You are here

Child Abuse and Neglect Training

Resource for Times of School Closure

Information for Mandated Reporters DPI has partnered with the Department of Children and Families (DCF) to create this resource related to mandated reporting and the duty of all school staff to report suspicions of child abuse and neglect. The document reminds school staff about their responsibility as a mandated reporter and the signs of child abuse and neglect. On the reverse side, question examples are provided to help guide conversations with students and caregivers to further understanding and target supports.

Training

Wisconsin law requires all employees of Wisconsin public school districts to report suspected child abuse and neglect, Wis. Stat. sec. 48.981(2)(a)16m. In addition, school boards are to ensure all employees receive training provided by the Department of Public Instruction within six months of initial hiring and at least every five years thereafter, Wis. Stat. sec. 118.07(5). Employees are considered to be anyone who receives an annual statement of wages for tax purposes (W-2 form) from the school district. Some school districts contract with a Cooperative Educational Service Agency (CESA) or other organizations for different kinds of services. In such cases, school districts may wish to consider requiring these contracted personnel to participate in the required training, if they work with students.

1. Required Module for All School Employees (English) (Some Text Update May 2021)

 

(Chrome is the preferred internet browser to view these online training modules.)

All school employees must complete the Mandatory Reporting of Child Abuse and Neglect - Training for All School Employees learning module. Additional modules are available below to further support your learning, and may or may not be required by your employer.

BEFORE YOU BEGIN
1. Make sure you know where to send your confirmation email (for example, to a supervisor, a principal, or human resources in your district.) Your school should provide instructions for where to send this email.
2. Keep a copy of your confirmation email as proof of training completion. If you transfer to a different school district within 5 years of taking the training, this email may serve as your proof of completion. However, each employer sets their own policies related to training for staff in accordance with state statute, and your employer may require you to re-take the course.
3. DPI is not responsible for keeping or maintaining records of course completion. This responsibility lies with the school district and individual employee. Do not send your confirmation email to DPI.
4. It may take 10-14 business days to receive your confirmation email.

IMPORTANT NOTE
Due to the high volume of users taking this course, it may take 10-14 business days to receive your confirmation email. If you do not receive a confirmation email within 10-14 business days, please do the following:
   - Check spam/junk email folders.
   - Ensure all email addresses are spelled correctly.
   - Separate multiple email addresses with commas (not spaces, periods, or semicolons.)
   - Retake the training and submit the form again.

Modules for Further Learning

 

2. Materials for Use in a Facilitated Local In-Service Training

 

Schools may provide a local in-service using the Mandatory Reporting of Child Abuse and Neglect-Training for All School Employees PowerPoint presentation in place of the online module. Speaker notes are provided within each PowerPoint slide. The entire PowerPoint must be utilized in order to meet the statutory requirement of completion of DPI training. The Department recommends that anyone using the PowerPoint for a local in-service also view the Mandatory Reporting of Child Abuse and Neglect - Supplemental Information learning module, as well as the module titled Reporting Child Sex Trafficking Using the Indicator and Response Guide, as part of the preparation. Local presenters may incorporate any and all of the information from these additional trainings into a local in-service. In addition, local information (e.g., phone number for county child protective services) may be added to the presentation. School districts using this option to meet the training requirement may locally determine how to document employee participation.

PowerPoint Slides for Local Training:

Additional Resources


Please note: All school employees must also complete the Mandatory Reporting of Threats of School Violence (Act 143) Training. The web module for this training is available on the Student Services/Prevention and Wellness Required Training for Wisconsin School Staff webpage

For computer or technical issues with the modules, please contact us at dpisspw@dpi.wi.gov.
For questions about the content, contact Julie Incitti (608)266-0963.