You are here

Three-Year Short-Term Substitute License

DPI is currently receiving a high volume of contacts for assistance.  The three most commonly asked questions and their answers are below:

Help with WAMS IDs

Before you can submit an application to DPI, you must register for a Web Access Management Systems (WAMS) user ID.

How to set up a WAMS account

Already have one or more WAMS accounts?

How to start your WAMS account recovery:

Perform a WAMS account recovery for all emails you have. Enter your email address but do NOT enter your User ID to start your WAMS account recovery. Once in the account recovery process you will be prompted to change your password. After you change your password you will be told in parentheses what your correct User ID is. Please make note of that before you terminate the account recovery session. Once you have recovered all WAMS accounts you have, login to ELO with each of your accounts individually. If you can see your licenses, you are logging in with the correct WAMS account. If you are taken through the Onboarding process again, you are not using the correct WAMS account and should try another account.

If you encounter errors in the WAMS account recovery process, please contact WAMS directly.  DPI is unable to help with WAMS recovery because the system is used by many state agencies and is run by the Department of Administration:

Revalidating Life or Lifetime License

Educators, whose Life or Lifetime license was invalidated in July, have until December 31 to revalidate their license. Upon approval of the $45 Request Background Check - Lifetime Licensee [5900] application, the Lifetime license will be revalidated just as if the educator completed the application before June 30. Educators will have until December 31 to complete this application for their license to be revalidated.

Background Checks

DPI is required by law to conduct a background check on each applicant for a Wisconsin educator license regardless of whether it is an initial request or a renewal request.

All educators are required to complete a background check to maintain or revalidate a life or lifetime license. There are directions for how to complete the $45 Request Background Check - Lifetime Licensee [5900].

To find the year in which your most recent background check was submitted, search License Lookup using your name or entity number and check see the “Last Background Check Submitted” field.

A Three-Year Short-Term Substitute license may be issued to an applicant who holds an associate degree or higher from an accredited college or university and who has successfully completed an approved substitute training program, but has not completed a state-approved educator preparation program.  Once an educator holds a current Three-Year Short-Term Substitute license, they may short-term substitute at any Wisconsin school district that wishes to hire them.

The Three-Year Short-Term Substitute license allows the educator to be in a short-term (no more than 45 days in a specific assignment) substitute assignment. The Three-Year Short-Term Substitute license does not allow the license holder to be in a long-term substitute assignment.  For long-term substitute assignment, the applicant may apply for a License with Stipulations if requested by the employing school district. A License with Stipulations requires the educator to be enrolled in and complete a state-approved educator preparation program in the subject or grade level of their assignment under the License with Stipulations.

The substitute license is issued for a period of 3 years.

Applicants must successfully completed the district-selected substitute training.  As per PI 34.032, the substitute training must include all of the following:

  • Basic school district and school policies and procedures.
  • Age-appropriate teaching strategies.
  • Discipline, conflict resolution, and classroom management techniques.
  • Health and safety issues, including handling medical emergencies.
  • Techniques for starting a class.
  • The culture of schools and the teaching profession.
  • Working with lesson plans.
  • Working with children with disabilities, including confidentiality issues.

If a district only provides training to their own substitutes, they are not required to have this training approved by DPI. If a district wishes to have their substitute training listed on the DPI website so that any applicant for the short-term substitute license can find and take this training, the training must be approved by DPI.

Individuals who hold an associate degree in Foundations of Teacher Education from one of the Graduates of all Wisconsin Technical Colleges meet the training requirement.

 

License Application Requirements (starting August 1st)

To apply for a Three-Year Short-Term Substitute license:

  • Applicant must hold an associate degree or higher from an accredited college or university. Submit original transcripts with the application.
  • Applicant must submit evidence that they have successfully completed the district-selected substitute training. The following are acceptable forms of documentation:
    • Confirmation letter of successful completion, on district letterhead, including date of completion, signed by an authorized Administrator.
    • Certificate of completion from a DPI approved substitute training program, including date of completion.
    • PI-1633 Substitute Teacher Training Verification Form

 

Application Process

Directions for applying for a Three-Year Short-Term Substitute license can be found at https://dpi.wi.gov/tepdl/elo/substitute-emergency/sub-permit-tips.

 

Substitute Teacher Training Programs

The following organizations offer training programs for substitute teaching:

Related information: