You are here

License for School Speech and Language Pathologists

DPI is currently receiving a high volume of contacts for assistance.  The three most commonly asked questions and their answers are below:

Help with WAMS IDs

Before you can submit an application to DPI, you must register for a Web Access Management Systems (WAMS) user ID.

How to set up a WAMS account

Already have one or more WAMS accounts?

How to start your WAMS account recovery:

Perform a WAMS account recovery for all emails you have. Enter your email address but do NOT enter your User ID to start your WAMS account recovery. Once in the account recovery process you will be prompted to change your password. After you change your password you will be told in parentheses what your correct User ID is. Please make note of that before you terminate the account recovery session. Once you have recovered all WAMS accounts you have, login to ELO with each of your accounts individually. If you can see your licenses, you are logging in with the correct WAMS account. If you are taken through the Onboarding process again, you are not using the correct WAMS account and should try another account.

If you encounter errors in the WAMS account recovery process, please contact WAMS directly.  DPI is unable to help with WAMS recovery because the system is used by many state agencies and is run by the Department of Administration:

Revalidating Life or Lifetime License

Educators, whose Life or Lifetime license was invalidated in July, have until December 31 to revalidate their license. Upon approval of the $45 Request Background Check - Lifetime Licensee [5900] application, the Lifetime license will be revalidated just as if the educator completed the application before June 30. Educators will have until December 31 to complete this application for their license to be revalidated.

Background Checks

DPI is required by law to conduct a background check on each applicant for a Wisconsin educator license regardless of whether it is an initial request or a renewal request.

All educators are required to complete a background check to maintain or revalidate a life or lifetime license. There are directions for how to complete the $45 Request Background Check - Lifetime Licensee [5900].

To find the year in which your most recent background check was submitted, search License Lookup using your name or entity number and check see the “Last Background Check Submitted” field.

The Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction (DPI) provides two options for licensure for someone to provide speech and language services to students in a Wisconsin public school.

Tier I 1-year License with stipulations- Candidate Profile

  • Holds a valid Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services (DSPS) license; and
  • Has earned a master’s degree in communication disorders that prepares one to provide speech and language services in a medical setting.
  • Has not yet completed a school speech and language teacher training program.

These candidates may be eligible for the 1-year license with stipulations as a school speech and language pathologist. This license can be renewed for a maximum of three school years during which time the candidate must complete either:

            1) a state-approved program as a school speech and language pathologist and be eligible for endorsement; or

2) the statutory stipulations: minority group relations; conflict resolution; teacher responsibilities, including student teaching; children with disabilities; and professional ethics, including mandatory reporting requirements. For more information about the Wisconsin DPI approved programs, see the Approved Educator Preparation Programs page.

If you fit this pathway profile:

  1. DETERMINE your eligibility.
  2. PREPARE electronic copies of your valid Wisconsin DSPS license as a speech and language pathologist and your transcripts confirming your master’s degree in communication disorders.
  3. APPLY for a Wisconsin license using the ELO System.

 

Tier II Provisional License - Candidate Profile

    • Has earned a master’s degree in communication disorders and completed a Wisconsin DPI approved program as a school speech and language pathologist; or
    • Has earned a master’s degree in communication disorders and completed a state approved school speech and language pathology program in another state, which includes a clinical placement in the school setting; or
    • Has earned a master’s degree in communication disorders and completed the requirements of Wis. Admin. Code sec. PI 34.047 (4). This the statutory requires of minority group relations; conflict resolution; teacher responsibilities, including student teaching; children with disabilities; and professional ethics, including mandatory reporting requirements. This process is still under development.

Educators who fit this candidate profile have typically completed what is considered a teacher training program for school speech and language, including a clinical placement in a school settings.  

For more information about the Wisconsin DPI approved programs, see our Approved Educator Preparation Programs page.

If you fit this profile and were prepared at a Wisconsin DPI approved program:

  1. DETERMINE your eligibility by contacting your Wisconsin DPI approved school speech and language pathology program. If you completed the approved program after August 31, 2004, the program should have already uploaded your endorsement in the ELO system so you can apply at any time. If you completed were prepared before August 31, 2004 and never applied for licensure, your Wisconsin DPI approved program will need to provide you a completed PI-1612 Institutional Endorsement form.
  2. PREPARE electronic copies of your transcripts and PI-1612 Institutional Endorsement, if required.
  3. APPLY for a Wisconsin License using the ELO System using the transaction – T001-1020 (for those who completed their program after August 31, 2004) or the T001-1031 (for those who completed their program before August 31, 2004)

If you fit this profile and were prepared at a program outside Wisconsin:

  1. DETERMINE your eligibility by contacting your state approved school speech and language pathology program. The program must complete the PI-1612 Institutional Endorsement form that verifies the program you completed was a school speech and language pathology program.
  2. PREPARE electronic copies of your transcripts, PI-1612 Institutional Endorsement, test score report(s), valid school speech and language license from another state, and an PI-1613 Employment Verification Form.
  3. APPLY for a Wisconsin License using the ELO System using the transaction – T001-1025.

If you fit this profile and completed the statutory stipulations:

  1. This process is still under development.

 

Related Reading