You are here

WI School Breakfast Challenge

Wisconsin School Breakfast Challenge

The Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction, Hunger Task Force, No Kid Hungry, and School Nutrition Association of Wisconsin are excited to announce the winners of the 2019-2020 Wisconsin School Breakfast Challenge! From December 2, 2019 to March 6, 2020, participating schools across Wisconsin joined in some friendly competition to boost their breakfast participation and we are thrilled with the results.




Percentage (%) Increase*

Colby Winner St. Anthony School St. Anthony 2nd Street 38%
Colby Runner Up Appleton Area School District Franklin Elementary 37%
Swiss Winner Hillsboro School District Hillsboro Elementary 36%
Swiss Runner Up Clayton School District Clayton Elementary 33%
Mozzarella Winner Darrell Lynn Hines College Preparatory Academy of Excellence Darrell Lynn Hines College Preparatory Academy of Excellence 4%
Cheddar Winner Our Lady of the Lake Catholic Schools Our Lady of the Lake Catholic 38%
Cheddar Runner Up Gibraltar School District Gibraltar Elementary 17%
Big Cheese Winner Stevens Point School District P.J. Jacobs Junior High --
Big Cheese Runner Up Wausau School District John Muir Middle --

*Winners in each category were determined based on the growth in the percentage of the student body participating in breakfast. The analysis compared the Average Daily Participation (ADP) across December 2018 through February 2019 to the ADP across December 2019 through February 2020. Data was provided by DPI and analyzed by No Kid Hungry.

1. Colby category: district enrollment greater than 875 students

2. Swiss category: district enrollment between 275 and 875 students

3. Mozzarella category: district enrollment less than 275 students

4. Cheddar category: districts implementing a new School Breakfast Program in SY 2019-20

5. Big Cheese: an optional bonus category for all participating schools. Schools had the chance to do various breakfast related activities and the top two schools were awarded based on the amount of points earned (participation data was not included in the analysis).

Hunger Task Force will be featuring the winners on their Winners Circle webpage, so be sure to check it out!

Thank you for your continued participation in the School Breakfast Program. The SBP ensures every student has access to the nutrition they need to be successful learners, whether learning online or in the classroom. Keep up the great work!