa with photo
  • Foreign passport

Secondary ID:

  • State-issued driver’s license
  • State-issued non-driver identification card
  • U.S. passport
  • Military identification card
  • Social Security card
  • Bank statement
  • Utility bill in your name
  • Credit card
  • Marriage certificate
  • Vehicle registration
  • State government-issued certificate of birth
  • Foreign passport
  • Federal government person Identity verification
  • Certificate of citizenship
  • Certificate of naturalization
  • USCIS resident alien Card
  • USCIS temporary resident identification card

Fieldprint Customer Service: 1-877-614-4364.

Related Documents: