You are here

Master Educator License

DPI is currently receiving a high volume of contacts for assistance.  The three most commonly asked questions and their answers are below:

Help with WAMS IDs

Before you can submit an application to DPI, you must register for a Web Access Management Systems (WAMS) user ID.

How to set up a WAMS account

Already have one or more WAMS accounts?

How to start your WAMS account recovery:

Perform a WAMS account recovery for all emails you have. Enter your email address but do NOT enter your User ID to start your WAMS account recovery. Once in the account recovery process you will be prompted to change your password. After you change your password you will be told in parentheses what your correct User ID is. Please make note of that before you terminate the account recovery session. Once you have recovered all WAMS accounts you have, login to ELO with each of your accounts individually. If you can see your licenses, you are logging in with the correct WAMS account. If you are taken through the Onboarding process again, you are not using the correct WAMS account and should try another account.

If you encounter errors in the WAMS account recovery process, please contact WAMS directly.  DPI is unable to help with WAMS recovery because the system is used by many state agencies and is run by the Department of Administration:

Revalidating Life or Lifetime License

Educators, whose Life or Lifetime license was invalidated in July, have until December 31 to revalidate their license. Upon approval of the $45 Request Background Check - Lifetime Licensee [5900] application, the Lifetime license will be revalidated just as if the educator completed the application before June 30. Educators will have until December 31 to complete this application for their license to be revalidated.

Background Checks

DPI is required by law to conduct a background check on each applicant for a Wisconsin educator license regardless of whether it is an initial request or a renewal request.

All educators are required to complete a background check to maintain or revalidate a life or lifetime license. There are directions for how to complete the $45 Request Background Check - Lifetime Licensee [5900].

To find the year in which your most recent background check was submitted, search License Lookup using your name or entity number and check see the “Last Background Check Submitted” field.

The Master Educator License is a Tier IV voluntary Lifetime license. In order to qualify for a Master Educator License, candidates must:

  • Hold, or qualify to hold, Wisconsin educator license at Lifetime Educator level in the area (i.e. subject/level) that they are pursuing Master Educator License.
  • Apply for and successfully complete a national board certification (NBPTS) or Wisconsin master educator assessment process (WMEAP).

For more information about Wisconsin educator license requirements, please go to Educator Licensing.

There are two master educator assessment processes that lead to the Master Educator License in the state of Wisconsin:

  • National Board for Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS)
  • Wisconsin Master Educator Assessment Process (WMEAP)

The NBPTS route allows teachers to participate in a rigorous assessment process and receive National Board Certification. This option is available to teachers in most subject areas and school counselors. The application is made directly to the NBPTS. Successful candidates will receive grants as long as they remain a teacher in Wisconsin classroom. More information is available in NBPTS section of our website.

The WMEAP route is available for administrators, school social workers, school psychologists, school nurses, and teachers licensed in subjects not available through NBPTS. Application for WMEAP is submitted to the DPI, where accepted applicants will have up to two years to complete a performance-based portfolio that is assessed by DPI-trained WMEAP assessors. More information is available in WMEAP section of our website.

Educators who successfully completed either the NBPTS or WMEAP assessment process are eligible for the Lifetime Wisconsin Master Educator license.

Wisconsin statutes and administrative rules supporting National Teacher Certification or master educator license: